XBMC_PC Win32 GUI Development Environment for skinners (skin developers)

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
El Piranna Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 284
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: 01 - The city of the machines
Post: #16
Just i was thinking these days about a XBMC Windows Port running over ReactOS running over the XBox... Smile
find quote
Loto_Bak Offline
Fan
Posts: 476
Joined: Sep 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
Wow fantastic! Great help to skin and python developers everywhere!

Who did the development work on this? They deserve kudos from every skin and python dev here Smile

Thanks guys!

[Image: loafamotive.gif]
find quote
SleepyP Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,277
Joined: Nov 2005
Reputation: 4
Location: Portland, Oregon
Post: #18
won't work for me.
I think its cuz I am currently using a horrible Matrox 4MB PCI video card from 1996. I tried to set up debug mode logging via AdvancedSettings.

here's my log output:
12:00:35 M:695537664 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
12:00:35 M:695517184 NOTICE: Starting XBoxMediaCenter. Built on Nov 17 2006
12:00:35 M:695517184 NOTICE: Q is mapped to: \XBMC
12:00:35 M:695517184 NOTICE: Log File is located: Q:\xbmc.log
12:00:35 M:695517184 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
12:00:35 M:695410688 NOTICE: Setup DirectX
12:00:35 M:694980608 NOTICE: load settings...
12:00:35 M:694972416 NOTICE: loading T:\guisettings.xml
12:00:35 M:694951936 ERROR: Unable to load T:\guisettings.xml, creating new T:\guisettings.xml with default values
12:00:35 M:694820864 NOTICE: Saving Unknown settings in T:\avpacksettings.xml
12:00:35 M:694763520 NOTICE: Saving Unknown settings in T:\avpacksettings.xml
12:00:35 M:694697984 NOTICE: Getting hardware information now...
12:00:35 M:694697984 NOTICE: Checking resolution 10
12:00:35 M:694697984 NOTICE: Setting autoresolution mode 6
12:00:35 M:694693888 NOTICE: Per AV pack settings are on
12:00:35 M:694693888 NOTICE: Unknown found : loading T:\avpacksettings.xml
12:00:35 M:694689792 NOTICE: Getting hardware information now...
12:00:35 M:694681600 NOTICE: Checking resolution 10
12:00:35 M:694681600 NOTICE: Setting autoresolution mode 6
12:00:35 M:694693888 NOTICE: q:\userdata\sources.xml
12:00:35 M:694685696 WARNING: Emergency recovery console starting...

it hangs. This means my video card can't do the DirectX stuff that is called for by the program right? I have P,Q,T, and Z subst'ed correctly, and my logs are being written to my Q: location.
find quote
mbay Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
Do you need sp2? Or .net framework?
find quote
blittan Offline
Team-XBMC Handyman
Posts: 1,747
Joined: Jun 2004
Reputation: 11
Location: Sweden
Post: #20
Just wanting to say a big THANKS!! what an relife to do python scripts now Big Grin
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,221
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 178
Post: #21
SleepyP:
It could be, but it could just as easily be something else. Enable full debuglogging via advancedsettings.xml to see if there's anything else available in the logs.

mbay:
It does not require the .net framework, nor does it require service pack 2. All you need is directx 8 or later.

And yeah, I ported it - glad you like it Smile

Cheers
Jonathan

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Loaded Gun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 0
Sad   
Post: #22
I am getting nothing but freezing issues no matter what combination i am using.

Would it be possible for someone to map out how it should be set up on the pc?

Currently the folder i have containing xbmc is located on my desktop. The only thing i havent done is


subst q: c:\xbmc_pc
subst t: q:\userdata
subst p: q:\userdata
subst z: c:\xbmc_pc\cache

Honestly that's where i am lost which is where i am sure to be going wrong. Any help would be greatful.
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,221
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 178
Post: #23
Have you read the readme that came with it? It sums it up quite well I think - if not, please let me know which part you didn't understand.

Have you executed the script that was named "run_me_first.bat"?

Open a command prompt and type "subst" to check that the drives are mapped.

Cheers,
Jonathan

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Loaded Gun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
What should i be seeing once i run subst?

Also what should be the layout of the folder xbmc is in?
find quote
Loaded Gun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
19:00:55 M:168792064 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
19:00:55 M:168771584 NOTICE: Starting XBoxMediaCenter. Built on Nov 17 2006
19:00:55 M:168771584 NOTICE: Q is mapped to: C:\Users\Adam Wood\Desktop\XBMC_PC_rev7133\XBMC_PC_rev7133
19:00:55 M:168771584 NOTICE: Log File is located: Q:\xbmc.log
19:00:55 M:168771584 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
19:00:55 M:168628224 NOTICE: Setup DirectX
19:00:57 M:166174720 NOTICE: load settings...
19:00:57 M:166166528 NOTICE: loading T:\guisettings.xml
19:00:57 M:166146048 ERROR: Unable to load T:\guisettings.xml, creating new T:\guisettings.xml with default values
19:00:57 M:165994496 NOTICE: Saving Unknown settings in T:\avpacksettings.xml
19:00:57 M:165912576 ERROR: Unable to save settings to T:\guisettings.xml
19:00:57 M:165912576 ERROR: XFILE::CFile::Delete - Error deleting file T:\guisettings.xml
19:00:57 M:165912576 NOTICE: Saving Unknown settings in T:\avpacksettings.xml
19:00:57 M:165912576 ERROR: Unable to save settings to T:\guisettings.xml
19:00:57 M:165908480 WARNING: Emergency recovery console starting...


That is what i am seeing in the log.
find quote
Jezz_X Online
Team-XBMC Skinner
Posts: 5,289
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 57
Location: Earth
Post: #26
Loaded Gun Wrote:What should i be seeing once i run subst?

Also what should be the layout of the folder xbmc is in?

once you run the bat file you should see 4 nnew drives in explorer and clicking on q: should take you straight to the xbmc dir
Also if you guys are running vista it just may not work its not been tested on it
find quote
Nuka1195 Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,910
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #27
You may have problems if you already have a p,q,t or z drive.

Code:
subst q: .
subst p: q:\userdata
subst t: q:\userdata
md q:\cache
subst z: q:\cache
xbmc_pc.exe
subst p: /d
subst t: /d
subst z: /d
rd /s /q q:\cache
subst q: /d

the above shouldn't require any changes. This also deletes the subst after you exit xbmc_pc.exe.

Just save it as xbmc_pc.bat and put it in the same folder as xbmc_pc.exe. Then run it.
find quote
CademiaX
Unregistered

Post: #28
jmarshall: Ok, I compile my own build of the exe and grabbed the one you compiled, my question is, how did you disable the fps/free mem?

and I have notice some issues when I switch between apps, I will minimize it and bring it back up and when i click on it to reactive the mouse it treats it as if Im right clicking.. is that something Im doing wrong or something else?
quote
Jezz_X Online
Team-XBMC Skinner
Posts: 5,289
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 57
Location: Earth
Post: #29
CademiaX Wrote:jmarshall: Ok, I compile my own build of the exe and grabbed the one you compiled, my question is, how did you disable the fps/free mem?
dont compile it in debug mode compile it in release mode
find quote
edwinmcdunlap Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Oct 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
How do I un-map the drives that the bat maps?

[Image: emcd_mc360.png]
find quote
Post Reply