Media Companion - Manage Icons, Posters, FanArt, .NFO's & more for Movies & TV Shows

  Thread Rating:
  • 7 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
athloni Offline
Fan
Posts: 312
Joined: Dec 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #1576
When you import a XBMC nfo file into Media Companion, only the first of all genres is showed.
The XBMC nfo in this example is generated by exporting separate nfo files from the XBMC library.

Quote:<mpaa>G</mpaa>
<playcount>0</playcount>
<lastplayed></lastplayed>
<id></id>
<genre>Adventure</genre>
<genre>Animation</genre>
<country>United States of America</country>
<director>Clyde Geronimi</director>
<director>Hamilton Luske</director>
<director>Wolfgang Reitherman</director>
<premiered></premiered>
<status></status>
<code></code>
<aired></aired>
<trailer></trailer>

When imported into Media Companion, only one genre is showd (Adventure in this example).
Also the ID Tag in the XBMC file is always empty so Media Companion cannot update the nfo file by Batch Rescrapping.
find quote
gaiko Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1577
Hi, I am trying to organize my TV show collection and am having trouble getting the “extras” recognized properly. All the little short takes etc get strange names and numbering (like season 207) and sometimes named totally different shows instead of something like season 3 bloopers 1 (or whatever). Is there something special that needs to be done to get these extras recognized by MC? I have tried putting them in “Specials” folders since theTVDB categorizes them as specials but that doesn’t seem to have helped. Any suggestions/ideas would really be appreciated!

Cheers,

-Gaiko
find quote
abraxas971 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1578
I recently started using MC 3.4 and I'm really liking it.

But I've noticed in XBMC when I scrape my movies they won't list in alphabetical order.
I've had it sort by all the different means and it will not list them in alphabetical order.

I've also tried it in 4 different skins with the same effect.It lists my TV Shows just fine but not movies.In Neon where there is a separate listing for HD movies it lists them alphabetically.

If I take out the .NFO files and use the built in scraper it will list them alphabetically.

It's annoying after I took the time to edit all my movies that XBMC won't list them like I want them.

Thanks in advance
find quote
abraxas971 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1579
I would also like to say that I have uninstalled and reinstalled XBMC with the same problem persisting.

I also used a older version of Media Companion(3.260) that I had but hadn't used yet,
and even though it wouldn't scrape movie info properly when I had XBMC scan those .NFOs it would list them alphabetically.
find quote
abraxas971 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1580
never mind found out what the problem was
find quote
Troyp42 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #1581
How do you get MC to add all it's information into xbmc? I've read that you just remove the source in xbmc and add it again after you've run MC. But when you add the source again which scraper option do you choose? Do you leave it as none in xbmc and then MC will automatically add the thumbs fan art and info from the NFO files?
Still trying to work all this out.
find quote
dtviewer Offline
Fan
Posts: 664
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #1582
Troyp42 Wrote:How do you get MC to add all it's information into xbmc? I've read that you just remove the source in xbmc and add it again after you've run MC. But when you add the source again which scraper option do you choose? Do you leave it as none in xbmc and then MC will automatically add the thumbs fan art and info from the NFO files?
Still trying to work all this out.

Just choose IMDB as the scraper in XBMC when you set content.

XBMC will look for local nfo files first before scraping IMDB.
find quote
Troyp42 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #1583
Ok great, thanks for that.
find quote
Troyp42 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #1584
dtviewer Wrote:Just choose IMDB as the scraper in XBMC when you set content.

XBMC will look for local nfo files first before scraping IMDB.

So do I need to set "run automated scan"?

When I set IMDB as the scraper and click ok it says scanning for new media content and then downloading media information. Is it downloading this info from IMDB or from my movie folder? I have NFO files setup in all my media folders?
find quote
dtviewer Offline
Fan
Posts: 664
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #1585
Troyp42 Wrote:So do I need to set "run automated scan"?

When I set IMDB as the scraper and click ok it says scanning for new media content and then downloading media information. Is it downloading this info from IMDB or from my movie folder? I have NFO files setup in all my media folders?

It is using the nfo files you have in your local folders.
If it doesnt see an nfo file locally then it will go online and scrape it.

Sounds like you are good to go.
find quote
Troyp42 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #1586
Thanks for that. Cheers.
find quote
clutch Offline
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Norway
Post: #1587
I find it annoying that it finds dosens of folders which are not movies
How about making some ignores? Test for name Sample, Poof, CD1, CD2, Subs, Cover, Covers, Extras etc?

Here's an old script I had laying around. Maybe you can use that for inspiration?

Set regEx = New RegExp
regEx.Pattern = "^Sample$|^Proof$|^DVD[1-9]$|^CD[1-9]$|^DISC[\.\_-][1-9]$|^Subs$|^Cover$|^Covers$|^Extra$|^Extras$|"
regEx.IgnoreCase = True
regEx.Global = True

I run two XBMC HTPCs (WinVistax86+Win7x86 ) with Logitech Harmony and MCE remotes in my living rooms
find quote
DerDon Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1588
how can I stop downsizing,
when I add a Poster-URL or Browse it from my HDDConfused?
find quote
Post Reply