[WINDOWS] HOW-TO setup Sony PS3 Bluetooth Remote Control to work with XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Al_MF Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #496
I'm having the same problem with Windows 8.1 64bits too..

Any help?
find quote
ruffpl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #497
Hi. I have pc in living room with win 7 and xbmc and want to buy used ps3 remote. I have an old bluetooth usb dongle ( this one https://www.google.dk/search?q=bluetooth...80&bih=927)
Did someone try is it going to work with it?
Ps. Do I need to configure something in xbmc to work ( some plugin), or is it going to work if it is installed and configured/bt paired in windows ( and xbmc autostart/ I dont want to have keyboard or mouse connected)?
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-14 13:23 by ruffpl.)
find quote
Daisuke1988 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #498
Does anyone know how I can add the power buttons on the app for key mapping? I'm talking about the new remote with Bluetooth and ir.
find quote
Daisuke1988 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #499
Okay, please ignore the last message. I got 2.1 going, when I start it I get a "unable to load remote" error. How do I fix this? Also, where do I find the ps3 remote bt address?
find quote
elecnewbie Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #500
I'd like to be able to start XBMC with the remote.. There is an application start that can be mapped.. how do I set XBMC as that application to start?
find quote
Rob1106 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #501
I have a Windows 8.1 X64 installation on a Zotac Zbox Nano AQ-01 with Bluetooth 4.0. Obviously XBMC is installed, I'm running the latest version.

Tried to pair up the PS3 remote through the bluetooth 'add devices' screen, but no luck. The remote doesn't show up in windows. I've tried everything, really frustrating. It just doesn't show in the list of bluetooth devices. Whenever I try another device like my Nexus 5 it shows up in a matter of seconds. So the bluetooth chip of the Zotac is working. PS3 also works just fine with the remote, so the remote isn't broken either. I have tried to connect by pressing the 'start' and 'enter' keys simultaneously a hundred times, but it just won't show up.

I hope someone can point me in the right direction, I love the PS3 remote and really hope I can get it to work with my mediacenter...
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-23 15:49 by Rob1106.)
find quote
Sim40 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #502
Thanks for the great little program.. I have only one problem - I cannot map the volume key of the remote to the volume of my PC.

I see on the right side the volume control, but on the left side, where the remote buttons are volume and mute buttons are missing... Is there any way to fix that?

Thank you in advance
find quote
alexp4re Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #503
hi guys. my blue, red, green & yellow buttons no longer works. no activity with key press. also, the hotkey for shortcut to open xbmc will no longer work even with a new hotkey. any fix or insights? thanx.

win 7 x64, xbmc 13.2 gotham, v2.2

EDIT: hotkey to open xbmc works now. i didn't do anything diff.
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-18 08:29 by alexp4re.)
find quote
Post Reply