• 1(current)
XBMControl - a compact remote XBMC controller app for Windows (Open Source C# .NET)
Thumbs Up 
Download the latest version => 0.4.7

Something I've wanted for a long time is a easy to use and compact remote controller for XBMC. I have XBMC running on my xbox and don't want to have to have the TV on all the time. The web interfaces are nice, but not as intuitive as I'd like them to be be. Also, I don't want to have a browser opened all the time. So the ideal application from my perspective would run in the system tray and would give effortless feedback about what's going on in XBMC without it taking up to much of my time and too much space on my Windows desktop.
I'm learning C++ and (I'm a PHP programmer) and to get to know the concept of writing non-web based applications a bit faster (aside of learning C++) I decided to start writing a remote controller for Windows in C#.

To be able to eliminate fundamental errors early it would be nice if you'd help testing. I think the app can already be of use (a little bit)
To be completely clear: THIS APPLICATION IS FAR FROM FEATURE COMPLETE AND CONTAINS BUGS!

Screenshots

XBMControl (Clicking the "Artist - Song") label shows the song details

Media Browser (Artist library in screenshot)

Configuration form

System tray and application context menu

Now Playing info

System tray volume control (middle mouse click)

Requirements

* Windows 2000/XP/Vista/2003 Server
* Download and install the required Microsoft .NET Framework Version 3.5, if not already installed.

Changelog

[0.4.2] - 06-10-2008
* Fixed a couple of bugs in the Media Browser
* Fixed error when running XBMControl at Windows startup
* Improved 'connected/disconnected' handling (still far from perfect)

[0.4.1] - 06-10-2008
* Completely revised the XBMC communication layer.
* Added basic database support
* Added playlist button
* (almost) Completely fixed playlist window losing focus
* Added "run at windows startup" feature again