Help with Incompatible Error

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
DrDystopia Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I have installed Mediastream but when I try and load it I get an error that says:

Incompatible Skin we require skins of version 2.0 or higher.

This is what I have tried.

I am new to XBMC so please be kind.

I installed using the Splinter Cell softmod.

I then used the Auto Installer Deluxe Disk to install XBMC as my default dash.

I tried to upgrade to the current build with BBB's T3ch upgrader script. It would d/l the zip and unpack it but I guess I did not have the dir correct because it continued to boot into the same old version.

Since the upgrader left a XBMC folder on my E: drive with all my user settings attached I just ftp'd in to the xbox and replaced my old xbmc folder with the new one overwriting all. (this might be were I screwed up)


When I go to system info at the bottom it says:
XBMC pre 2.1 (compiled Sep 1 2008) (I do not see t3ch build anywhere)

my operating system says 1.0.4034.1

My file system is this:

C:
/Audio
/fonts
/xboxdashdata.185ead00
/xodash
xbmc.cfg
xbmc.cfg__old
xbmc.cfg_new
xbmc.xbe
Xboxbook.xtf
xbox.xtf
xboxdash.xbe

D:/ empty

E:/
/apps
/backup
/cache
/emulators
/games
/movies
/music
/music videos
/screenshots
/Tdata
/tv shows
/Udata
/videos
/XBMC
evodash.xbe


Q:/ repeat of everything in e:/xbmc

in e:/xbmc the dir looks like this

/Addons
/credits
etc.
...
/skin
/usedata
etc
...
default.tbn
default.xbe


In my skins folder I have all of the default skins that came with the build
All of them work correctly but mediastream gives me the 2.0 error.

Mediastream is the only skin I did not already have before this update and was the reason I wanted to update

When I copied over my old xbmc folder with the new one two files did not transfer

mediastream/media/textures.xpr
and
mediastream/sounds/sounds.xml

the only way i could get the 31 mb verision to replace the 20something mb version that was in the older build was by ftping it with a different name, deleting the old one and renaming the new on back to textures.xpr.

I already tried d/ling the skin and just ftping the whole thing and replacing all but it still gives me an error transferring the textures.xpr and it gives me the same
requires skin 2.0 or higher error when I try to switch to it.

this is my xbmc log

20:33:10 M: 57708544 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
20:33:10 M: 57688064 NOTICE: Starting XBMC, Platform: Xbox. Built on Sep 1 2008
20:33:10 M: 57688064 NOTICE: Q is mapped to: E:\XBMC
20:33:10 M: 57688064 NOTICE: The executable running is: E:\XBMC\default.xbe
20:33:10 M: 57688064 NOTICE: Log File is located: Q:\xbmc.log
20:33:10 M: 57688064 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
20:33:10 M: 57688064 NOTICE: Unmapped drive T
20:33:10 M: 57688064 NOTICE: Mapping drive T to Harddisk0\Partition1\XBMC\UserData
20:33:10 M: 57688064 NOTICE: Setup DirectX
20:33:10 M: 57663488 NOTICE: Mapping drive C to Harddisk0\Partition2
20:33:10 M: 57663488 NOTICE: Mapping drive E to Harddisk0\Partition1
20:33:10 M: 57663488 NOTICE: Unmapped drive D
20:33:10 M: 57663488 NOTICE: Mapping drive D to Cdrom0
20:33:10 M: 57663488 NOTICE: Mapping drive X to Harddisk0\Partition3
20:33:10 M: 57663488 NOTICE: Mapping drive Y to Harddisk0\Partition4
20:33:10 M: 57663488 NOTICE: Unmapped drive Z
20:33:10 M: 57663488 NOTICE: Mapping drive Z to Harddisk0\Partition5
20:33:10 M: 57663488 NOTICE: load settings...
20:33:10 M: 57663488 NOTICE: Mapping drive P to Harddisk0\Partition1\XBMC\UserData
20:33:10 M: 57659392 NOTICE: loading T:\guisettings.xml
20:33:10 M: 57233408 NOTICE: Getting hardware information now...
20:33:10 M: 57233408 NOTICE: Checking resolution 4
20:33:10 M: 57233408 NOTICE: Per AV pack settings are off
20:33:10 M: 57552896 NOTICE: q:\UserData\sources.xml
20:33:11 M: 49811456 ERROR: Error loading keymap: Q:\system\Keymap.xml, Line 0
Error document empty.
20:33:11 M: 51003392 ERROR: Window Translator: Can't find window xlinkkai
20:33:11 M: 51146752 NOTICE: Checking the Date!
20:33:11 M: 51146752 NOTICE: start dvd mediatype detection
20:33:11 M: 51081216 NOTICE: initializing playlistplayer
20:33:11 M: 51081216 NOTICE: DONE initializing playlistplayer
20:33:11 M: 51073024 NOTICE: load default skin:[Back-Row]
20:33:12 M: 45469696 ERROR: Error evaluating boolean expression !Skin.HasSetting(homebuttons) + System.KaiConnected + !System.hasmediadvd
20:33:12 M: 45469696 ERROR: Error evaluating boolean expression !Skin.HasSetting(homebuttons) + System.KaiConnected + System.hasmediadvd
20:33:13 M: 43433984 NOTICE: use DHCP
20:33:13 M: 43118592 WARNING: System rebooted during music scan! ... restoring UseTags and FindRemoteThumbs
20:33:13 M: 43110400 NOTICE: Updating video library on startup
20:33:13 M: 42586112 NOTICE: Updating music library on startup
20:33:13 M: 42577920 ERROR: Control 402 in window 10112 has been asked to focus, but it can't
20:33:13 M: 42033152 NOTICE: initialize done
20:33:14 M: 41992192 NOTICE: Running the application...
20:33:16 M: 38412288 NOTICE: start timeserver client
20:33:16 M: 38445056 NOTICE: Webserver: Starting...
20:33:16 M: 37998592 NOTICE: XBFileZilla: Starting...
20:33:16 M: 38727680 NOTICE: ES: Starting event server
20:33:17 M: 37638144 NOTICE: ES: Starting UDP Event server on 0.0.0.0:9777
20:33:17 M: 35758080 NOTICE: UDP: Listening on port 9777
20:33:17 M: 35876864 NOTICE: Webserver: Started
20:33:18 M: 23617536 NOTICE: XBFileZilla: Started
(I don't think there is anything helpful in there)


