Weird problem (maybe)
Hi I have a problem that I can't get my head around and need a point in the right direction to help figure this out, this may seem dumb but please go easy on me I'm a linux newbie but quite willing to learn Smile .

first here is my hardware:
I have an Asus CS5110 Essentio
E8300 intel 2.83 core duo
2 GB ram
8600m GT Nvidia
on a p5k3 m/board

some history first:
I d/l XBMC live usb and installed it to a flashdrive without a problem slapped it into my comp and it booted perfectly, picked up the network, and I loaded the smb shared folders.

I then tested a few SD, 720 and 1080 xvids and they all play without a problem, I even gave the "killa sample" a try and it also played without dropping any frames, life was good, now for the problem....

I need to get into the file system to add a media font to properly display traditional Chinese fonts, so after reading through the forums I found out that I just had to install open ssh server and could just ftp the file in from my xp machine. For some reason though I can't drop to a console terminal (command prompt) it just hangs forever.

After playing around for awhile I tried the Live USB stick on my laptop everything booted fine and I installed openssh server without a problem and ftped the files in without a problem. I then moved the flashdrive to my desktop and it booted up fine, but now I have lost the network for some reason.

I then installed ubuntu to the hdd and tried the full version. Everything installed all right with no problems, but xbmc is really sluggish and stutters like crazy.

After the longwinded post I was hoping that someone could point me in the right direction to help resolve this/these problems, as I love xbmc and use it daily (on my xbox) and would like to make the switch to play HD stuff.
any help in pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
treefour
Asus Essentio CS5110, Intel E8300, 2 GB Ram, 8600M GT