[WINDOWS] Boot directly to XBMC for Windows (in full-screen) as the shell on Windows?

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
adamjon858 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Question  [WINDOWS] Boot directly to XBMC for Windows (in full-screen) as the shell on Windows?
Post: #1
Ok, so I saw the technique of booting to XBMC from a flash drive. My question is: can I install XBMC on a separate hard drive by itself and then boot to it??
find quote
gryzor Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Yes and no. No, because XBMC is not a operating system and -- Yes, since you can have Windows (or more commonly, Linux) boot up and autostart xbmc into fullscreen, giving the "feel" of what you're suggesting.

XBMC on Gentoo is as good as it gets! :o
find quote
keland44
Unregistered

Post: #3
yea you should be able to just drop a copy of the .exe in the start up menu and it should boot right to xbmc
quote
budwize Offline
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
ive tried to put XBMC in the start menu

now while xbmc itself loads up it starts " minimised "
andi have to still alt tab into it

anyway to stop that ?
find quote
icekiller Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
hmm normally if you set the correct screen res in the settings it should just start up fullscreen (the -fs is out of date..)
find quote
WiSo Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 2,740
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #6
icekiller Wrote:(the -fs is out of date..)

Where did you get this? the command line switches are still valid.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
icekiller Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
wiso, i mean its deprecated ... but some non english users don't know what it means.. thats why i'm saying 'out of date'... and got that info from Althekiller Wink he almost killed me when i told a user to use -fs to go to fullscreen.
find quote
budwize Offline
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
teh full screen isnt teh problem im having at my friends house

fro me it was and i had to recently do -fs to get full screen instead of window

main problem i have on hisbox is if he boots to windows, xbmc loads up but sits minimused in taskbar

andhejust alt/tab and hes in the program full screen

this doesnthappen if he menaulyl loads it himself after windows installs
its just when putting the link into startup

for him its ok but for his wife she not to savvy on a PC so needs it to just boot in
find quote
WiSo Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 2,740
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #9
Could be that he meant the Linuxport. On Windows it's still not deprecated and in use. Some differences still exist Wink

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
sagalout Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
budwize Wrote:teh full screen isnt teh problem im having at my friends house

fro me it was and i had to recently do -fs to get full screen instead of window

main problem i have on hisbox is if he boots to windows, xbmc loads up but sits minimused in taskbar

andhejust alt/tab and hes in the program full screen

this doesnthappen if he menaulyl loads it himself after windows installs
its just when putting the link into startup

for him its ok but for his wife she not to savvy on a PC so needs it to just boot in

I have a similar technical issue (ie a non PC friendly wife!) and I just have a hotkey on the keyboard assigned to launch XBMC in fs mode. I use the dinovo keyboard which has a configurable 'media' button but most keyboards these days allow you to configure them.
find quote
waldo22 Offline
Donor
Posts: 764
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2
Location: Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Post: #11
budwize Wrote:ive tried to put XBMC in the start menu

now while xbmc itself loads up it starts " minimised "
andi have to still alt tab into it

anyway to stop that ?

so try editing the shortcut you put in the startup folder to have a "-fs" at the end, and see what happens then...

...or is that what you're doing already?

I can't tell from your comments.

-Wes
find quote
zeuss-axis Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Dallas
Post: #12
RE: minimized at startup, there's a freeware app out there called startup delayer...put a delay of 3 seconds or so and you should be good. Also try a delay of "0" and specified "start maximized". http://www.jockersoft.com/english/startu..._index.php

RE: booting to XBMC, you can search out the shell key in regedit and replace exporer.exe with XMBC.exe, but it takes forever for the machine to boot; it seems a bit confused when the desktop 'would' be loading, and the overall boot time is 2-3 minutes. Still, if you don't need to run any apps in the background and can't stand seeing the transition from desktop to XBMC...
find quote
budwize Offline
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
thanks everyone for your help with xbmc minimising on boot.

ended up doing a combination of them all
find quote
budwize Offline
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
forgot to mention its now all working

mymates wife also likes the media key option
find quote
SubSense Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
You can also start XBMC instead of Explorer.exe (Standard windows Shell). Explorer.exe is the proces that covers the startmenu, file & folder browsing, (The explorer..).
I've done that in a large Windiws XP embedded environment, works like a charm. (With another app)
Haven't tested it yet on XP Pro (Or Vista).
Here you find the run steps:

1) open regedit (start menu > run, and type in regedit)
2) go to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon.
3) Change Shell from explorer.exe to the new shell path e.g C:\Litestep\litestep.exe
4) log out and log back in.

But, Be Carefull when editing the registry!
find quote
Post Reply