HTPC contemplation
I'm a Kodi noob. I had my Android box about 2 weeks now and had Kodi installed on my Mac for about 1 week. I'm a network admin which means there are 7 computers in my house and 4 OSes. I've skinned and customized my Kodi box but I find it laggy sometimes since it's a 2GB/10GB internal box. I'm thinking of using one of 2 computers to repurpose as a Kodi box. A custom built computer running 256GB SSD, 32GB RAM, high end graphics card running Windows 10. I planned to use it as a bitcoin rig but haven't had the time to complete the setup. The other is a 2014 Mac Mini with an i5, 8GBs RAM and running Mac OS. I'm leaning toward the Mac Mini just because of the form factor and how good it would look in the TV stand. Whichever I choose will be running only Kodi and no other software. The TV is a 60" LG that might get upgraded soon.
I'd say both are overkill, but the first one is mega-overkill. A cheap celeron chromebox running Libreelec would be my recommendation. Cheap, low power, snappy, plays 99% of files, unless you're into the less mainstream stuff like anime, or serious about 3D files etc. which all seem to complicate matters when choosing hardware, the chromebox ticks the right boxes. Consider the electricity savings alone on the other two options and the chromebox will pay for itself soon enough.
(2017-04-30, 23:06)t2ffn Wrote: I'd say both are overkill, but the first one is mega-overkill. A cheap celeron chromebox running Libreelec would be my recommendation. Cheap, low power, snappy, plays 99% of files, unless you're into the less mainstream stuff like anime, or serious about 3D files etc. which all seem to complicate matters when choosing hardware, the chromebox ticks the right boxes. Consider the electricity savings alone on the other two options and the chromebox will pay for itself soon enough.