Mentor wanted..
Firstly, I just have to say how thoroughly impressed I am with the state of the Linux port. Especially the time that's obviously been put into making the build process as painless as possible, that's a huge plus for me because that's the last thing I want to fool with. Smile Also, the MythTV integration, IMO, is looking amazing. Watching Live Channels really surprised me... nice..

So, I have two XBMC platforms right now, both Hardy one a laptop and one a PC I use as my media center.

I am a C++ programmer by day and like everyone don't have a lot of time, but I think I might like to start trying to optimize anything that needs optimizing. I'm going to start going over some code right now, but would like someone really familiar with something that could use some optimization to point me in the right direction. Any takers?
I guess it depends what you want to work on Smile

Whether you're keen on playing with the playback side of things (video or audio) or whether you want to tinker with the UI stuff, or filesystem layers, or....

There's some stuff on the wiki still about the google summer of code with some suggestions on areas that may need some work:

http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Google_Summe...discussion

Obviously a lot of these are pipe dreams at the moment, but they may give you some idea of what sort of area you want to start working in. From there we can find someone who has a bit of time to offer some insight into where you might wish to start Smile

Cheers,
Jonathan
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

I've seen that list and I'll go over it again right now. Rather than implement new functionality at the moment, I would rather tighten things up that may work now, but could work better or could see an improvement in performance.