[WINDOWS] HOW-TO get Sony PS3 Bluetooth Remote Control working using EventGhost

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 4.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Broads Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
Off topic, but will eventGhost work for mapping the xbox360 Controller?

Would be really cool if it could trap my PCI DVB-T IR Controller?
find quote
BreEil Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
missed your earlier post mate, sorry for posting so much lol.
the only thing I need to know now is how to write the Emulate Keystrokes: {ALT+Z}
in eventghost. It is recognising the key press from the remote but I think I have written the keystroke part wrong. apart from that all is good! I have ALT+Z as a hotkey to run xbmc. next I want the remote to have a button that switches between my monitor and tv, the hotkey for that is CTRL+Q really appreciate the help mate gonna give ya some rep, u really deserve it!!!
find quote
BreEil Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
got it working!!!!!!!!!!
took a lot of playing around but I couldnt be happier.
pity there no edit post here, feel like a bit of an ass for posting so much lol.
thanks guys Big Grin
find quote
BreEil Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
anyone knw how to get rid of the free memory thing at the top?
find quote
caprica13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Broads Wrote:Off topic, but will eventGhost work for mapping the xbox360 Controller? Would be really cool if it could trap my PCI DVB-T IR Controller?

Hello, sorry no idea.
Would you mind creating a new thread with your question ? It will help both the people only interested in either this (PS3 remote thread) and the other (XBOX360 controller)
find quote
caprica13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
my event ghost xml file:

[Image: ps3mg5.jpg]
[Image: ps3mg5.f291ee33e4.jpg]


and the beginning of my keymap.xml (I have removed all but the keyboard sections, for easier editing)

[Image: keymapte5.jpg]
[Image: keymapte5.e9d38217f4.jpg]
find quote
caprica13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
harlekin Wrote:How long do the PS3 remote batteries last, once they are paired with the Vista-PC, and how about reconnecting the remote? Do you have to reinstall it manually (uninstall it as a Vista Bluetooth device, than install it again) every time you wan't to use the remote again, as you have to with the Wii remote unless you use GlovePie and a specific Bluetooth driver stack?

how did you know about my PS3 remote battery trouble ? Shocked
how did you know about the unexplained changes in the bluetooth driver ? Shocked

Everything was working fine for the first couple of weeks, then it went down the hill. First thing I've noticed the batteries started dying after two weeks or so, so that took me a couple of hours to figure out.
Another thing that started in the last week or so, is a much bigger lag in key presses when in XBMC. I can see the events happening in Event viewer super fast (even if it's a 100 in a minute Wink) but it skips every two or three of them in XBMC (so it's bit of an effort to get things controlled)

Also the bluetooth driver/device acts weirdly. it would work one minute and then the next it would stop. Then I'd have to poke it a few times and it would start working again. Yet to find a pattern ... thinking about an MCE Remote already Oo
find quote
BreEil Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
all working now, thanks very much
find quote
harlekin Offline
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
@caprica13: Smile I'm using the Wii remote as a XBMC remote currently (GlovePie with the following config:
Code:
//FoamyGuy Nunchuk Mouse
//Modified version of:
//Kunal Khiyani's nunchuk mouse
// based on
// Modified version of Squeakypants' D-Pad mouse script
if (-1.2 < wiimote.Nunchuk.JoyY < -0.09) {
  Mouse.DirectInputY = Mouse.DirectInputY + 30 * wiimote.Nunchuk.JoyY;
}
if (0.09 < wiimote.Nunchuk.JoyY < 1.2) {
  Mouse.DirectInputY = Mouse.DirectInputY + 30 * wiimote.Nunchuk.JoyY;
}
if (-1.2 < wiimote.Nunchuk.JoyX < -0.09) {
  Mouse.DirectInputX = Mouse.DirectInputX + 30 * wiimote.Nunchuk.JoyX;
}
if (0.09 < wiimote.Nunchuk.JoyX < 1.2) {
  Mouse.DirectInputX = Mouse.DirectInputX + 30 * wiimote.Nunchuk.JoyX;
}


//LED
//wiimote.Led1 = true;
wiimote.Leds  = 0


//XBMC Buttons
Mouse.LeftButton = wiimote.Nunchuk.ZButton;
Mouse.RightButton = wiimote.Nunchuk.CButton;
Keyboard.Enter = wiimote.A;
Keyboard.Esc = wiimote.B;
Keyboard.Left = wiimote.Left;
Keyboard.Right = wiimote.Right;
Keyboard.Up = wiimote.Up;
Keyboard.Down = wiimote.Down;
Keyboard.Backspace = wiimote.Minus;
Keyboard.Tab = wiimote.Home;
Keyboard.Q = wiimote.Plus;
Keyboard.Menu = wiimote.One;
Keyboard.X = wiimote.Two;


//Scroll
//if (wiimote.Up) {
//   Mouse.WheelUp = true
//   wait 30 ms
//   Mouse.WheelUp = false
//}
//if (wiimote.Down) {
//   Mouse.WheelDown = true
//   wait 30 ms
//   Mouse.WheelDown = false
//}
)

and I'm having the same problems (Bluetooth /= great battery life... Wink ).

My Laptop has no IR reciever build in, so I'm currently deciding if I should buy a whole new remote, or just a Wii Mote battery pack and a charger (I'm all about convenience.. Wink ).
find quote
ATTILA Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
I have logitech dinovo mini BT keyboard :-( as you know on the keyboard the multimedia buttons are set to windows media center . How can I use or set the play and stop buttons for XBMC ? Can ant one help? Thanks
find quote
BreEil Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
been trying for the last few hours and it wont work. was working great and I havent changed anything at all, very frustrating.
Have tried everything I could think of, really wanna get it working but I might have to go back to my trust wireless keyboard & mouse thingy.
pity cause it was working great before, even had the eject button set to switch between my monitor and tv Sad
find quote
BreEil Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
just noticed the commands are going to eventghost but arent doing anything,
the remote shows up a a hid compliant game controller and also as a hid keyboard. tried uninstalling the keyboard but it make no difference, just asks me to install again. anyone got any ideas?
find quote
magfal Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
my setup shows no lag in eventghost but in xbmc it is unbareable

i am using a billionton bluetooth module on win xp 32 bit and the newest atlantis build
find quote
Broads Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #29
Magfal. Are you running atlantis, This build seems to have killed event Ghost operations. I have switched back to the last version, whilst things get tweaked. Fingers crossed.
find quote
dslate69 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
Not the perfect solution as I have seen a few graphic glitches in the menu, but using the new atlantis with the previous xbmc.exe seems to fix the PS3 remote issues.
That said I dropped back to the previous release completely on my htpc.
find quote
Post Reply