[APPLE TV] XBMC for Mac (Atlantis Beta 1) on the Apple TV

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
type1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #91
davilla Wrote:ATVFlash is an AppleTV patchstick

XBMC for Mac is an application that runs on the AppleTV.

Two very different things so I don't understand your question. Wink

---Sorry- I should have been more specific...XBMC runs under NitoTV which is installed by ATVFlash - so I can just launch XBMC by uploading "XBMC_for_Mac-Atlantis-Beta_1.dmg" to
--see ATV_ATVFLASH_IMAGE- http://idisk.mac.com/nudada-Public?view=web

to the highlighted Applications folder in the posted image. Seems logical - but maybe a dense fog has rolled in...

Thanks for your responses-Phil
find quote
davilla Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,390
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #92
type1 Wrote:---Sorry- I should have been more specific...XBMC runs under NitoTV which is installed by ATVFlash - so I can just launch XBMC by uploading "XBMC_for_Mac-Atlantis-Beta_1.dmg" to
--see ATV_ATVFLASH_IMAGE- http://idisk.mac.com/nudada-Public?view=web

to the highlighted Applications folder in the posted image. Seems logical - but maybe a dense fog has rolled in...

Thanks for your responses-Phil

I guessing here that you want to know how to install XBMC for Mac on the AppleTV.

See the starting post;

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=37345&page=10


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
davilla Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,390
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #93
steve1977 Wrote:2) Can I also start XBMC directly from the main view instead of going through the subfolders of Nito?

3) Non-XBMC-related: can I hide all these folders such as Media (Sapphire)?

2) Dedicated AppleTV XBMC plugin is coming. It will have it's own menu entry

3) Don't understand "folders", you mean the other AppleTV menu items?


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
finik Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #94
Did anybody ahd success in running itunes plugin? I've copied it to the ~/Library/App../XBMC/plugin/music, but I don't know where I am expected to find this new "Import itunes library" option. I don't see anything that says plugins, and if I add a source there is nothing about iTunes except some DAAP or smth.

Thanks in advance
find quote
yzeyze Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #95
Thanks again Davilla for all your help on this foruum and geting this up and running.

For anyone wanting to have different keymappings for their remote while we wait for the next beta, see my post here http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=226...stcount=42 (this is an update to the previous one)
find quote
d4rk Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 499
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 1
Location: Albuquerque
Post: #96
finik Wrote:Did anybody ahd success in running itunes plugin? I've copied it to the ~/Library/App../XBMC/plugin/music, but I don't know where I am expected to find this new "Import itunes library" option. I don't see anything that says plugins, and if I add a source there is nothing about iTunes except some DAAP or smth.

Thanks in advance

It should be "~/Lib../App../XBMC/plugins/music" not "../plugin/music". If you're running Beta 1, it should have been preinstalled. Did the pre-installation fail? Anyhow, once installed correctly, you should see it under Music->Music Plugins.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Please read and follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
davilla Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,390
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #97
d4rk Wrote:It should be "~/Lib../App../XBMC/plugins/music" not "../plugin/music". If you're running Beta 1, it should have been preinstalled. Did the pre-installation fail? Anyhow, once installed correctly, you should see it under Music->Music Plugins.

AppleTV install so perl post-install script failed Sad


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
d4rk Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 499
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 1
Location: Albuquerque
Post: #98
davilla Wrote:AppleTV install so perl post-install script failed Sad

Ah right Sad

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Please read and follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
xeonicxpression Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 236
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #99
So I'm confused. Do I have to have a mac in order to get ssh and NitoTV installed on the appletv? Does that mean without a mac I can't get XBMC running on the AppleTV? I was going to go out and buy one today, but if that's the case then it would be pointless for me.

Edit: I noticed on the first post "A USB-creator for making a USB flash drive for installation of XBMC for Mac on the AppleTV". Will this let me use a windows pc to create the flash drive to install XBMC for mac on the Appletv?
(This post was last modified: 2008-09-30 22:37 by xeonicxpression.)
find quote
davilla Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,390
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #100
xeonicxpression Wrote:So I'm confused. Do I have to have a mac in order to get ssh and NitoTV installed on the appletv? Does that mean without a mac I can't get XBMC running on the AppleTV? I was going to go out and buy one today, but if that's the case then it would be pointless for me.

Edit: I noticed on the first post "A USB-creator for making a USB flash drive for installation of XBMC for Mac on the AppleTV". Will this let me use a windows pc to create the flash drive to install XBMC for mac on the Appletv?

Patience, atvusb-creator is very close but not quite there yet. You will NOT need a existing Mac OSX system as this "app" will run on OSX/Linux/Windows.


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
xeonicxpression Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 236
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #101
Sounds good. I'm no rush. I'll keep an eye out for the new app. I'm planning on using the AppleTV as a cheap testbed before building a full fledged htpc later on. I just need something for playing dvd's over the network for now. HD stuff will come later, since my current HT doesn't even have hdmi and I don't have enough storage left for it currently.
find quote
danblanchard Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #102
I can't seem to get it to run. When I start it through NitoTV it switches over to Finder and I see the Apple icon, but then it closes out and goes back to the AppleTV menu. It looks like some sort of weird permissions issues from the log file. I've pasted it all below. Anyone got any ideas?


