Picture addon problems
Hi!

I'm pretty new to the Kodi Addon business so please excuse any questions considered obvious.

I wrote a small picture plugin and some problems arose. Maybe you can help me and provide some links/pointers.

1. In the deepest view, I have ListItems that directly point to an external URL (path=url) that holds an image file (JPG). Now, if I click on one of them the view is _not_ changed and the image is _not_ "played", i.e., shown in full size. I've tried setProperty("IsPlayable", "true"), I do setInfo(type="image", infoLabels={"FileName": item.label}) and <provides>image</provides> but still the image won't be displayed full size. Am I missing something, potentially essential? Do I have to use setResolvedUrl()?
2. The external images I load are not that small and I realized it would be good if I start to cache them. First of all, is there a Kodi-builtin _magic_ I can trigger to cache the external images (their URLs do not change)? If not, is it valid to rely on other plugins like, e.g., script.common.plugin.cache, or should I use plain xbmcvfs and open/write?
3. Is it considered good practice to use Kodi plugin "routing" (script.module.routing), or should I stick to do the routing manually?

Thanks for your opinions.
4. Is it possible to somehow get this nice preview for pictures _inside_ a folder? (When browsing through folders that contain pictures/images ("picture view") folders do not show thumbnail icons but a mashup of some of the pictures inside that folder)
(2019-05-16, 12:37)whitedwarf Wrote: folders do not show thumbnail icons but a mashup of some of the pictures inside that folder)
Context Menu on the folder, the select Choose Thumbnail
My Signature
Links to : Official:Forum rules (wiki) | Official:Forum rules/Banned add-ons (wiki) | Debug Log (wiki)