Any Big reasons to move from Gotham to Helix?
Shared upnp. I'd prefer not to setup mysql for only two clients.
As mature as kodi is, the multi client aspect is way behind. It is a shame it has been ignored with such a large user base asking for years for an easy central db. Seems like a simple database sync method would have been an easy thing to implement?
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
There is, it's called mysql. Couldn't be simpler!
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
(2014-12-04, 04:53)Livin Wrote: t is a shame it has been ignored with such a large user base asking for years for an easy central db. Seems like a simple database sync method would have been an easy thing to implement?

Ignored is the wrong word. The problem is that working on this kind of thing takes a great deal of knowledge in both databases and c++, along with a variety of other things such as UPnP and json for updates and notifications. The number of team members with knowledge in all the various aspects of code necessary to adequately take on the job is limited, and every one of them is already doing a heck of a lot of work maintaining their own codebases.

This is a major reason why we've put such heavy focus on it during Google Summer of Code. We simply haven't had the manhours necessary to get the job done internally. With that said, we've been fairly fortunate over these past few years as many of the GSOC projects, even ones that didn't turn into much during their summer run, have ultimately stepped us quite a bit closer to having a working system. We're not there yet with Helix, but we're certainly getting closer.
(2014-12-04, 04:56)nickr Wrote: There is, it's called mysql. Couldn't be simpler!

MySQL works great until there is a problem then it's a total pain.