Code:
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47067136  NOTICE: Mapping drive Z to /tmp/xbmc
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040  NOTICE: Mapping drive Q to /Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/Resources/XBMC
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040  NOTICE: Mapping drive U to /Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040  NOTICE: Mapping drive T to /Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/userdata
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040 WARNING: CreateDirectory, cant create dir </Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/scripts/My Scripts>. trying lower case.
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040 WARNING: CopyFile - cant write to dest file, trying to change mode </Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/userdata//RssFeeds.xml>
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040 WARNING: CopyFile - failed to change mode </Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/userdata//RssFeeds.xml>
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040 WARNING: CopyFile, cant open file </Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/Resources/XBMC/userdata/Lircmap.xml>. trying to use lowercase </applications/xbmc.app/contents/resources/xbmc/userdata/lircmap.xml>
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040   ERROR: CopyFile - cant open source file </Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/Resources/XBMC/userdata/Lircmap.xml>
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040 WARNING: CopyFile - cant write to dest file, trying to change mode </Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/userdata//LCD.xml>
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040 WARNING: CopyFile - failed to change mode </Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/userdata//LCD.xml>
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040  NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040  NOTICE: Starting XBMC, Platform: Mac OS X.  Built on Sep 16 2008
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040  NOTICE: Q is mapped to: /Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/Resources/XBMC
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040  NOTICE: The executable running is: /Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/MacOS/XBMC
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040  NOTICE: Log File is located: /Users/frontrow/Library/Logs/xbmc.log
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040  NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040  NOTICE: Setup SDL
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46850048    INFO: Available videomodes:
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46850048    INFO: Found mode: 1920x1080
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46850048    INFO: Found mode: 1280x1080
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46850048    INFO: Found mode: 1280x720
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46850048    INFO: Found mode: 1024x768
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46850048    INFO: Found mode: 1024x576
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46850048    INFO: Found mode: 800x600
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46850048    INFO: Found mode: 768x576
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46850048    INFO: Found mode: 720x576
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46850048    INFO: Found mode: 853x480
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46850048    INFO: Found mode: 720x480
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46850048    INFO: Found mode: 720x405
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46845952    INFO: Drives are mapped
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46845952  NOTICE: load settings...
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46845952  NOTICE: Mapping drive P to /Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/userdata
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46845952  NOTICE: loading /Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/userdata/guisettings.xml
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46845952   ERROR: Unable to load /Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/userdata/guisettings.xml, creating new /Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/userdata/guisettings.xml with default values
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46804992   ERROR: Unable to save settings to /Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/userdata/guisettings.xml
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46804992    INFO: Resetting settings
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46804992   DEBUG: request to delete file that does not exist: /Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/userdata/guisettings.xml
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46804992   ERROR: Unable to save settings to /Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/userdata/guisettings.xml
21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 46800896 WARNING: Emergency recovery console starting...
(This post was last modified: 2008-10-01 03:30 by danblanchard.)
find quote
davilla Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,390
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #103
danblanchard Wrote:I can't seem to get it to run. When I start it through NitoTV it switches over to Finder and I see the Apple icon, but then it closes out and goes back to the AppleTV menu. It looks like some sort of weird permissions issues from the log file. I've pasted it all below. Anyone got any ideas?

http://pastebin.com/ for the log next time, please.

Is OSBoot read only? It should not matter as

/Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC

maps to

Users -> ./mnt/Scratch/Users

which is the 4th partition "Media" and that is read/write.


Quote:21:11:43 T:2684407808 M: 47063040 WARNING: CreateDirectory, cant create dir </Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC/scripts/My Scripts>. trying lower case.

See if "/Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/XBMC" exists or not.


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
yzeyze Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #104
danblanchard Wrote:I can't seem to get it to run. When I start it through NitoTV it switches over to Finder and I see the Apple icon, but then it closes out and goes back to the AppleTV menu. It looks like some sort of weird permissions issues from the log file. I've pasted it all below. Anyone got any ideas?

This might be the same issue I was seeing (which will be fixed when the XBMC launcher is released).

Anyway, if it is the same, try this.

Got to NitoTV
Go to Settings
Go down to "Safe Display Release" and change off of 'Auto' to another resolution (for some reason 720P is not listed for me, but 480P or 1080i is available).
Turn "Safe Display Startup" Off.

Try XBMC again.
find quote
fenec Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #105
I have the same usue.

Start sbmc and shows apple logo. In the title bar shows XBMC but the mouse pointer disappears in a seconds and cant make anything.

When I changed in NitoTV the resolution off to 576i displays turn blue and AppleTV blink orange. No
The next is history.......I factory restarted my ATV and this night another time to improve....Nerd

Thanks
find quote
Post Reply