Questions on scrapers

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Ninjamawwe Offline
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Post: #1
I have a few questions regarding the scrapers.

1. When doing imdb lookups on movies, xbmc changes my previous thumbnail to the one from the scraper. Example, I have a folder MyMovie, which contains a folder.jpg. When scanning this folder the thumbnail is changed to the one found by the scraper. My question is, can this behavior be changed so that xbmc uses my thumbnails?

2. When doing scans to the music library, scanning .mp3 files, does xbmc use the id3 version 1 or version 2 tag? When I use the artists view, I get multiple entries for artist, such as 'bloodhound gang' and 'the bloodhound gang'. I have checked my tags and there are no such discrepancies in my id3 ver2 tags. Or am I missing something in how the scraper works? Are there any other tag fields being read into the artist (performing artist and such)?

3. Using the scraper for musicvideos seems to only work when you have a single folder containing multiple videos. My file structure looks like: MyMusicVideos/Foo Fighters - The Pretender/Foo Fighters - The Pretender.avi and so on, yet the scraper doesn't seem to pickup any hits on this. Question: should the scraper work for this kind of structure? (I would expect the recursive scan to pickup this, but strangely it doesn't).

Thank you for the best mediacenter frontend out there, love your work.
and
find quote
The-Boxhead Offline
Donor
Posts: 958
Joined: May 2005
Reputation: 17
Location: Norway
Post: #2
i can give some input on mp3 id tags. I have a large collection of mp3's
and im extremely into tagging everything correctly.
I use tag&rename to do the tagging. Sometimes however xbmc displays
same artists or albums two times with a minor variation. This is almost always due to some weird tagging on the files. So i have started to load
my collection into mediamonkey after i have used tag&rename. in Mediamonkey i can see that the same thing happens and can easily fix it.

If you got this issue you should load the album into media monkey to check. After i started to use both programs my mp3's is always correctly scanned to db in xbmc.

i think this happens because of some ghosting between idv1
,idv2and idv3 tags and the implementation of tag writing functions in different apps. seems like sometimes fragments from old tagging is still present.

So far this method is the only one i have found to be working correctly.
If you dont get this method working i would gladly help out more !
find quote
Ninjamawwe Offline
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Post: #3
Ok thank you I will have try out my library in mediamonkey and see what happens. I use tag&rename as well and I can't spot any errors in there, so I suspect that something is wrong with my id3 ver1 tags.
find quote
The-Boxhead Offline
Donor
Posts: 958
Joined: May 2005
Reputation: 17
Location: Norway
Post: #4
yeah, though tag&rename is genius it doesent detect this stuff. Wink
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #5
1. Make sure you scan by foldername. folder.jpg belongs to the folder, not the file.

2. I suspect this is due to allmusic.com picking up the artist and we list it. I'm not sure though, so have to look into it. Please post a trac report if this is the case. If you didn't use allmusic.com to lookup album + artist info, then this is not at fault and it is your tags.

3. It should pick it up if you do recursive, but I believe the matching isn't particularly good with the mtv scraper.

Cheers,
Jonathan

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
The-Boxhead Offline
Donor
Posts: 958
Joined: May 2005
Reputation: 17
Location: Norway
Post: #6
while we're at it... i have a collection that is perfectly tagged with albumcovers as folder.jpg and albumart embedded in the tags.

For me i dont want xbmc to use any scrappers at all because i know everything is ok. Is there i way to tell xbmc to not use any scrappers at all ? just do a clean import of idv3 tags only ?
This would speed up scanning and also remove any bugs from scrappers.
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #7
Settings->Music->Library. Just don't select the settings under there, and xbmc doesn't hit the web at all. It's off by default.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
The-Boxhead Offline
Donor
Posts: 958
Joined: May 2005
Reputation: 17
Location: Norway
Post: #8
just to clarify. if you dont enable "fetch album information on scan" and "fetch artist information on scan" tha scrapper is disabled ? even tough the option "default scrappers" is set to allmusic ? Maybe a little idea to "grey" out this option when you have disabled the twoothers mentioned above ? this way it's clear to the user that internet scrapper is disabled. as it looks now it seems that the allmusic scrapper still is active.
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #9
Good idea - please trac that request.

Thanks!

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
The-Boxhead Offline
Donor
Posts: 958
Joined: May 2005
Reputation: 17
Location: Norway
Post: #10
done deal
http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/4674
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #11
bad idea

the fact that automatic lookups are disabled does not mean manual ones are
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #12
Good point - will remove the trac'd request.

Cheers,
Jonathan

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
The-Boxhead Offline
Donor
Posts: 958
Joined: May 2005
Reputation: 17
Location: Norway
Post: #13
i can see that spiff, and didnt think about that. Anyhow the gui
doesent clearly state that you are changing options for automatic scans or the options for manuall lookups. Maybe somehow change the way options are ? (this is skin specific also i realize) Maybe one clear section for setup on automatical scans and one for manual lookups ?

Cause i would like an option to totally disable automatic lookups but still be able to controll manual lookups. well im open, what does other users think ?
find quote
The-Boxhead Offline
Donor
Posts: 958
Joined: May 2005
Reputation: 17
Location: Norway
Post: #14
maybe i should clarify more...
the options "fetch album information on scan" and "fetch artist information on scan"... to me this doesent say wheter you do an automatic scan or a manual scan on one album. its a scan to me anyway.

So if i disable those options xbmc doesent fetch allmusic when u use the "scan item to library" on a source but it fetch info from allmusic when
i select an album from the library ?
find quote
Ninjamawwe Offline
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Post: #15
Thanks for the replies, I will double check that my tags are correct with mediamonkey, and then try to do another import of the files into xbmc. (I use allmusic.com for the lookups).
find quote
Post Reply