Getting started
I'm new to the Kodi side of streaming and after doing my research, ready to start. I learned how to network my Roku's through Plex but am a bit apprehensive about diving completely into the XMBC world. I'm leaning toward a Matricom G Box Q if I try to program myself or one of the Midnight boxes if pre-programmed.

I ran across a Kaser Net'sPC YF810-8G Desktop that has
ARM A_Series_Eight_Core_A10_5700
|#A-Series Eight-Core A10-5700 Processor 1 GHz ( cache)
1GB DDR3
8 GB Solid State Drive
Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich
I am wondering if I could start with this to get my feet wet. I would be trying to install the new Helix and go from there.

Thanks and thoughts?
No, don't get it. YF810-8G is a very old and very outdated Allwinner A10 device, and those A10 chips never worked right in XBMC/Kodi in the first place.
Would it just lead to frustration on my part? I was only interested in it to learn the installation processes and then get the Matricom once I learned if I could do it. Also only $25.
Stop looking at and being dazzled by the Specs of any box you may look at.
Chances are you will be suckered in by slick marketing, its the first rookie mistake.

Work out what you actually want to use the media box for, write a list then come back here:
eg.
- plays all video formats
- is h265 important
- 4K video
- Netflix, Hulu etc
- Games ?
- Web browser
- proper on the fly refresh rate switching for perfect XBMC / TV video sync (very important outside USA)
- 24p video
- live TV
- 1080i mpeg2 video
- Bluray

Wink

1) live TV
2) Netflix, Hulu etc
3) plays all video formats
4) Large media source library
5) proper on the fly refresh rate switching for perfect XBMC / TV video sync
6) 1080i mpeg2 video

Not interested in 4K. I have multiple folders set up on Plex for different family members, Would eventually like to use a PVR.
Hopefully this helps
Budget?
$150