Has "XBMC for Mac" been renamed to "Plex"?
t029248 Wrote:One thing i appreciate very much from the Plex team is that they are very open, Elans blog postings are bringing the development process closer to the average user. There is a different interaction between de devs and users at the Plex Forums, it could be the “Apple culture”. The http://xbmc.org/devblogs/ blog are more technical ant less frequent.

While I don't run a blog (takes too much time away from coding), I take exception to the being classified as not being open and ignorant of the "Apple culture". I've been programming under the Apple OS for over 20 years and am well aware of the differences between Apple users and users of other OSs. I've always been open and friendly to any questions posted to the XBMC forums regarding XBMC for Mac and have helped many users get XBMC for Linux running on the AppleTV. I'm the one responsible for bringing XBMC for Mac to Apple users of Tiger (we care more about ALL Apple OS users not just 10.5 users) and if you run the current XBMC for Mac with a mediastream skin, guess what -- it looks and acts just like Plex, fancy that.

I find Elans blog posting devoid of any real information and more a cheerleading blog than anything else. You might not notice but he will ignore posts that he does not want to answer (centerstage status). Elans blog is aimed at just promotion of Plex and he will not respond unless it somehow promotes Plex.

If you want to talk open, just look at Plex git commits vs XBMC svn commits and Trac tickets. Many of Plex git commits are fixes/additions that originate from the XBMC svn tree. The XBMC svn commits are realtime (you see what we are doing), Plex git commits are only when a Plex binary is released (Plex devs hides what they are doing). Can one really build Plex from their git. I don't think it's possible. You can build XBMC for Mac from scratch from our svn tree because I'm making sure that anyone can do this.