XBMC LiveUSB (formerly "LiveXBMC") V2 is out

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,479
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #46
Can someone with a working mceusb IR remote post their LIRC hardware.conf.

Trying to debug my mine is not working.

Thanks
find
mace Offline
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #47
Sure. I'll just start up the linux box
find
mace Offline
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #48
# /etc/lirc/hardware.conf
#
# Arguments which will be used when launching lircd
LIRCD_ARGS=""

#Don't start lircmd even if there seems to be a good config file
#START_LIRCMD=false

#Try to load appropriate kernel modules
LOAD_MODULES=true

# Run "lircd --driver=help" for a list of supported drivers.
DRIVER=""
# If DEVICE is set to /dev/lirc and devfs is in use /dev/lirc/0 will be
# automatically used instead
DEVICE=""
MODULES="lirc_mceusb2"

# Default configuration files for your hardware if any
LIRCD_CONF=""
LIRCMD_CONF=""
find
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,479
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #49
mace Wrote:MODULES="lirc_mceusb2"

And that looks the solution to my problem. Thanks, I'll give it a try when I return home again.
find
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,479
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #50
davilla Wrote:And that looks the solution to my problem. Thanks, I'll give it a try when I return home again.

Needed to change the following
Code:
REMOTE_MODULES=""

REMOTE_DEVICE=""

START_LIRCD="false"

to
Code:
REMOTE_MODULES="lirc_dev lirc_mceusb2"

REMOTE_DEVICE="/dev/lirc0"

START_LIRCD="true"

Now "life is good" on LiveXBMC with the mceusb remote
find
NEI Offline
Donor
Posts: 113
Joined: Nov 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #51
what about lcdproc? is it included in LiveXBMC?
find
NEI Offline
Donor
Posts: 113
Joined: Nov 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #52
Btw, I have an ATI card. 780G mainboard with 3200HD graphic card. Works perfectly with Hardy and XBMC. I (and maybe some others) am willing to donate some money so you could buy an ATI card and include support into LiveXBMC...
find
jarwha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #53
Hi,

I installed the V2 on a USB stick however it gave an error " no screens found"
and EXT-fs error (device loop3): ext2_fnd_entry.......
(Asus N4L-VM HD mainboard with 945GM chipset and GMA 950 video)


best regards
Jan
PS with the 1st version I had no problems!
find
lcapriotti Offline
a.k.a Luigi, Team-XBMC XBMCbuntu Dev
Posts: 811
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 12
Location: Italy
Post: #54
jarwha Wrote:Hi,

I installed the V2 on a USB stick however it gave an error " no screens found"
and EXT-fs error (device loop3): ext2_fnd_entry.......
(Asus N4L-VM HD mainboard with 945GM chipset and GMA 950 video)

Intel GPUs are supported but you have to rename the file restrictedDrivers.img on the USB disk.
This is a new feature of V2.
Cheers
Luigi
find
jarwha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #55
l.capriotti Wrote:Intel GPUs are supported but you have to rename the file restrictedDrivers.img on the USB disk.
This is a new feature of V2.
Cheers
Luigi

Which name should I give to the restrictedDrivers.img ??

regards,
find
lcapriotti Offline
a.k.a Luigi, Team-XBMC XBMCbuntu Dev
Posts: 811
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 12
Location: Italy
Post: #56
jarwha Wrote:Which name should I give to the restrictedDrivers.img ??

regards,
whatever
find
haffi Offline
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Mar 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #57
I had problems running the Image Creator, I downloaded it to my desktop and tried it from there but it just did nothing when I pressed format,
Then I tried many usbs but nothing happens, so I moved it to c:\usb\ and all the files in the folder and everything is now working fine Smile
find
jarwha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #58
I managed to run XBMC V2, however it is not in full screen mode
and I can't play any video (monitor is black for a second and then
it returns to the XBMC interface).

regards
Jan
find
topfs2 Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 4,003
Joined: Dec 2007
Reputation: 10
Post: #59
jarwha Wrote:I managed to run XBMC V2, however it is not in full screen mode
and I can't play any video (monitor is black for a second and then
it returns to the XBMC interface).

regards
Jan

For the first it sounds like the usual fault, try Settings -> Appearence -> Screen and pick the resolution which is Desktop, which have the right resolution. The Auto isn't really working as expected yet.

For the other q, could you give us some more info and a log perhaps?
Like is it smb or local you are trying to play? what hw do you run it with?

/Topfs2

If you have problems please read this before posting

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]

"Well Im gonna download the code and look at it a bit but I'm certainly not a really good C/C++ programer but I'd help as much as I can, I mostly write in C#."
find
lcapriotti Offline
a.k.a Luigi, Team-XBMC XBMCbuntu Dev
Posts: 811
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 12
Location: Italy
Post: #60
haffi Wrote:I had problems running the Image Creator, I downloaded it to my desktop and tried it from there but it just did nothing when I pressed format,
Then I tried many usbs but nothing happens, so I moved it to c:\usb\ and all the files in the folder and everything is now working fine Smile

A new version of the builder is available on sourceforge (hopefully) fixing the reported issue.

Cheers
find
Thread Closed