Which wireless HTPC keyboard+mouse?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
davidw89 Offline
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: -5
Post: #1
Got any recommendation to use with XBMC? Which wireless keyboard/mouse?

For remote i am going to be getting Microsoft MCE remote (~$50). is this supported? If not which universal remote is supported?
find quote
topfs2 Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 4,048
Joined: Dec 2007
Reputation: 10
Post: #2
MCE is well supported, just choose it when installing lirc (Will be a wizard were you choose mceusb2).

For mouse you can consider the wiiremote, good mouse in HTPC usage

If you have problems please read this before posting

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

[Image: badge.gif]

"Well Im gonna download the code and look at it a bit but I'm certainly not a really good C/C++ programer but I'd help as much as I can, I mostly write in C#."
find quote
shagworthy_uk Offline
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: England
Post: #3
I'm using this... works out of the box.
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/135103

but i will be buying this soon:

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/keyboa...8&cl=us,en

ASRock Ion 330 | 6TB Drobo | Pioneer PDP-4270XD (s/pdif) | Sony DAV-DZ810W | Logitech Harmony 885 (MCE remote emulation)| diNovo Mini
find quote
JATWolf Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: -10
Post: #4
Does anyone know how this one is hooked up so it works?

http://www.amazon.com/Microsoft-Remote-K...B000AOAAN8

I have my MCE Remote working but would like to add the keyboard as well...
find quote
ekurin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
I use the MCE Keyboard and based on my experience the drivers for LIRC are quite unfinished. The media keys and the mouse is working as expected but the repeat rate when typing is very fast. Unfortunately the developer of the driver seems to have lost interest in the project. I'm also growing tired of the IR-technology. Does anyone have any experience with bluetooth media keyboards and linux? PlugandPlay or are you required to build kernel drivers similar to the MCE Keyboard drivers?

Antec Fusion 430 V2 | Gigabyte GA-G33M-S2H (Intel GMA 3100) | Intel E6750 | MCE Remote and Keyboard | Plays 1080p without any problem
find quote
davidw89 Offline
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: -5
Post: #6
Topfs2 Wrote:MCE is well supported, just choose it when installing lirc (Will be a wizard were you choose mceusb2).

For mouse you can consider the wiiremote, good mouse in HTPC usage

I have a Wii and i've already ordered a cheap bluetooth usb but how will the wiiremote be used as a mouse?
find quote
mr.b Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 165
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
ekurin Wrote:I use the MCE Keyboard and based on my experience the drivers for LIRC are quite unfinished. The media keys and the mouse is working as expected but the repeat rate when typing is very fast. ...

@ekurin, I found this thread

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=592057&page=2

that mentions this work-around:

Code:
xset r off

Hope it helps...
find quote
MDPauley Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Mar 2004
Reputation: 0
Location: Centreville, Va
Post: #8
I have this remote also and I have had problems getting it to work with lirc. Ive followed the instructions and it just wont work right for me. Anyone wanna help me out Cool?
find quote
ekurin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
mr.b Wrote:@ekurin, I found this thread

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=592057&page=2

that mentions this work-around:

Code:
xset r off

Hope it helps...

Thanks for trying to help out mr.b. I've tried to disable the auto-repeat and it works everywhere except in XBMC. However I disabled the auto-repeat via the gnome-settings menu, don't know if it has the same effect as xset ( I suppose it does)

And MPauley73 visit the link mr.b posted and follow the guide on the first thread page. That's how I got my keyboard working in the first place.

Antec Fusion 430 V2 | Gigabyte GA-G33M-S2H (Intel GMA 3100) | Intel E6750 | MCE Remote and Keyboard | Plays 1080p without any problem
find quote
MDPauley Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Mar 2004
Reputation: 0
Location: Centreville, Va
Post: #10
Guess I was just having a "dense day"... the keyboard is working, but in xbmc whatever the last key pressed is, well just keep on going and going....
find quote
bionic1234 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
shagworthy_uk Wrote:but i will be buying this soon:

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/keyboa...8&cl=us,en

Just purchased one of these today, I have beeen looking into for sometime- one word AWESOME!
running XBMC Linux Gutsy, keyboard was recognized right away, needed to patch for touchpad/mouse (just google).
The wireless keyboard is small like a blackberry very easy to thumb-type on.
The touchpad/mouse is dual purpose, simply switch from mouse to 'directional buttons' and you have a complete XBMC remote control for navigating through the menus.
If all that weren't enough, the device looks awesome and compliments HTPC setup and has a backlight for the keypad so that you don't have to turn up the lights when you are watching a movie or TV show with your HT mood lighting.
find quote
davidw89 Offline
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: -5
Post: #12
so that replaces both a keyboard and a mouse?
find quote
bionic1234 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
davidw89 Wrote:so that replaces both a keyboard and a mouse?

Yes, Keyboard, Mouse, and wireless XBOX1 controller that I was still using.
touchpad mouse takes a little getting used to, but now I can power off XBMC, use Gutsy (ie; firefox, terminal, open office, etc.), and then reopen XBMC all from one remote.

There is a manual switch right beside the touchpad that lets you switch from mouse to arrow pad.
Ok button is on the left side of the keyboard in a comfortable location.

Also last night I tried the media buttons across the top of the keyboard and they all work as well in XBMC (ie; play/pause, stop, advance, etc.)

and my wife really likes the diNovo mini interface as well (finds it more comfortable than wired keyboard and the XBOX1 controller)

cheers
find quote
topfs2 Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 4,048
Joined: Dec 2007
Reputation: 10
Post: #14
davidw89 Wrote:I have a Wii and i've already ordered a cheap bluetooth usb but how will the wiiremote be used as a mouse?

Basicly, if you use the PPA then you do
Code:
sudo apt-get install xbmc-eventclients-wiiremote
Then you need to run that program on boot. You need to press 1+2 on the wiiRemote to connect and you need to map the keymap.xml

I will hopefully add a good keymap version for the wiiremote to svn at some point but for now you need to do it yourself >)

Anyway, heres some read about the WiiRemote eventclient http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=EventServer
and http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=EventServer#WiiRemote

If you have problems please read this before posting

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

[Image: badge.gif]

"Well Im gonna download the code and look at it a bit but I'm certainly not a really good C/C++ programer but I'd help as much as I can, I mostly write in C#."
find quote
JATWolf Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: -10
Post: #15
Topfs2 Wrote:Basicly, if you use the PPA then you do
Code:
sudo apt-get install xbmc-eventclients-wiiremote
Then you need to run that program on boot. You need to press 1+2 on the wiiRemote to connect and you need to map the keymap.xml

I will hopefully add a good keymap version for the wiiremote to svn at some point but for now you need to do it yourself >)

Anyway, heres some read about the WiiRemote eventclient http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=EventServer
and http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=EventServer#WiiRemote

Probably a VERY stupid question here but just so I can understand if I am interpreting this correctly... Can this Wiiremote be used for XBMC even if you DON'T have a Wii? This would be awesome and I would get one if this is possible. If someone gets a good laugh at this question it's worth the gains that could be had if it works like I think Smile
find quote
Post Reply