Add support for 256MB and 512MB RAM to XBMC for Xbox code?

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Geeba Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,796
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #16
Probably a good thing on the 1080i... what alot of people fail to realise is that it is actually lower down the HD quality scale than 720p!

DreamX Box up for sale?? Wink just kiddin!
find quote
Gamester17 Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 10,523
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 9
Location: Sweden
Post: #17
Geeba Wrote:Probably a good thing on the 1080i... what alot of people fail to realise is that it is actually lower down the HD quality scale than 720p!
Not memory/resource wise though, 1080i uses just as much memory as a 1080p for the skin.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Shonk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Yes it is true

try using over 64meg

I have a 1ghz with 128meg of ram x3ce x3ir x3cp well 3
but only 1 is 1ghz

i run in 720p and play over smb from my nas's

if the ram used goes over 64meg the video playback goes pear shape



Gamester17 Wrote:Not true, XBMC does use it at least for digital images. I have a 128MB Xbox too and it does not hang.

...though I do still not see why anyone would spend money upgrading the memory in an old Xbox today.
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 25,674
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 169
Post: #19
The xbox GPU cannot reference memory over 64MB. The CPU can.

Since they're shared, it could well get pearshaped at some point if the memory for textures tries to be placed in CPU-only land.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Shonk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Interesting i hadnt considered that

I change settings and watch the free ram on the x3cp as soon as it hits 63meg
its a slide show a screen update every few seconds
find quote
Shonk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
i presume it will be fine with overlays
instead of High Quality Pixel Shader V2?
find quote
Shonk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
Just tested still the same

Xbmc doesnt support over 64meg of ram for video playback fullstop

i wouldnt be supprised if its compiled for 64meg only
its compiled hard coded to 733mhz thats for sure

I have to patch it to 1gig
find quote
Shonk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
You guys are on a code freeze now
how's about fixing the problem for us 128meg guys
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 25,674
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 169
Post: #24
Get me an xbox with 128 MB and I'll take a look. No guarantee's that I'll be able to fix it though.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Geeba Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,796
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #25
Hmmmm need to get 128MB board together! and get it to John....! I can do the soldering but have no idea on the BIOS? I've only ever softmodded Xboxes.
find quote
run088 Offline
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
jmarshall Wrote:Get me an xbox with 128 MB and I'll take a look. No guarantee's that I'll be able to fix it though.

I dont come here as much as I do xbox scene and I missed this.

Where do you live?

I might be able to help.Hit me up and let me know what exactly what you need.And I will get it together.If you dont here back from me soon pm me on xbox scene I will get it quicker.
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 25,674
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 169
Post: #27
I live in New Zealand.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
run088 Offline
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
jmarshall Wrote:I live in New Zealand.

What shipping like from U.S. to New Zealand?
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 25,674
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 169
Post: #29
I'm not in the US, so I have no idea, but I suggest it's probably more than the cost of an xbox.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Gamester17 Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 10,523
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 9
Location: Sweden
Post: #30
Plus the reciever probably have to pay VAT/tax and fee for customs handling if the item shipped is said to be worth more than $20 even if it is said to be sent as a gift or free sample.

Oo

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote