[XBOX] T3CH Upgrader (Python Script)

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Solo0815 Online
Fan
Posts: 312
Joined: Sep 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
I tried b7 yesterday, it hangs while unraring. I had to reboot my xbox. I hope b9 is better Wink

How about reading the dashboardname from the files on C:\ and make a suggestion for the user? Maybe like this: (i´m not a programmer)
Code:
read xbe-files on C:\ > $dashboardname
case $dashboardname ==
  "evoxdash" then prompt "evoxdash"
  "xboxdash" then prompt "xboxdash"
"everything_else" prompt user_to_insert_manually

this would help users who don´t know their dashboard name or users which are not so familiar with Xbox-things Wink

there are only 10 sorts of people: those who understand binary and those who don't

PC: Kubuntu 13.10 and Win7 --- Minix X5: Minix-XBMC --- Raspberry Pi: OpenELEC --- VU+ Duo: VTi 6.05 --- NAS: OMV 0.5.40
find quote
BigBellyBilly Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 900
Joined: Feb 2005
Reputation: 2
Location: UK
Post: #32
if you experience a hang/crash, please send me your xbmc.log (you will have to have enabled xbmc debug in UserData\AdvancedSettings.xml

<advancedsettings>
<loglevel>1</loglevel>
</advancedsettings>

If possible could you send a snapshot of the folder structure under your current xbmc UserData installation ?

Dont worry, if it didn't get to the end of the script it doesn't update any shortcuts or delete anything from your current installation.

I'll consider the suggestion. thanks

My Addons (myTV, T3CH Upgrader, DVDProfiler, BBCPodRadio, Comics, Football, GoogleReader, reeplay.it, Metacritic, Phonebin, FileViewer,SVN Repo Installer (contributor)) available at Box.net
(This post was last modified: 2007-10-27 11:35 by BigBellyBilly.)
find quote
mikko70 Offline
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
b7 language files works right, later version not work, only english
find quote
Solo0815 Online
Fan
Posts: 312
Joined: Sep 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
I´ll try the script when a new T3CH (hopefully Monday) is out. If the script fails, i´ll post the debug-log and the python-log (if it still exists on the white button) Wink

there are only 10 sorts of people: those who understand binary and those who don't

PC: Kubuntu 13.10 and Win7 --- Minix X5: Minix-XBMC --- Raspberry Pi: OpenELEC --- VU+ Duo: VTi 6.05 --- NAS: OMV 0.5.40
find quote
BigBellyBilly Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 900
Joined: Feb 2005
Reputation: 2
Location: UK
Post: #35
mikko70: The b7 only worked cos I'd swapped all accented chars for normal ones. b9 does contain accented chars but it seems saved in ascii.

Still looking into it. no joy even thou i've re-saved them utf-8 with scite.

If anyone has working language files, from b9, please send them to me.

Code now changed for user to select from a list of existing dash names (.xbe or .cfg but not msdash) on c:\ or manual entry with keyboard.

My Addons (myTV, T3CH Upgrader, DVDProfiler, BBCPodRadio, Comics, Football, GoogleReader, reeplay.it, Metacritic, Phonebin, FileViewer,SVN Repo Installer (contributor)) available at Box.net
(This post was last modified: 2007-10-27 14:18 by BigBellyBilly.)
find quote
mikko70 Offline
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #36
BigBellyBilly Wrote:mikko70: The b7 only worked cos I'd swapped all accented chars for normal ones.

i'm not understand what you mean. I think you modify nuka's t3ch script.
Nukas script works ok with other languages and i try remember b7 support öä characters, i must check it again later.
find quote
smuto Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Sep 2004
Reputation: 2
Post: #37
BBB u are the most active python developer, realy don't know why u are not one of project owners of
http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-scripting/

just talk to each other u and nuka

smuto

[Image: 1.png]
find quote
BigBellyBilly Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 900
Joined: Feb 2005
Reputation: 2
Location: UK
Post: #38
Swedish language file sorted.

