Hardware Accelerated Video Decoding in XBMC for Mac OS X?
Question 
I'm a newbie here, but long time HTPC user..

Is there any info on video decoding acceleration plans for the Mac version? Such as:

- dvdv / accellant integration. MPEG2 acceleration by reverse engineering the Apple DVD Player APIs to the GPU. In the most recent Mac version of MythTV frontend, this support is included (though it might not be totally stable yet).

- OpenGL Shader Language (GLSL) Acceleration. This seems like a good long-term path, but I don't know about support in open source apps yet.

- Others??

- Any other hardware offload plans, such as de-interlacing or color space conversion?

If there are acceleration plans, do they assume a baseline capability of the GPU? Will the Mac Mini's integrated video meet this requirement?
No feature requests please, see the forum summery!

But to answer your question; no, no plans (no volunteering programmer = no plan = no code).
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=XBMC_for_Mac...or_XBMC.3F
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Hardware_Acc...o_Decoding

PS! The Mac mini Intel GMA950 does not support OpenGL 2.0 nor Pixel Shader Model 3.0
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_GMA#T...d_chipsets
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
todd Wrote:Is there any info on video decoding acceleration plans for the Mac version?

I can't speak to others' plans, but I have no current plans myself. I think the performance is quite acceptable without further hardware acceleration. Better parallelism in ffmpeg, coupled with some ideas for general decoding improvements would probably go a lot further and be a lot more portable.

Right now the only videos I have trouble with on my 2.0GHz mini are the ones that were badly encoded (i.e. Planet Earth).

-elan