Hardware for Linux and XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Votes - 4.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
gzusrawx Offline
Fan
Posts: 382
Joined: Aug 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Massachusetts
Post: #211
Yah I could get to the point of calling irserver at /dev/ttyUSB0
but it says it can't connect. In the hardware manager it shows the irtrans usb device on /dev/ttyUSB0
find quote
gzusrawx Offline
Fan
Posts: 382
Joined: Aug 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Massachusetts
Post: #212
Do you see your device in the hardware manager?
find quote
gzusrawx Offline
Fan
Posts: 382
Joined: Aug 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Massachusetts
Post: #213
some more help with this possibly
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=306437&page=2
find quote
gzusrawx Offline
Fan
Posts: 382
Joined: Aug 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Massachusetts
Post: #214
Here are some mythtv instructions for the parallel port version of the vfd
http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/VFD...allel_Port
find quote
BLKMGK Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,740
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 4
Location: USA Virginia
Post: #215
Okay thrown in the towel on the G35 Intel graphics. I'm a noob at linux and while I was able to find what looked like up to date drivers for this chipset the instructions didn't appear too clear to me -> http://intellinuxgraphics.org/download.html Yes I gave all the commands on that page and yes I installed the package required to download that code - it appeared to be doing "something" but afterwards what to do wasn't 100% clear. So I've removed the too tall bracket on the 8500, used Envy to install the latest binary drivers, hooked up the danged coax output, and am downloading the latest SVN of XBMC after having done yet another clean install. I'm getting good at the clean install part let me tell you!

Rar, Xrander-dev, alsa mixer GUI, and some other stuff gets setup right up front now. No working lirc yet although I guess I could use my MCE receiver, and the VFD still has me stumped but at least I'm not alone.

Perhaps someone smarter and more experienced than I could get the Intel vid on the ASUS P5E-VM HDMI working at better than 5FPS but as of right now I give up - not worth the stress. Sadly when I went looking for other 775 boards in mATX format not much knocked my sox off that wasn't nearly as expensive, maybe an NVIDIA 7100 board. <shrug> Guys on the AVS forum are saying to stay away from Linux on this board too but I think mostly because everyone wants sound over HDMI - I could care less so long as I can get it out digitally some other way. YMMV but consider some of this before jumping on this $140 boardStare
find quote
rodalpho Offline
Fan
Posts: 597
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 17
Post: #216
The nv7150 board works perfectly; I can vouch for it. If you can't get the intel decellerator to work, just pick up a $30 nvidia videocard from newegg. It'll definitely work.
find quote
BLKMGK Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,740
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 4
Location: USA Virginia
Thumbs Up   
Post: #217
rodalpho Wrote:The nv7150 board works perfectly; I can vouch for it. If you can't get the intel decellerator to work, just pick up a $30 nvidia videocard from newegg. It'll definitely work.

I had a nice NVIDIA 8500 that I'd used before but it had a tall bracket on it. I've removed it and will ask MSI for a shortie as I'm told they will provide upon request.

In other news, I managed to find a commandline to get my MCE303's IRDA receiver working! First as posted above you need the IRTrans software from http://www.irtrans.de/en/download/index.php but the commandline is pretty cryptic. Quite a bit of "unable to connect to port" sorts of responses. All of the examples I found pointed to things like /dev/tty/USBx including the manual but what's below worked for me and will hopefully assist others.

Code:
sudo ./irserver -debug_code -loglevel 4 /dev/ttyUSB0

This irserver software REPLACES Lircd and can apparently drive the VFD - not clear though. That above command turns on debug mode at max logging so obviously tweak it for your purposes - an example used by someone else can be found here -> http://blog.peter.skarpetis.com/archives/2006/11/ I'm noticing that he talks about a modified LCDproc for the display too but I've not started on that yet, I am hoping that the current LCDproc code can see this device nowConfused I hope that this helps out others as this VFD appears to be used in a few places including some of the Zalman cases.

Anyway, it now sees my MCE remote codes and surprise surprise it also sees my MCE keyboard including the letter keys and mouse, no I've not gotten it to move my cursor yet or actually DO anything in XBMC but the codes are displayed on screen Oo Time for bed!
find quote
embrion Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Poland
Post: #218
rodalpho Wrote:The nv7150 board works perfectly; I can vouch for it. If you can't get the intel decellerator to work, just pick up a $30 nvidia videocard from newegg. It'll definitely work.

Do You have HDMI output with sound under XBMC or at least under pure Linux ?
Have You already tested my birds scene clip? I'm really interested in this mobo.

Regards,
Embrion
find quote
embrion Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Poland
Post: #219
Oh, I see You tested it. What about framerate under Windows? With Your 3GHz C3D it definitely should be smooth, not 9-12fps.

Regards,
Embrion
find quote
rodalpho Offline
Fan
Posts: 597
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 17
Post: #220
No, I use the optical output for audio. Haven't tested the HDMI. That insane clip didn't play smoothly under windows with ffmpeg, but it did with coreavc.
find quote
embrion Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Poland
Post: #221
Thanks. What do You use for video output if not HDMI? If HDMI, than could You check if You hear any audio? Wink

So I see that the problem is lack of free/open source >1 core codecs. I read that latest ffmpeg got experimental dual core support but I also read that it doesn't work perfectly

Regards,
Embrion
find quote
rodalpho Offline
Fan
Posts: 597
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 17
Post: #222
I use the DVI output.
find quote
Razor_109 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 234
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: Netherlands
Post: #223
1. Rodalpho which exact C2D are you using? E6750 OC to 3hz?

Planning on buying an n630i/Geforce 7100 board too, any problems with drivers under Linux? I'm not an linux expert but can manage around.. just looking for a board without much trouble installing.

Except from the Birdscene, any other problem with 1080p x264 .MKV material? or not yet tested properly?

2. Like many before said, maybe time to get some reference clips and start a WiKi page with results and such.. someone a big webserver with unlimited data....? Wink

(Well dont know what the developers think about this idea, maybe they dont like it yet and they would like to wait till they have reached some more mature state of development.....but I think many people would like such a place to check the HW configurations....)
find quote
gzusrawx Offline
Fan
Posts: 382
Joined: Aug 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Massachusetts
Post: #224
I have the same mb as rodalpho it works ok but I had to use the graphical safemode to install ubuntu and I had to install the nvidia 169 beta driver to get video working properly and I had to install from synaptic backported_linux_modules to get the sound working.
find quote
gzusrawx Offline
Fan
Posts: 382
Joined: Aug 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Massachusetts
Post: #225
Oh and it's an EVGA 7150/630i not 7100 someone else mentioned they had one of the older ones and had slow xbmc menus with it. TSlayer I think
find quote
Post Reply