HOW-TO stream video from VLC (VideoLAN-Client) PC

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Caldor Offline
Fan
Posts: 356
Joined: May 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
so whats the consensus?

ill give it a go but there seems to be some unresolved questions - anyone got any new info since these posts?
find quote
Strawp Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
hi,

i tried this with a file just recently again and the instructions i wrote still work!

make sure that:
- you don't have a firewall between your pc and your xbox blocking the port you're running the stream on. this could be a software firewall like the one that's built into windows or it could be a router of some kind or a computer that the connection is going through if you're using another computer as a router

- you're using the port that you set it up on at both ends and that nothing else is using it.

the times i've used this i generally go for ogg video and ogg audio (vorbis).

also make sure the video you're trying to run actually plays in vlc on your pc in the first place! Wink
find quote
Sid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2005
Reputation: 0
Star   
Post: #18
yeah, been having similar issues, but got there in the end....
my settings on the vlc stream output window is as follows:

play locally = ticked
http = 10.0.0.155
port = 1234

encapsulation method: mpeg ts
transcoding option:
video codec = not ticked
audio codec = not ticked

the strm file content is as below:
http://10.0.0.155:1234

10.0.0.155 = the ip address of the computer hosting the stream

i loaded the strm file from 'my files' if it works a progress bar will appear then slowly loads if it doesn't then the screen just flashes. my original problem was i was only getting audio and that was because i turned on transcoding.
you may need to press the big 'display' button on the remote to bring the playback up and sometimes it goes straight into pause mode so just hit the play button.

good luck!
find quote
omega_red Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
(sid @ sep. 11 2005,02:39 Wrote:yeah, been having similar issues, but got there in the end....
my settings on the vlc stream output window is as follows:

play locally = ticked
http = 10.0.0.155
port = 1234

encapsulation method: mpeg ts
transcoding option:
video codec = not ticked
audio codec = not ticked

the strm file content is as below:
http://10.0.0.155:1234

10.0.0.155 = the ip address of the computer hosting the stream

i loaded the strm file from 'my files' if it works a progress bar will appear then slowly loads if it doesn't then the screen  just flashes.  my original problem was i was only getting audio and that was because i turned on transcoding.
you may need to press the big 'display' button on the remote to bring the playback up and sometimes it goes straight into pause mode so just hit the play button.

good luck!
still doesnt work for me i use an xvid/mp3 coded movie, xbmc 1.1.0 compile date jul 24 2005 with videolan 0.8.2.

i only get sound.

is there an other way to stream?(other program(steam server))
or what am i doing wrong?

thx greetings om_r!
find quote
sonica Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
(omega_red @ sep. 19 2005,14:43 Wrote:
(sid @ sep. 11 2005,02:39 Wrote:yeah, been having similar issues, but got there in the end....
my settings on the vlc stream output window is as follows:

play locally = ticked
http = 10.0.0.155
port = 1234

encapsulation method: mpeg ts
transcoding option:
video codec = not ticked
audio codec = not ticked

the strm file content is as below:
http://10.0.0.155:1234

10.0.0.155 = the ip address of the computer hosting the stream

i loaded the strm file from 'my files' if it works a progress bar will appear then slowly loads if it doesn't then the screen just flashes. my original problem was i was only getting audio and that was because i turned on transcoding.
you may need to press the big 'display' button on the remote to bring the playback up and sometimes it goes straight into pause mode so just hit the play button.

good luck!
still doesnt work for me i use an xvid/mp3 coded movie, xbmc 1.1.0 compile date jul 24 2005 with videolan 0.8.2.

i only get sound.

is there an other way to stream?(other program(steam server))
or what am i doing wrong?

thx greetings om_r!
you need to change from ogg to asf then u will get picture and sound. but i have trouble with the stream it will no flow..xbox buffers all the time ;/
find quote
greend139 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
i need some help. im using vlc on a linux box via the mythstreamtv plugin so i can stream video over the net. i can connect and the the video stream that vlc puts out just fine on mplayer on my mac, and on vlc on a pc, but for some reason whenever i try and play the stream on my xbox it just freezes the xbox until i make vlc stop the stream. i have looked trough the log files and i can't figure out what's making it do this. any help would be appreciated!!! thanks
find quote
nem Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
does xbmc support udp protocol ? im using videolan server which uses udp for streaming, this is my playlist for vlcplayer

udp://@225.1.1.1:30120
udp://@225.1.1.2:30120
udp://@225.1.1.3:30120
....

what should i add into .strm file ?
find quote
Xirix Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
i'm trying to do this with a x264 encoded mp4 file, i'm using the mpeg ts encapulation but my xbox sticks on " opened ts demuxer, audoConfused0(pid 68), video : 1000000$ .. what am i doing wrong? i've set up the server fine.
find quote
stark Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
can vlc be used to stream .ts files to the xbox at an acceptable rate?

i got it to work no problem. its just really stuttery and im only using a 40second sample as a test.

can you set the buffer or can anything be done so they play ok?

failing that is there another method to play hi definition movies on the xbox?

d.
find quote
Morien Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Dec 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
when trying to stream h.264 movies vlc crashes (with whatever options selected). however when just trying to play the file it plays fine. has anyone got any experience with making h.264 encoded movies stream?
768x462 23.976fps, dd ac3 5.1 audio in mkv container
thanks
morien
find quote
l0N3_S0|Di312 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
Hey Everyone, Ive been working on this for hours and fanilly got sucessCool

