Latest on h.264?
elupus Wrote:not safe to assume. just updated when there has been anything major that we want in our player. don't remember exactly when i did it last time. oh and this is for dvdplayer, mplayer's ffmpeg libs are updated much more seldom as that is a much more complicated process.
Sad
Are you talking about your own builds, or T3CH SVN builds?
How difficult is it to update the codec for the mplayer (I have little interest in the dvdplayer because I stream all of my H.264 content from a server)?
Note to self: who am I kidding, I am just a newb, I wouldn't know where to begin simply compiling a build, let alone updating the codec for mplayer...

How likely would it be for T3CH to update the SVN builds with the latest FFmpeg codec if he were asked (nicely Wink) ?
#1 - Fairly difficult unless your a dev.

#2 - Very doubtful and who said "he" for all we know "he" could be a Swedish Blonde with Blue Eyes and long legs doing all that fantastic work Wink
C-Quel Wrote:...who said "he" for all we know "he" could be a Swedish Blonde with Blue Eyes and long legs doing all that fantastic work Wink
ummm, sexy blond sweed...
Maybe I could entice her with chocolates and flowers...
:p
Geeba Wrote:are you a bit disapointed it wasnt pushed further?
Not so much anymore, it would have made a huge difference a few of years back when the Xbox hardware was not so 'old' and 720p MPEG-4 ASP (XviD and DivX) started to come out, but today all 720p movies that comes out are in H.264 and those could never be played on the original Xbox hardware anyway even with GPU accelerated decoding.

If you want to playback the native HDTV video of today (recorded and encoded at 720p/1080i/1080p) then you need more decoding power than the Xbox could ever offer. Thus the Xbox Linux port and a relativly powerfull computer is a must.

PS! Hardware Accelerated Video Decoding on GPU under Linux, now that would be interesting today Wink
http://xboxmediacenter.com/wiki/index.ph...o_Decoding