[WINDOWS] HOW-TO use MCE remote in XBMC under Windows XP with IR Server Suite

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
EWizard Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #91
No dice.
Remote still non-responsive.
Sad
find quote
Questionario Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #92
did you configure in your IRSS which button is supposed to trigger which XBMC-event?
without that, you will of course get no response! (or have you set it to emulate keyboard?)
find quote
EWizard Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #93
Here's what I did last night.

1) Uninstalled IR Server Suite.
2) Re-installed the XP MCE IR Receiver drivers (native windows drivers)
3) Remote now works as it did before.
4) Set up my Harmony Remote to use an MCE Keyboard (per forum suggestion).
5) Mapped the buttons that were not working (play, pause, stop, etc.) through the Harmony Remote software.

Almost fully functional.

I just moved recently from Media Portal to XBMC. Before that I used XBMC on a Gen. 1 XBOX for about 7 years.
I have to say, as nice as Media Portal looks, XBMC beats it hands down.
Much more responsive!
And, I haven't had any problems playing any kind of media whatsoever.
Thanks for all the help Q.
find quote
Questionario Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #94
glad its working for you now...
though you might want to look at EventGhost instead of IRSS, I dont know IRSS but EventGhost with MCE remote and xbmc does not leave any wishes open for me...
the focus does not even need to be on xbmc in order for it to work so i can work on the computer while my wife controls xbmc on the TV Smile
find quote
sveinhf Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Smile  Missing files
Post: #95
Hi. I'm trying to get IR Server Suite to work with my MCE remote under XBMC. I have installed IRSS correctly i think. But i am missing a lot of the buttons. There used to be a file at http://www2.vhl.tudelft.nl/~rloggen/xbmc/XBMC MCE remote info BETA 1.zip that I used earlier.

Does anyone else have these or other files that i can install under the xbmc folder?
find quote
pedram Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #96
sveinhf Wrote:Hi. I'm trying to get IR Server Suite to work with my MCE remote under XBMC. I have installed IRSS correctly i think. But i am missing a lot of the buttons. There used to be a file at http://www2.vhl.tudelft.nl/~rloggen/xbmc/XBMC MCE remote info BETA 1.zip that I used earlier.

Does anyone else have these or other files that i can install under the xbmc folder?

I'm looking for this file also. The link in the original post to the files needed for this guide does not work. :-(
find quote
korden Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #97
I´m looking for them to!
find quote
dhstsw Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #98
Could someone please repost the drivers? thanks.
find quote
Phred2 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #99
+3 - looking for the files. Could someone please repost the files; pretty please.

Phred
find quote
embrion Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Poland
Post: #100
For future reference: you don't need those dead link files, I've just followed this guide any everything is working. You can literally use any remote as IR Remote Suite will show everything seen by MCE receiver as MCE signals. Just remap button number in IRSSmap.xml and you're ready to go.

Regards,
Embrion
find quote
Xero01uk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #101
download links are dead, can anyone supply new ones?

chears
find quote
embrion Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Poland
Post: #102
Eeeem look one post back? ;>

Regards,
Embrion
find quote
masterchiller Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #103
Hello,

I want to use XBMC with my Harmony 880, I configured the Remote in the settings.

It works but I can't go back to menu, if a video is playing I can't set the settings for Language, Undertitle or Audio - I don't see the menu for that...

Please tell me how I have to configure xbmc.

THX

Best Regards

Lukas
find quote
Post Reply