New hardware consideration

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ralph Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Im considering on buying a XBMCbox for my 1080p 42" tv.

After alot of searching im falling into this:
http://http://global.msi.com.tw/index.ph...cat_no=134

It looks fairly nice and has everything one should need for a HTPC box.

The only problem i see, is the graphics solution.
"On-board Graphics of NVIDIA GeForce 6150LE"

Is this powerful enough for running XBMC smoothly?

Review for ppl curious:
http://http://www.justechn.com/reviews/a...a_live.php
find quote
Evin Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Vienna
Post: #2
I guess your "alot of searching" excluded the forum?
find quote
ralph Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
yeah well ive read about hundred posts thru time but i havent got any real answer to this... so i wondered if there where any news of newer date
find quote
Evin Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Vienna
Post: #4
Afaik:

Geforce 6150 = Shader 3.0 = good (despite the LE-crap)

If you planning to playback 1080p-material with high bitrates you need a powerfull-cpu. Maybe the Athlon 64 x2 5200+ is capeable off...
find quote
ralph Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Sounds nice then. Would be crap to buy a box with no possible gfx upgrade and no XBMC.

Planning on putting a AMD 64 X2 6000+ for max power. (cheap anyways).

How about RAM, 1 or 2 gb? Guess XBMC dont use that much ram anyways.
find quote
Razor_109 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 234
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: Netherlands
Post: #6
well.. since you can 2gb for like 30 euro's, 2gb is the way to go i guess..

hmm i wouldn't buy such a machine my self.. the 6150 is very low-end it has been stated that people with a Geforce 7050-7150 onboard sometimes have trouble rendering movies and UI @ 1080p...

When you definatly want a 'complete-htpc' make sure you have the option to add a more powerfull videocard.

For the price of the MSI Media Live + AMD 6000 XP2 + 2GB Ram you can build some decent machine your self without limitations..
find quote
CDNdevil Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Well my box is running a 6150 + AMD64 X2 3800+, on my 42inch 720P display, 720P tv shows run perfect even while running compiz, azureus, firefox, etc. But that bird scene in 1080p ran terrible. So I guess I wouldn't recommend that system if your planning on primarily running 1080P on it, but if you are helping someone with a 720P setup, its cheaper but does the trick.
find quote
rrambo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
CDNdevil Wrote:Well my box is running a 6150 + AMD64 X2 3800+, on my 42inch 720P display, 720P tv shows run perfect even while running compiz, azureus, firefox, etc. But that bird scene in 1080p ran terrible. So I guess I wouldn't recommend that system if your planning on primarily running 1080P on it, but if you are helping someone with a 720P setup, its cheaper but does the trick.

Similar setup here, 6150 but with a amd 3000+ , 32inch 720p display.. I can run up to 720p only.. anything higher craps out....
find quote
mpw222 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Does the 6150 have it's own dedicated framebuffer or does it borrow from the main system RAM? Just curious because that might explain some of the difficulty at higher resolutions (more competition for limited memory bandwidth).
find quote
rrambo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
mpw222 Wrote:Does the 6150 have it's own dedicated framebuffer or does it borrow from the main system RAM? Just curious because that might explain some of the difficulty at higher resolutions (more competition for limited memory bandwidth).

My onboard 6150 uses system ram.
find quote
rodalpho Offline
Fan
Posts: 582
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 16
Post: #11
I would consider a mac mini over that setup; you can run OSXBMC or XBMC for linux on it, and since you'd need to purchase the laptop CPU separately it'd probably be roughly the same price.
find quote
rodalpho Offline
Fan
Posts: 582
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 16
Post: #12
Also note that apple is rumored to be refreshing the mac mini with penryn CPUs and faster video in the near future; likely june at the very latest.
find quote
bmfrosty Offline
Fan
Posts: 305
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
rodalpho Wrote:Also note that apple is rumored to be refreshing the mac mini with penryn CPUs and faster video in the near future; likely june at the very latest.

This news coming true will probably be my excuse for buying a mac mini to do my XBMC bidding instead of going the KPC route.
find quote
embrion Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Poland
Post: #14
bmfrosty Wrote:This news coming true will probably be my excuse for buying a mac mini to do my XBMC bidding instead of going the KPC route.

Or wait for http://en.expreview.com/2008/03/06/intel...-g45-mobo/

Regards,
Embrion
find quote
bmfrosty Offline
Fan
Posts: 305
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
embrion Wrote:Or wait for http://en.expreview.com/2008/03/06/intel...-g45-mobo/

Sweet. Although.. my big problem with Mini-ITX has always been finding cheap cases and power supplies. I'd think that it wouldn't be a problem, but it always seems to be. Time to start looking again.
find quote
Post Reply