tvOS Million dollar question... VLC s/pdif works!! Kodi Not!
Hi, my title was a bit of a joke, but from what I'll write.. a little less. I have been using kodi for over 10 years, I took a two year break to try Plex Now, since I consumed a a mac book pro by dint of transcoding with Plex I decided to buy an Apple tv 4 HD and put the mac aside. After the arrival of the apple tv 4 I did everything necessary to install KODI and start streaming it from my nas. After a week of in-depth study on the possibility of Passthrough.. The study I refer to all the data on the network.. from your site and the rest of the world.. also in other languages, I bought new hdmi cables.. I bought a branded audio extractor.. I did dozens of tests.... but after all this, i find myself not being able to use my amp with a real Dolby Surround Ac3 and Dts sound via optical output. Yes the output passthrough passes me the audio but a mere pcm and if I activate the dolby or dts a mess of sound interferens happens. Now tired of testing and buying, I decided to install VLC for apple tv. To my immense amazement and regret, I am here to ask you, the creators of the aforementioned media center, why all this. I try VLC and in the movie menu I find that it has the option of passthrough through s/pdif. I activate it and incredible but true the sound in the amplifier becomes a real dolby Ac3 (like once), with all the speaker icons on, sure if I also select the dts… the dts icon doesn't turn on but the audio is a real dts. Here I am to ask you the question...

Why does VLC manage to pass the real dolby (ac3) and KODI notHuh what happens to your program? i tried kodi 17 18 19 20 but nothing. VLC YES!

Sorry for the long post but I am exhausted to find a solution..
To receive meaningful assistance you will need to provide a full debug log.

The instructions are here... debug log (wiki)

If you are using the Basic Method, then ensure the following is applied...