SiliconDust HDHomeRun Networked Digital Cable TV / HDTV Tuner support built-into XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,541
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Lightbulb  SiliconDust HDHomeRun Networked Digital Cable TV / HDTV Tuner support built-into XBMC
Post: #1
This looks like a fantastic add-on to bring good TV to XBMC (not the internet low res junk).

Nod

I'm hoping a dev is interested. Many other apps support the HDHomeRun now (MediaPortal, MythTV, etc).

thoughts?

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
C-Quel Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,375
Joined: Aug 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Nice Smile

Zotac ID89 + 4GB + 160GB Intel SSD + Samsung UE40D7000 + DS411+II / 2 x 3TB WD RED CAVIAR (TVHeadend Package + 4 Tuners) + Fibaro HC2 Home Automation Intergration!

^^^

Fucking awesome springs to mind :)

iNerd Store

iNerd Forum
find quote
elupus Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,799
Joined: Mar 2004
Reputation: 3
Post: #3
cool, where do one buy and how much does it cost??

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,541
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #4
if a dev writes code to get this working with XBMC I'm buying one.

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
elupus Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,799
Joined: Mar 2004
Reputation: 3
Post: #5
I'll write it if I get one, need to check if I can afford it thou.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Rand Al Thor Offline
Collect3 Project Manager
Posts: 916
Joined: Jul 2005
Post: #6
Perhaps some donations to help Eulupus are in order Big Grin
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,541
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #7
Rand Al Thor Wrote:Perhaps some donations to help Eulupus are in order Big Grin

I agree...

I'll pitch in... so we have 2 donations so far.

Anyone else... keep a running total!

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
finas Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
well, I don't need this stuff, but I'm willing to support the buying of hardware for XBMC team members Smile

tell me how to donate to this particular cause, and I'll add $20
find quote
jarod71 Offline
Fan
Posts: 497
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 9
Location: Chitown
Post: #9
count me in for $20 too... Set up a paypal so we can donate...
find quote
finas Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Well, I just sent the donation to the standard xbox donation account and told that it was for buying the hdhomerun hardware. if it is not feasible or not enough funds are colected, the money reverts to the project or to whatever the members see fit.
find quote
elupus Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,799
Joined: Mar 2004
Reputation: 3
Post: #11
Yea the standard team donation should be just fine.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
jarod71 Offline
Fan
Posts: 497
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 9
Location: Chitown
Post: #12
will donate 20 later today. hope we can get one in the hands of elupus soon. would love to see this implemented, hope we can capture from it to xbox harddrive as well, like a pvr. any other links on how it looks in media portal?
find quote
nate12o6 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Im just wondering how the xbox would handle the over the air HD? Xbox can output hd just fine but it has trouble play files that are actually HD. I am wondering how well the xbox would render the over the air HD channels.
find quote
emp3r0r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
nate12o6 Wrote:Im just wondering how the xbox would handle the over the air HD? Xbox can output hd just fine but it has trouble play files that are actually HD. I am wondering how well the xbox would render the over the air HD channels.
The normal (non-upgraded) xbox is not fast enough to play HD so all you'd be able to see is mainly sub-channels and PBS or any other standard def digital channels you may get. I've already tried the UDP streaming address on a standard def channel with the XBMC but it didn't work. Sad
find quote
w84no1 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Central Virginia
Post: #15
Nice little box, even if you can't use it with the Xbox. If the gpu could be utilized then the Xbox could decode HD streams.

WMC as PVR Backend | 4 RaspberryPI Clients (RaspBMC) | 1 Ouya client
Tuners: 4 Hauppauge HD-PVRs (DirecTV) | 2 ATSC (OTA)
Advanced FREE home automation software called Premise:http://www.cocoontech.com/forums/index.php?showforum=51
find quote
Post Reply