Audio Problem P5N-EM HDMI
Sorry I am a bit of a newbie, but I am trying to get ac3 passthrough to work on this motherboard running ubuntu 8.0.4.

I have the add on spdif module, but I cant get it to pass sound either through xbmc or directly using aplay.

I know many of you are using this board, and was hoping for a point in the right direction, as I have been reading for hours tonight.

I do not even see the spdif device when i run aplay -L only the analog devices are shown.

Any ideas??

Thanks
have you tried downloading and updating alsa ?
ALSA was installed with the ubuntu distribution I am using it for the analog sound. I have not had much succcess with updating it.
there is no support for output of audio over HDMI port in neither video drivers or alsa.
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

Sorry I wasn't clear. I am aware of the lack of HDMI support. For this reason I got the spdif adapter for the board. I am connecting to my reciever via an optical cable. The issue is not with xbmc. It is an issue with alsa, as if I run aplay -l or aplay -L i do not see an iec958 device, all i see are analog devices.

I think the solution to this problem involves a hammer and a high roof to throw the small parts from at this point.
You'd probably be better off getting this working in general in the Ubuntu forums (their user base is considerably higher), then coming back here IF it doesn't work in XBMC afterwards.
Here is a solution that worked for me .. If I understand your problem.

Under settings and audio

you will see to settings for audio.

one says: IEC958
other says: default

put IEC958 in both places. this will send sound via spdf

/t
Sorry if this is a stupid question, but you did un-mute the SPDIF in alsamixer
didn't you?