Kodi Jarvis Setup Issue
Hello all,

I am new to Kodi Forums but been using Kodi for my home system for about 8 months. So I have an issue when I play a movie from my movie list. It freezes when I start watching a movie and I cant seem to find a resolution. Below is how my Kodi Setup is configured.

1. I have Kodi 16.0 on a Laptop - this laptop is strictly using Kodi and nothing else on a Windows 8.1 OS. It is connected directly to my router via LAN connection.

2. I have my movies on an external Hard drive that is connected via USB 2.0 to my Desktop PC downstairs that is connected to my network via Wifi.

It seems that I am having either a USB issue where maybe it needs to be connected to a USB 3.0 (which I dont have one) or Wifi issues from my desktop PC to my Kodi Laptop.

I know for a fact that if I disconnect my external HD and connect straight to the Kodi Laptop, it will play the movies no problem, but I want to not go that route.

Is there a better scenario without connection the External HD to the Kodi Laptop? I am up for open discussion about it. Thank you.
USB disk have the problem, that they shutdown after a while - in addition, WiFi is no a good solution for Streaming videos...
How are the files mounted to the Kodi Laptop? SMB, Local share or how?
go to Movies - Files and check if all the Movie Folders are listed....
Maybe it just takes a while until the movie really is streaming - due to wake up PC, USB Disk, spinup Drive, read, stream.
Other Solution: try adding the USB Disk in the Router (some do support Sharing) - or buy yourself a NAS.
Or at least, buy a USB 3 Case, of PC has already USB.
My Equipment:
HTPC (i7-8700K 3.7 GHz, 32 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD) Windows 10 with Kodi 18.6 & Central SQL DB (Maria DB)
AVR Emotiva RMC-1 & AMP Emotiva XPA9-Gen3, TV LG OLED 65 E6, BD oppo UDP-203, Speaker Revel Performa3 F208 / F206 / C208 / Nubert WS-14 for Atmos/DTS.x)
NAS Synology DS1817+ / DX-517/DX513 (4x8 TB RAID5 + 2 x 5x6TB in RAID5)