Solo0815 suggestion of selecting from a list of existing dash names & manual keyboard entry, added.

b10 HERE

thanks smuto, but I just like to do my own thing. chip in when I can. I'll punt this over to SVN v.shortly, then want to get myTV v1.18 out the door.

My Addons (myTV, T3CH Upgrader, DVDProfiler, BBCPodRadio, Comics, Football, GoogleReader, reeplay.it, Metacritic, Phonebin, FileViewer,SVN Repo Installer (contributor)) available at Box.net
find quote
mikko70 Offline
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
BBB: you remove ö and ä from Finnish file and leave ö and ä in Swedish file, why ?
string file is now saved UTF-8 but still saved in some corupted format.
find quote
BigBellyBilly Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 900
Joined: Feb 2005
Reputation: 2
Location: UK
Post: #40
your right I included the wrong finnish by mistake. it was late and beer had been flowing.
I do have them both working now thou.

just waiting for log from anyone who gets the exception in _copy_userdata() now

My Addons (myTV, T3CH Upgrader, DVDProfiler, BBCPodRadio, Comics, Football, GoogleReader, reeplay.it, Metacritic, Phonebin, FileViewer,SVN Repo Installer (contributor)) available at Box.net
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,525
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #41
BBB,
I'd like to make a feature request to support user customizations. It works like this...

Source files
- from Network share, or URL
- e.g. customized files to include

List of excluded & included files/folders
- this allows for custom or mod'd XMLs/Scripts/Images/etc not be overwritten

Example XML Code:

EXCLUDES (items not to copy over from source)
smb://<server>/<sharename>/xbmc/skin/Project Mayhem III/Home.XML
smb://<server>/<sharename>/xbmc/scripts/
smb://<server>/<sharename>/xbmc/UserData/guisettings.xml

INCLUDES
Source = smb://<server>/<sharename>/CustomFiles/*.*
Target = /e/apps/xbmc/skin/Project Mayhem III/
Settings = Overwrite, BAKoriginal

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
BigBellyBilly Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 900
Joined: Feb 2005
Reputation: 2
Location: UK
Post: #42
they seem like a good idea.
The user could use the file browser to build the inc/exc lists.

Speaking of file browser, has anyone seen it when the file browser shows each drive letter twice ?

My Addons (myTV, T3CH Upgrader, DVDProfiler, BBCPodRadio, Comics, Football, GoogleReader, reeplay.it, Metacritic, Phonebin, FileViewer,SVN Repo Installer (contributor)) available at Box.net
find quote
BigBellyBilly Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 900
Joined: Feb 2005
Reputation: 2
Location: UK
Post: #43
Affini:
Quote:EXCLUDES (items not to copy over from source)
smb://<server>/<sharename>/xbmc/skin/Project Mayhem III/Home.XML
smb://<server>/<sharename>/xbmc/scripts/
smb://<server>/<sharename>/xbmc/UserData/guisettings.xml

Could I just clarify:

Your example of excludes, is list of saved files/folder you'd like to copy from your smb location over the new installation after the extraction is complete ?

My confusion is because that reads just like what you want you INCLUDE list to do too ?

As it stands, the downloaded rar is extracted to its own folder, it doesn't overwrite anything. So I think the list you propose, really only are INCLUDES, those that you want copying (to the new build) from your own smb location ?

My Addons (myTV, T3CH Upgrader, DVDProfiler, BBCPodRadio, Comics, Football, GoogleReader, reeplay.it, Metacritic, Phonebin, FileViewer,SVN Repo Installer (contributor)) available at Box.net
(This post was last modified: 2007-10-29 12:59 by BigBellyBilly.)
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,419
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #44
BigBellyBilly Wrote:...
Speaking of file browser, has anyone seen it when the file browser shows each drive letter twice ?
I have. It happened after a few upgrades. To get rid of it I did a fresh install without copying over my Userdata stuff. Then I just moved over my advancedsettings.xml and databases and thumbnails.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
gzusrawx Offline
Fan
Posts: 382
Joined: Aug 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Massachusetts
Post: #45
I believe that is due to the fact that newer builds automatically add default sources when the build is first launched.
find quote
Post Reply