Music Library, first impressions
I've been using XBMC for about three years now but only started using the music library functionality a couple of days ago. So I've been spending a bit of time cleaning up my own collection by adding ID3 tags where missing, etc.

Here are some initial impressions that seem like shortcomings to me:

1) 'The Beatles' and 'Beatles, The' are not considered the same thing. Any title being words followed by ", The", the title should be rewritten, IMO.
2) There is no simple way to remove an entry from the database
3) There should be an option to "Let folder name override ID3 settings". My music collection is logically sorted with one album in each folder. The database should be able to assume so when scanning for new music.
4) Following the same logic as in 3), if a Folder.jpg is present, use this instead when no graphic is found through the online repository.

Other than this, the library mode is fantastic: I love the party mode and the 3D folder view is amazing ! Smile Although I do wish there was a way to scroll through the albums by hitting left/right.
It's cool, isn't it Smile One wonders why you have taken this long to try it out! I guess you've played with smart playlists as well?

1. That only applies to English, just like "The Beatles" vs "Beatles". Furthermore, there is no suggestion that "The Beatles" and "Beatles" couldn't be separate artists. Assuming things is bad - we rely on tag correctness instead, as then the user has complete control. Yes, it takes a little more work, but in the end is worth it.

2. Yes, that is correct. To remove a file, delete it (from file view, or from FTP or whatever) and "Update Library".

3. Not going to happen. Who says a folder should be an album? Fix your tags - there's programs that will fill the album tag from folder name available. See 1 about assuming things.