Mint: Skin Release Thread

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jzbruno Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 37
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Up  Mint: Skin Release Thread
Post: #1
Here is release 2 of Mint. As of release 2 all the PM3 code dependencies are gone. Some images are still being used. This is a big step but also means there may be some windows I missed or glitches with the skin. Let me know if you find anything.

Mint has also been added to the SVN and the newest revisions can be found here http://xboxmediacenter.svn.sourceforge.n...nter/Mint/

TODO: Release 3

- add missing windows
- replace all PM3 images
- profile support
- remote support (thanks RenZOR)
- more viewtypes
- custom skin settings (including user defined scripts for videos/music etc. thanks Nuka)
- tweak images/background/fonts

TODO: Later

- pal and pal16x9 modes
- animations

SCREENSHOTS

[Image: 137ba35bdcabcdf4803a73b289f146fb1g.jpg] [Image: 8b455f4c9eb0091a5fdd7b9e8a4815fe1g.jpg] [Image: c82e21e4341ab9e34b5642a523b830ce1g.jpg] [Image: 94be5c07cb9c52c11542a251ade3a8cd1g.jpg]

DOWNLOAD

Download Mint Release 2 ~8.4MB
(This post was last modified: 2008-03-18 19:32 by jzbruno.)
find quote
Nick8888 Offline
Fan
Posts: 716
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Definately pretty cool and nice concept!! probably abit too dark for my use but still interesting. Keep it up.
find quote
Nuka1195 Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,910
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #3
nice,

serenity was a good movie.

I wish more people would add optional buttons to windows, so a user could link a script to it. eg. weather. Just a suggestion

For python coding questions first see http://mirrors.xbmc.org/docs/python-docs/
find quote
jzbruno Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 37
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Thanks for the comments.

@Nick: I am actually thinking it's too dark for me too. The layout is pretty much set but I may tweak other visual aspects.

@Nuka: I am not sure what you mean by optional buttons. Could you explain it a little more?
find quote
Nuka1195 Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,910
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #5
xbox classic has example of what i mean, basically you add another button in weather, but only make it visible if the user sets a string in your skin settings. the setting would be a link to a script, so there could be a button with a link to a script that plays the daily forecast video or shows radar maps.

I was just commenting, i wish skinners would account for things like that, not many do.

For python coding questions first see http://mirrors.xbmc.org/docs/python-docs/
find quote
jzbruno Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 37
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Wow I didn't even know about that. I'll check it out, sounds useful.
find quote
SleepyP Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,276
Joined: Nov 2005
Reputation: 4
Location: Portland, Oregon
Post: #7
is the Settings menu accessible in this skin? I can't figure out how to get there from the Home window Sad

Catchy Signature Here
find quote
jzbruno Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 37
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
@SleepyP Yes the settings can be accessed in the shutdown menu (click right thumbstick). I put it in there so it could be easily accessed from anywhere in the skin.

The skin has been added to the svn http://xboxmediacenter.svn.sourceforge.n...nter/Mint/ but the current revision doesn't have access to all windows because I am in the middle of removing all PM3 dependencies. As soon as I finish I will release a new version.

JB
find quote
RenZ0R Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: UK
Post: #9
jzbruno Wrote:@SleepyP Yes the settings can be accessed in the shutdown menu (click right thumbstick). I put it in there so it could be easily accessed from anywhere in the skin.

JB

Joy, what about us remote users :|
find quote
jzbruno Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 37
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Remote users have no way of accessing the shutdown menu? I don't use a remote so I am not sure how it works. What buttons are available to you?
find quote
Jezz_X Offline
Team-XBMC Skinner
Posts: 5,289
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 57
Location: Earth
Post: #11
jzbruno they will need a button inthe skin to click or they can't xbmc has no remote button mapped to open the shutdown menu
find quote
jzbruno Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 37
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Good to know. I will put an option in the skin settings and conditionally show a button for the remote users.
find quote
jzbruno Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 37
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
It seems I am too clever for my own good. I thought editing my first post would bump it to the top and also found that it didn't edit the threads title. So just to let you all know check the first post for a new release and info.
find quote
Gamester17 Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 10,523
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 9
Location: Sweden
Post: #14
jzbruno Wrote:also found that it didn't edit the threads title.
No only forum moderators can do that. What would you like the title to be?

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
jzbruno Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 37
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
How you changed it is good. Thanks.
find quote
Post Reply