Port XBMC for Linux to run on NMT (Networked Media Tank) hardware like Popcorn Hour?

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
andyd Online
Senior Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Nov 2004
Reputation: 0
Lightbulb  Port XBMC for Linux to run on NMT (Networked Media Tank) hardware like Popcorn Hour?
Post: #1
There seems to be a outpouring of devices that support NMT's firmware but it's obvious how early it really is. I would love to see similar hardware prebuilt with XBMC as the firmware instead
find quote
pike Offline
Project Manager
Posts: 4,827
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 29
Location: Sweden
Post: #2
wow, why didn't we think of that

Seriously though, it ain't happening. All those devices have 1 thing in common, XBMC will never run on them

Edit: And to really answer your question, NMT/PCH compatible hardware is a no go for us.
XBMC is designed for a Real CPU and a Real GPU with 3D capabilities. Today this means a PC, who knows what it means tomorrow

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
(This post was last modified: 2008-04-07 16:34 by pike.)
find quote
InDashMP3 Offline
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Lightbulb  Port XBMC for Linux to run on NMT (Networked Media Tank) hardware like Popcorn Hour?
Post: #3
http://www.popcornhour.com/onlinestore/i...tegory_id=

Does the above do anything for opening up XBMC to run on that hardware?
find quote
pike Offline
Project Manager
Posts: 4,827
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 29
Location: Sweden
Post: #4
Nope

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,529
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #5
Pike don't be so pessimistic... I'm sure it would run XBMC... all InDashMP3 needs to do is crach the security on the device, port XBMC's code to run on a totally different chip, and poof... magic! Tongue

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
Gamester17 Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 10,523
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 9
Location: Sweden
Post: #6
Not sure if your comment was just sarcasm or but...
Livin Wrote:port XBMC's code to run on a totally different chip, and poof... magic!
Not magic, even if someone else cracked any security it got the porting would still take many hours by a skilled programmer, in other words it would be be A LOT of work, read through these to get a better idea:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=35139
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=34562
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=30207
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=30032
...and Sigma Designs still do not publicly publish their SDK so even if leaked binaries would be as illegal as XDK build for the Xbox.

So I would not hold my breath if I where you No

Then it would be easier to go for something like theNeuros OSD 2.0 HD as its security does not need to be cracked and the SDK is freely available, but even then I do not think any develops will think it is worth it (unless they are looking for a personal challenge) as the Neuros OSD2.0 Platform cost $249.99 as only capable of playing 720p H.64 videos.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,529
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #7
... that was 1000% sarcasm.

I was playing on

1) "all InDashMP3 needs to do"
2) cracking the ROM security
3) getting Sigma's code and porting

impossible, no... likely in the next few years... no.

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
slippy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 197
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Question  Surley it can not be hard to port XBMC for Linux so that it will run on Popcorn Hour?
Post: #8
I found this excellent skin for the popcorn hour, you can view on the link below how it runs on your TV.

http://www.treasure-cove.net/jukeboxtestdrive/

I have seen GUI's made by skinners all over youtube

They have made cover flow skins like apple tv

wall mode skins like xbmc horizon

and a kaledidscape looking skin

Now how difficult is xbmc to get running on the popcorn, I believe it's possible as the popcorn is very fast as it can load all these amazing skins.

I read on boxee forums that they are working to getting boxee on the popcorn.
find quote
Steve_McQueen Offline
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
apples & genetically modified super-oranges.

McQ
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #10
IF you think that gui is even close to xbmc in complexity, put on those glasses of yours
find quote
rwparris2 Offline
Team-XBMC Python Developer
Posts: 1,333
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: US
Post: #11
slippy Wrote:I read on boxee forums that they are working to getting boxee on the popcorn.

No, you didn't. You only THOUGHT you read that.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please read how to submit a proper bug report.

If you're interested in writing addons for xbmc, read docs and how-to for plugins and scripts ||| http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-addons/
find quote
slippy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 197
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
rwparris2 Wrote:No, you didn't. You only THOUGHT you read that.

I must of misread but I went back to the official boxee forums and read this thread which is quite interesting

http://forum.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=6...our&page=2
find quote
rwparris2 Offline
Team-XBMC Python Developer
Posts: 1,333
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: US
Post: #13
If by interesting you mean a lot of people who don't know what they're talking about saying "please do it" and a lot who do are saying "it is not gonna happen, you have to port x libraries etc etc" just like all the popcorn hour threads on this forum then yeah I guess it is interesting.

http://forum.boxee.tv/showpost.php?p=12150&postcount=19

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please read how to submit a proper bug report.

If you're interested in writing addons for xbmc, read docs and how-to for plugins and scripts ||| http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-addons/
find quote
slippy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 197
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
I don't understand the apple tv 40GB is $200 and the popcorn hour is $180. The pch does does 1080p and the apple tv 720p. So how does the PCH have more power to do 1080p at a lower cost but can't run xbmc?

I would like to know how they can fit all that power for 1080p into a slim box. Okay it's wider than the atv but is it not possible to build a htpc that can do everything the pch 1080p, does as well as handle boxee and xbmc and still be under $200 is this possible?

I would like to know how does the pch get to have all this hardware and still be under $200?
find quote
althekiller Offline
Retired Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 5,002
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 12
Post: #15
Money and ability to decode have fuck all to do with one another. Go to Sigmatel's website and read about their SoC line.
find quote
Post Reply