""This Tutorial Is Manily Ment For Sony Vaio PC's With Gigapocket SMRT Capture Cards, but it MIGHT work for different cards""

Ok

1.Have your capture card plugged inot a video source.
2.Launch Sony Gigapocket, and select the channel of your chioce.
3.Download and install VLC http://www.videolan.org/vlc/
4.Open VLC, click File->Wizard..
5.Select "Stream To Network"
6.Click on the "Select a stream" bubble, then click on "Choose..."
7.Click on the "DirectShow" tab at the top of the newly opened window
8.For Video Device Name, Click on "Refresh List." Then in the Video Device PullDown Menu, Select "SMRT Capture" (Note, that is the name of my capture card, yours might be different.)
9.For Audio Device Name, Click on "Refresh List." Then in the Audio Device
PullDown Menu, Select "SoundMAX Digital Audio" (Note, that is the name of my sound card, yours might be different.)
10.Back To The Video Device Name Box, Click On Configure, a properties window will come up, select your video standard, judging by your country video standard, (USA=NTSC, Europe=PAL).
11.While having a channel selected in Gigapocket, VLC shows that I have one signal dected, and 525 lines detected, It may vary for diffrent cards and channels.
12.Click on "Ok", Then "Ok" again.
13.Now your back at the choose stream menu, and it should say "dshow://"
14.Click Next, Select the "HTTP" Bubble
14.Then Click On the MPEG-1 Bubble
15.Click Next/Ok.
16.Then For 'TLL' (Time To Live) Select between 1-5, I use 3. Dont Worry About SAP Announce, leave it unchecked.
17. Click Finish.

YOUR DONE (for that part)

this is easy, were almost done.

1.open up notepad
2.go to http://www.ipchicken.com/ and retireve your ip address
3.type
Code:
http://yourip:8080
4.save this is a vlc.strm file, NOT A .TXT DOCUMENT
5.ftp this to XBMC\UserData\playlists\video\
6.in XBMC go to videos, then the Playlists Folder and Select vlc.strm.
7.It Should Connect And Load, and dispaly the video

WERE DONE!

Anyquestions/problems, DON'T PM me, email me at ricardomontobon@gmail.com or IM me on AIM: Drachenfire9298

- |0N3_S0|Di312
find quote
yoyodyn Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
Has anyone tried this product yet? I am wondering if XBMC can read this stream directly, or if it needs to go through VLC first. This seems like a decent way to get live tv, if it is possible.

Yoyodyn
find quote
chrome307 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
TV Streaming from an Analog PC TV Tuner Card to XBMC


Open up VLC and select FILE - OPEN CAPTURE DEVICE - DIRECT SHOW TAB

Click on ADVANCED OPTIONS

and you will see that the top line is already completed

the rest of the details are for an analogue TV Card (Philips SAA7134 PAL - UK)

Fill in the details - I have chosen BBC 1 for test purposes

[Image: i64_PIC1.PNG]


Once completed click on OK to return to the Direct Show Tabbed page

On this page now tick - STREAM/SAVE and click on SETTINGS

[Image: i65_PIC2.PNG]


The TARGET line will automatically be completed for you

Select HTTP and then use your PC's IP address

I have used this particular PORT number as my ISP blocks 80 and 8080 (used for HTTP)

Port 8008 is an unofficial PORT used by IBM Servers, more info on PORTS can be found here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_TCP...rt_numbers

My choice of Encapsulation/Codec was simply based on what I thought my console's hardware could playback.

(For demonstration purposes use these settings to ensure you have video and audio playback - you can mess around with these later for your personal preference)

Click on OK to finalise and return to the Direct Show Tabbed page

Now click on OK at the bottom of the page and hopefully your TV card's Properties will appear

[Image: i66_PIC3.PNG]


Simply click on OK to move onto the next dialog box

[Image: i67_pic4.PNG]


I have used these settings again for demonstration purposes (change them to your preference later)

Click on OK to proceed

[Image: i68_pic5.PNG]


For demonstration purposes - BBC 1 has been chosen (change them to your preference later)

Click on OK to proceed

[Image: i69_pic6.PNG]
find quote
chrome307 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #29
For demonstration purposes these are the settings used

Click on Ok to proceed

[Image: i70_pic7.PNG]


For demonstration purposes these are the settings used

Click on OK to proceed

Now you should see the TV picture viewable on VLC on your PC


Now we need to transfer this to XBMC

Simply open up a text editor and add the following details:


http://YOUR PC IP:8008

Save this file as VideoLan.txt and then rename it to VideoLan.strm

Put this file in your Shared Directory on your Network with your other Xvid etc files

Now open up your FTP Client and transfer this file to the folder XBMC\User Data eg

ftp://xbox:xbox@192.168.1.13/E/apps/XBMC...EOLAN.STRM

Finally we need to PORT FORWARD on your router

Simply open up the configuration page and select NAT SETUP - OPEN PORTS SETUP

Create a new entry with your PC's IP eg

[Image: i71_pic8.PNG]


Now go to XBMC and navigate to My Videos - Playlists - VideoLan.strm

it will take a few seconds to cache but you should now see your TV Card
find quote
chrome307 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
The above settings are for UK Terrestrial Televsion - sorry didn't have a DVB-T card to test this out with ............ hopefully someone can try it and give feedback ??

chrome
find quote