Please help me out I would really like to get this skin to load.

I don't have my xbmc in e:/apps/xbmc like almost every help thread I have read suggests it should be.

Could this be causing the problem?

Thanks in advance ^^
find quote
Cocophone Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
when you unzip the MediaStream zip file it will create directories like this

\MediaStream\MediaStream\

Make sure you ftp the 2nd MediaStream folder inside the outer MediaStream folder. Not both folders.
find quote
DrDystopia Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
currently my dir structure to the skin looks like this

E:/XBMC/skins/Mediastream/(here are all the mediastream subfolders and the skin.xml file)

I ftp'd the wrong mediastream folder and fixed that but didn't mention in my original post

any other ideas?
find quote
manturafs Offline
Team Razorfish
Posts: 308
Joined: Jul 2005
Post: #4
part of what you've said puzzles me because the t3ch version from Sep 1st should include the mediastream folder when you copied it over. it's strange that it didn't. therefore i would do a clean install of the sept 1 version of xbmc.

to do that, open a program on your xbmc that allows you to ftp it like unleash or the softmod. you ideally do not want to be in xbmc when you are upgrading it though it can be done.

once you do that, delete the entire xbmc folder and replace it with the sept 1 one. since that includes mediastream, you should be good to go unless you get an ftp error.
find quote
JATWolf Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Cocophone Wrote:when you unzip the MediaStream zip file it will create directories like this

\MediaStream\MediaStream\

Make sure you ftp the 2nd MediaStream folder inside the outer MediaStream folder. Not both folders.

Ah, I was about to post something about not being able to install the new MediaStream but I'm sure this is what I did too. Unzipped and put the outer folder in. I'll check later...
find quote
DrDystopia Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
when i installed the new t3ch build I deleted the old xbmc folder and ftp'd the entire on over. I was in xbmc when I did this. Everything ftp'd correctly but the skin gave me the same 2.0 error.

I then d/l'd the newest mediastream build from the website and ftp'd that replacing the one that was already there.

This is when I ran into problems with the textures.xpr not wanting to copy and giving me errors.

When I get home I will try logging into a different dashboard and replacing the xbmc folder and I will post results.

(if i can figure out how to log into a different dash, hopefully I can just put in the Auto installer deluxe disk and boot from that)

Thanks for your help ^^
find quote
Cocophone Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
While in XBMC go to the filemanager and go the E drive. Select and click on the file evodash.xbe It should start up your Unleashed Dashboard.

You problems might be because you are trying to FTP files that are in use by XBMC.
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,864
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 101
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #8
DrDystopia Wrote:when i installed the new t3ch build I deleted the old xbmc folder and ftp'd the entire on over. I was in xbmc when I did this. Everything ftp'd correctly but the skin gave me the same 2.0 error.
You wont get a proper install by overwriting when in XBMC. As suggested, you need to load another dash to do it correctly.
find quote
DrDystopia Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
booted into another dash and ftp'd over the newest build overwriting again and everything is works great

thanks for the help guys I am learning alot the skin won't be leaving my tv for a long while.
find quote