Jittery/choppy playback of MPEG2
Greetings! I'm very new to Kodi, do please bear with me. I've been searching the Internet off and on for a couple of days and have found similar reports, but none of the solutions seem to work for me. Current setup

CPU: Intel i5 661
RAM: 4GB (I forget which brand)
GPU: Intel i5 661

Issue - I recorded a TV show using the HDHomeRun DVR software which uses MPEG2 file format. When playing back the video, it starts to get jittery. It's not video tearing, but it gets jittery. For testing purposes, I turned off Hardware Acceleration and playback was fine. Turning it back on made it jittery again. Next I eliminated the HDHomeRun software by browsing to the file and playing it within Kodi, same issue. Lastly I tried playing the same file with Windows Media Player and did not experience the same issue. As far as I can tell, hardware acceleration is enabled on Windows Media Player.

I've tried using real full screen mode, that didn't seem to change anything. I've looked through some of the other settings in Kodi, but I'm not seeing anything that jumps out at me.

This issue is not experienced when playing back DVD VOB files, which as I understand it uses MPEG2 as well. Blu-Ray playback is perfectly fine.
Pressing the O button during playback, it would seem that Kodi is using ff-mpeg2video codec for VOB playback. I converted a VOB to MPEG for testing and found that with the DXVA2 enabled it had the same jittery issues, pressing O shows that the codec it's using in this case is ff-mpeg2video-dxva2. Turning that off looks like the codec goes to ff-mpeg2video. Is my solution simply to turn that off?
I have found that Blu-ray playback can use ff-264-dxva2 without issue, so it has to do with that specific ff-mpeg2video-dxva2 codec.
Bump
What version of Kodi are you using?