[PATCH] Hack for calling external video player (like MPlayer) in XBMC for Linux
naa, I think quite the opposite, here you have a situation where a developer wanted to try something and received some huge backlash from the various team developers, one post points to a link on the wiki called vapour ware, and while I realize the team has heard a lot of talk from people but no action which causes frustration the backlash to new people on the forum asking questions or wanting to do something is super frustrating for people. I realize your tag is grumpy developer which totally matches.

As far as santa claus a hack/patch was added, someone actually spend time to do this and people still bitch and moan. All of this is so counter productive.

If I was a developer and read though the various form posts and seen how people are treated/flamed and such I would be turned off. The same issue happened when someone asked about getting a port to an alternative platform a lot of bitching moaning from the team but look low and behold we have a port to the linux, so all the bitching was for nothing. I think if you posted a poll as to the mood of the linux form or developers you would be pretty damn surprised as to what people would say. Of course I'm only one voice but I have been on the net long enough to deal with flame wars, issues, forum fights etc that it just bounces off of me, you have to have a bit of a thick skin.

anyhow enough of that. I think its great a text, hack or someone tried to do a patch to play an alternative player, whether its used or not doesn't hurt anyone but nobody should be bitching when someone spends a lot of time trying to do something different.
-------------
I Bare It All -Personal Blog
I don't see any reference to vapourware, or any flaming of the developer in this thread.