Can I make my own custom categories in the home menu?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
appel79 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Question  Can I make my own custom categories in the home menu?
Post: #1
Hi

Is their a way to make my own folders on the startup screen in Mediastream?
I dont whants to mix may movielibary whit my kids movie.

Look at my pic and you maby understand what i meaning.

I know that i can go under movies and find it, but i whants it easy.


[Image: mediastreamcc4.jpg]
find quote
Player4 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I'm really interested in this, too. I have a collection of Formula One Races from the beginning of the 90s and I would really like them to show up in XBMC.

So far I managed to rename the "Videos" Entry but that's not exactly what i want. It would be awesome if someone could show how to

- create a new entry in the home menu
- link this entry to a specific folder

Thx!
find quote
migueld Offline
Fan
Posts: 361
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #3
Yes this would be very useful. I'd add a "Music Videos" section to mine...

And a "Podcasts"

Smile
find quote
dinsley Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I'm also interested in this. Smile
find quote
quebert Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 295
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
me 5th, would be awesome to be able to add a custom catagory and tell it what kind of content would be in it. As already mentioned a Music Videos one would be perfect for my setup. If this is do-able and wouldn't be a huge undertaking I would love to see a future release of MediaStream have this Big Grin
find quote
kbrookes Offline
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I'd like to setup a 'New Shows' category that would show my most recently added shows.
find quote
skunkm0nkee Offline
Team Razorfish
Posts: 1,886
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: London
Post: #7
It's one of the things we are hoping to implement soon Nod
find quote
kbrookes Offline
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
That'll be awesome - in the meantime, is there any way to do it in the xml file?
find quote
skunkm0nkee Offline
Team Razorfish
Posts: 1,886
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: London
Post: #9
There is but it's not simple
find quote
kbrookes Offline
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Fair enough - those variables had me stumped.
find quote
TheBurner Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: California
Post: #11
Looking forward to easy addition of home items. This could be perfect for non scrapeable items such as UFC etc...
find quote
Player4 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
I know how to add an item to my home menu, i guess ...
Isn't there any simple way to:

onlick go to D:\Folder\ ?

Thx!
find quote
Player4 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Ok, if anyone just wants to rename their "Watch your Videos" Button and open a specific folder on click, here's what to do:

WARNING: THIS WILL REPLACE YOUR CURRENT VIDEOS HOME ENTRY WITH A CUSTOM ONE!

Go to C:\Program Files\XBMC\Skin\MediaStream\720p and open Home.xml
In line 1359-1365 you'll find:
Code:
<item id="1">
<description>My Videos Button</description>
<label> $LOCALIZE[31001] </label>
<label2> $LOCALIZE[31011] </label2>
<visible>!Skin.HasSetting(HideVideos)</visible>
<onclick>XBMC.ActivateWindow(24)</onclick>
</item>
change this to
Code:
<item id="1">
<description>My Videos Button</description>
<label>F1 Races</label>
<label2>Watch Your</label2>
<visible>!Skin.HasSetting(HideVideos)</visible>
<onclick>XBMC.ActivateWindow(24)</onclick>
</item>
Replace "F1 Races" with whatever suits your needs.

Then, in C:\Documents and Settings\YOURUSERNAME\Application Data\XBMC\userdata\sources.xml

under
Code:
<video>
        <default></default>
add the NAME of the source you'll want to be displayed on click.

In my case, this will look like this
Code:
<video>
        <default>F1</default>
because i added D:\F1\ inside XBMC and used "F1" as the source name.

Here ya go.
(This post was last modified: 2008-10-08 20:36 by Player4.)
find quote
Player4 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Result:
[Image: screenshot004jp3.jpg]
find quote
quebert Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 295
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
TheBurner Wrote:Looking forward to easy addition of home items. This could be perfect for non scrapeable items such as UFC etc...

exactly! I have about 40 UFC PPV's I've encoded and imported to XBMC, having no scraper for them blows. But it would be easier and kind of cool to see a "UFC" or "PPV" menu option.
find quote
Post Reply