Compiling a XBMC for Windows build - some clarifications?
Question 
After a problem with a recent build, I was directed to investigate the possibility of compiling a win32 build - (here)
http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=219...stcount=12

My primary use of this build is for skinning purposes (Not a win32 HTPC).

I have followed up on this - read the wiki article (here) http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=HOW-TO_compi...ss_Edition

But I do have some questions regrading this being a complete newbie with anything like this.

1. The article directs the SVN client to "https://xbmc.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/xbmc/branches/linuxport/XBMC" Is the direction to the Linuxport correct for a windoze build (Confusing)

2. - The directx SDK - Obviously a software install - but is it a program?? files for building? Not sure what it is / what is does.

3. - What is it this compile creates? Is it a single file XBMC_PC type exe, or is it a folder full of files like the XBox install. Not sure what I end up with and how to use it.

4. - Do you need any of the MSDN library stuff as shown on the VC++ Express D/L page? (Or just the VC++Express package?)

5. - The VC++ package seems to use the 3.5.net framework. I currently have V2. Will this 3.5 version mess with my system?

I appreciate the help. Thx muchly.
ZOTAC IONITX-D-E Intel Atom N330 Dual Core 1.6 GHz NVIDIA ION with LIVE on SSD (now updated to Nvidia Shield Pro (P2897)
1. Yes, that is correct. The linuxport branch is the main SDL branch, and runs on Linux, Mac OS X, and windows.

2. The win32 build uses DirectSound for audio output, thus the need for the directx sdk. It's essentially files for building.

3. It creates a full installable build. I personally run it direct from my SVN working directory (i.e. where I check out the source to), so all you need in this case is the exe. The build setup will quite happily package it all up for you, and create an installer for you if you wish.