Back-end server software - any suggestions?
Big Grin 
First of all I'd like to give a huge THANKYOU to the developers working on the port. I can't believe how much progress you're making in such a short amount of time!

I've been using XBMC on my Xbox for nearly 4 years now (it's the sole reason the Xbox is still under my TV) but the lack of HD-capability of the hardware made me start looking at other solutions for network video playback. We've tried the Xbox 360 and PS3, but none compare to the functionality XBMC provides.

XBMC on OS X is pretty much my ideal media-playing machine - a very small computer (Mac Mini) with enough processing power to deliver HD content, all powered by the best media centre software available.

This combination got me thinking - the Xbox version of XBMC is great, but the Mac can run other software at the same time, so why not produce a server application running in the background?

I currently have a *very* hacked together solution working for the Xbox XBMC - a small Linux-powered NAS device with several USB drives attached. I've replaced the manufacturer's firmware with Debian and written several Python scripts to organise content across all the drives and present a fully organised folder structure to XBMC. This allows me much greater control than sharing the drives directly - for example, TV shows can appear in both the "Comedy" and "Drama" categories without having to have two copies on the drives, different episodes of a show or series can be scattered across different drives but presented in the same list, and reorganising the entire folder structure (renaming things, moving shows between categories etc.) can be done by editing an XML file.