XBMC Vista Sidebar Gadget (also Windows Desktop Gadgets in Windows 7)

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
nad Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 265
Joined: Feb 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
mots: you are probably correct. I only tested it with Xbox and Windows. I'll test against Linux and post a fix.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
nad Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 265
Joined: Feb 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
Latest version, v1.7, can be found here: http://gallery.live.com/LiveItemDetail.a...93743532d4

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,529
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #33
nad Wrote:Latest version, v1.7, can be found here: http://gallery.live.com/LiveItemDetail.a...93743532d4

Nice, thank you for continuing development. I use this at least a few times a week.

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,529
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #34
nad,
having an issue where the gadget does not show what is currently playing on the 'screenshot' window or in the playlist. I'm playing an ISO, is that the issue?

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
rickardkk Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
I can't get the drag and drop feature to work.

Using drag and drop with the following settings will not play it:

XBox IP: 192.168.0.3:8080

settings.txt: foldermapping=G:\Temp\=smb://MAIN/Temp/

But using http://192.168.0.3:8080/xbmcCmds/xbmcHtt...p/gear.mkv) in my browser will play the file.

BTW is there any way to control Volume with your gadget?
(This post was last modified: 2009-12-31 00:08 by rickardkk.)
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,529
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #36
rickardkk,
It is working for me BUT it only adds the video to the playlist.. you must then open it in the playlist and select it to play.

Also, ensure that the semicolon is removed from before your foldermapping lines.

I don't know of a way to do volume control, it would be nice. Ultimately, I would love to see all the functionality from XBMControl app ported to this gadget.

XBMControl app (from Bram77)
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?p=2...post227111

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
nad Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 265
Joined: Feb 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
Sorry for the slow responses.

Controlling volume: there isn't a built in function within the gadget to control the volume but you can send key presses to xbmc via the gadget (see the Help). I can't remember off hand the specific keys but there are key codes for increasing, decreasing and probably muting the volume.

The latest version (1.7) should have added the function to auto start a media file on adding to the playlist if nothing is playing. I'll check to see what's going on.

A line starting with a semicolon indicates a comment. So you should remove the semicolon for the setting to take effect.

Rickardkk: would you turn debugging on (of the gadget not xbmc) - see Help and then email the debug file that is generated after you have attempted the drag and drop.

In case it is not obvious, Help is available by clicking the Help button within the Settings screen and the debug file is created in the folder location of the gadget and should be something like:

C:\Users\yourname\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Sidebar\Gadgets\xbmc.gadget

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
nad Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 265
Joined: Feb 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
To change the volume xbmc uses the + and - keys (at least that is how mine are mapped). You will need to send Alt + and Alt - to send the correct codes via the gadget (see the Help for the reason).

I can't replicate the problem with media not being automatically played when it is dropped on to the gadget (v1.7).

Livin: I'm not sure what you mean about the screenshot not showing what is currently playing. What does the screenshot display? However I have discovered a problem with the screenshot toggle (ctrl s) with it not being caught by the gadget and instead sending the key directly to xbmc which brings up the shutdown menu. Your playlist bug is because the play list that is being displayed is the audio, rather than video, one. I'll fix that.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,529
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #39
nad,
If I play an ISO video (standard DVD format internally) I've had an issue where the screenshot does not show in the gadget window and the name of the file does not show in the play list.

to test... go start an ISO video from the XBMC UI and then see what displays in your gadget.

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
nad Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 265
Joined: Feb 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
Livin: you're right. Very weird. I'll see what I can do.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
nad Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 265
Joined: Feb 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #41
Version 1.8 just uploaded to the gallery. It should appear tomorrow or so.

Fixed Livin's bug as well as added some other functionality (see Help doc).

rickardkk: If you are still having problems, PM me.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
nad Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 265
Joined: Feb 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
Version 1.9 uploaded to the sidebar gallery but for some reason Microsoft are taking longer than usual to authorise it. If you can't wait you can also download it from http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-http-api-a...loads/list

New stuff include support for multiple xbmcs, better play list handling, more powerful key mappings and loads of bugs fixed.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
CrazyIvan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #43
Hi Nad,

Could you elaborate on this (or provide a link on how to do it):

Quote:Install the gadget in the usual way (you will probably need Admin privileges).

cheers,

crazyivan
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,529
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #44
nad,
I just installed 1.9 (using XBMC Feb 19 2010 SVN:27976)

The Now Playing list seems to work now (v 1.7). The main gadget window is not showing a screen shot, just the default film image when playing an MKV file - is this correct? It was doing this same thing with ISO in v1.7, I have not tested ISO yet.

... and thank you for continuing to improve the gadget... it is very handy. I've been using the Send2XBMC (http://www.addictivetips.com/windows-tip...ia-center/) if you can add this functionality that would simply rule Smile

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
CrazyIvan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #45
Livin, (or anyone else Smile ),

Could you explain how you installed it?

cheers,

crazyivan
find quote