Setting Static IP without DHCP
I want to set up a static IP on my PC using XBMC Live. It won't let me, it greys out the options for any IP entering and I have disabled DHCP on my router as I have several PCs on my network.

Any ideas?
http://www.xbmc.org/forum/showthread.php...light=dhcp
Eeek! Thanks for the link, I'm a complete linux newb, I take it I can edit these files if I boot into Ubuntu and stick the USB key in?
Are you running xbmc off of the usb drive?
If so then you just need to boot into xbmc, get to a console (alt+f1), login (not sure the uname+pass, search in live forum) and edit those files.
Argh - can't get a console! I know I'm thick. I can boot right into XBMC past the 'select graphics card screen'. I press Alt+f1 an no console.

Thanks for all help so far!! I realise I'm thick!
To get into the console it should be ctrl +alt + fn ,
user:xbmc
pass:xbmc
you need to edit using
sudo nano /etc/network/interfaces
it will be a little harder with a wireless router, to get back into xbmc , press ctrl +alt +f7

good luck
redwest Wrote:To get into the console it should be ctrl +alt + fn ,
user:xbmc
pass:xbmc
you need to edit using
it will be a little harder with a wireless router, to get back into xbmc , press ctrl +alt +f7

good luck

oops , ctrl +alt +fn , n =number 1 to 6
couldn't find option to edit
Right, I'm in!!

it was SHIFT + ALT + F1 to get to the console.

I'm there now and i can edit the IP settings, but can't set the DNS settings.

My Static IP is, for example, 192.168.1.100
My subway thing is 255.255.255.0
My gateway is 192.168.1.1

I can do all these using:

But how do I set the Primary and Seconday DNS

And to add, once I change these settings and restart, they do not show in XBMC. The IP settings are still greyed out and cannot be altered. And they are all set to 0.0.0.0

Really struggling now!
kashoggi Wrote:Right, I'm in!!

it was SHIFT + ALT + F1 to get to the console.