No menus, fonts, anything showing up...

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Jezz_X Offline
Team-XBMC Skinner
Posts: 5,284
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 57
Location: Earth
Post: #16
they don't exsist and never will they are not needed because PM3 gets all its strings from the main xbmc file not its own like other skins can
find quote
bmfrosty Offline
Fan
Posts: 304
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
Should it be looking for them then?

Subtitles - Serious Business
find quote
Jezz_X Offline
Team-XBMC Skinner
Posts: 5,284
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 57
Location: Earth
Post: #18
Its a default thing for every skin it checks for the file making a special exception just for 1 skin in the code is inefficiant and not worth the effort besides its not a required file and most non new skins wont have it
find quote
iordonez Offline
Team Plex
Posts: 323
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: SFBA
Post: #19
Sorry... can you rephrase that Jezz?
find quote
bmfrosty Offline
Fan
Posts: 304
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
@schwachs

Does the problem go away if you revert to 0.5.0b1?

Subtitles - Serious Business
find quote
Jezz_X Offline
Team-XBMC Skinner
Posts: 5,284
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 57
Location: Earth
Post: #21
iordonez Wrote:Sorry... can you rephrase that Jezz?

I honestly don't know how to

skin\[SKIN NAME]\language\english\strings.xml

is checked for by XBMC every time it loads a skin (any skin) this file is not needed. It is a recent addition to the skin layout to help skins not part of main xbmc have a language file that can be translated and changed when XBMC changes langauge. Obviously we can't add every skins custom words to the main xbmc strings file.

The file is not needed Making a acception for Project Mayhem III (because it uses all its language stuff is in XBMC main strings.xml) to not spew out the ERROR message is In my opinion pointless. And not worth adding extra code to XBMC

if anything maybe it could be changed to "Warning" other than error
find quote
schwachs Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Nov 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
bmfrosty Wrote:@schwachs

In the log I see:

23:17:48 T:2685812640 M:1078800384 INFO: load language file:/Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/Resources/XBMC/language/English/strings.xml

Does that file exist, and is it readable by user, group, and world?

If you don't know how to check this, open up a terminal and do this:

ls -l /Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/Resources/XBMC/language/English/strings.xml



-rw-r--r-- 1 joshua admin 86041 May 5 23:15 /Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/Resources/XBMC/language/English/strings.xml
find quote
schwachs Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Nov 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
bmfrosty -

yes, it does actually!

on a side note, the "Downloads" link from http://www.osxbmc.com/2008/05/07/release...etta-beta/ isn't working...

http://dn-0.com/xbmc-trac/wiki/WikiStart comes up w/ a server error.

which made finding b1 a little more 'fun' but i was able to google it pretty easily.


bmfrosty Wrote:@schwachs

Does the problem go away if you revert to 0.5.0b1?
find quote
megus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
Hi,

Same problem as the above and this is my first install of XBMC. The Console reports the following (if this makes it easier to debug):

5/19/08 12:31:09 AM /Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/MacOS/XBMC[526] CPSGetCurrentProcess(): This call is deprecated and should not be called anymore.
5/19/08 12:31:09 AM /Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/MacOS/XBMC[526] CPSSetForegroundOperationState(): This call is deprecated and should not be called anymore.
5/19/08 12:31:10 AM [0x0-0x66066].org.xbmc.XBMC[526] The XBMC_HOME environment variable is not set.
5/19/08 12:31:10 AM [0x0-0x66066].org.xbmc.XBMC[526] The XBMC_HOME environment variable is not set.
5/19/08 12:31:10 AM [0x0-0x66066].org.xbmc.XBMC[526] The XBMC_HOME environment variable is not set.
5/19/08 12:31:10 AM [0x0-0x66066].org.xbmc.XBMC[526] ++ WARN: could not retrieve file info for `image.nrg': No such file or directory
5/19/08 12:31:10 AM [0x0-0x66066].org.xbmc.XBMC[526] ++ WARN: can't open nrg image file image.nrg for reading


Hope getting a fix as I'm exited to test the application Sad

//megus
find quote
bmfrosty Offline
Fan
Posts: 304
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
schwachs Wrote:bmfrosty -

yes, it does actually!

on a side note, the "Downloads" link from http://www.osxbmc.com/2008/05/07/release...etta-beta/ isn't working...

http://dn-0.com/xbmc-trac/wiki/WikiStart comes up w/ a server error.

which made finding b1 a little more 'fun' but i was able to google it pretty easily.

It sounds like you found a bonafide bug - one that may only crop up in the os-x version. You would probably be well served by posting a bug report. Possibly include the logs for the version that works, and the version that does not.

Subtitles - Serious Business
find quote
iordonez Offline
Team Plex
Posts: 323
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: SFBA
Post: #26
schwachs Wrote:http://dn-0.com/xbmc-trac/wiki/WikiStart comes up w/ a server error.

dn-0.com will be working again this afternoon... the second the owner goes out of town it always goes down (not kidding)
find quote
iordonez Offline
Team Plex
Posts: 323
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: SFBA
Post: #27
Also since there are two of you that see this, what system specs are you using, what resolution, Leopard Version, etc. see if we can narrow this down a bit and figure out what you have in common.
find quote
megus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
Hardware Overview:
Model Name: MacBook
Model Identifier: MacBook1,1
Processor Name: Intel Core Duo
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 2 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 667 MHz
Boot ROM Version: MB11.0061.B03
SMC Version: 1.4f12

System Software Overview:
System Version: Mac OS X 10.5.2 (9C7010)
Kernel Version: Darwin 9.2.2

//megus
find quote
iordonez Offline
Team Plex
Posts: 323
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: SFBA
Post: #29
and which screen resolution are you using in the system?
find quote
megus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
Well,
the resolution on the MacBook is 1280x800 of course, but XBMC runs in a window and since I don't have any text in the interface I can't figure out how to move to full screen...

//megus
find quote