SkinneX - The XBMC Skin validator!
Hi all

I have a few questions\suggestions\ramblings about skinning:

I am a programmer and only started using C# this year and wanted to try write some "exciting program" just to learn it. I've been programming C++ for years and know java quite well so C# looks like a mix of the two! Basically I discoverd XBMC about a year ago and have since pimped an xbox with an X3 chip and I think its the most amazing piece of kit around!! Every time I use it I find another cool feature!! Anyway enough of the life story, I decided some kind of skinning app would be a good C# program to try code up and I had visions of a cool Visual Studio type drag and drop interface\preview thingy...

Until of course I started, I've been just working on the file handling side of it so far and I started this a good few months ago (although I don't have much time to code it).

So before I go any further don't be getting too excited cos I don't have a skinning app finished or anywhere near it... or maybe never will for that matter but the part I've done so far may be of use.

The way I wrote it, all controls and parameters are defined in one xml file (i.e. an xml file that defines whats in the skin xml files!)

here's a snippit from the file so you might understand what I've done:

XBMCControls.xml:

http://www.geocities.com/mecowing/page1.htm

Here I'm defining that a window can have a parameter called id, where the value is a string and there must be minimum occurance of 1 and max number 1 (i.e. id parameter must be defined for a window).

So as the skin xml files are being loaded into the app "SkinneX" it checks each parameter it loads and verifies that it is a valid parameter.

So the only functionality SkinneX has currently is the ability to validate skins XML files but also I've got the whole open xml -- >edit param --> save xml done. OK its not finished, it currently only loads xml files that are in the resolution folders.