Linux - HOW-TO make XBMC for Linux auto start on Ubuntu

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
kernel Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
A little off-topic, but it would be cool to be able to switch back and forth between XBMC and MythTV.
find quote
Chaos_666 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 11
Location: Germany
Post: #32
Hi there
@twood
Did some research about our problem.
Editing /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf

<match user="root|twood">
<return result="yes"/>
</match>

insert the red colored username (here i.e. twood) and do not forget the | (pipe).

Finally my shutdown worked after that on intrepid
But be aware:
This is a dirty hack, as what i understand the user gets somehow more rights and this is not the linux way a system should be configured.

So i will do some more research, if i find more time for this.

Maybe someone that is more skilled with this will tell me what i have to inclue into the conf, so only shutdown suspend rstart and/or hibernate is allowed.

THX
Chaos
find quote
twood Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
Thanks for your efforts, I had quit from trying....
find quote
ringgh0st Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Jan 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #34
lovely! would like to get this thread sticky Wink

-= XBMC Lover © 2006 =-
---------------------------------------
XBMC @ Lenovo Q180, harmony one, Sony Bravia KDL-55W905, Marantz SR5006, MySQL XBMC Database @ Synology DS-409+ (thx Firnsy)
XBMC @ Lenovo Q150 and a Panasonic Plasma for bedrooming ;)
find quote
Kryspy Offline
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
Okay so I am accessing my XBMC HTPC vis Ultravnc on my XP box.

If I run it as an appliance can I still drop back to a GUI and access it by UltraVNC to make changes, upgrades etc ?

Kryspy
find quote
Kryspy Offline
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #36
<cough>
find quote
FoolsRun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
Why not just set a limited user to auto login and then go to System/Preferences/Sessions, click "Add" and enter xbmc's start command?

Works for me. XBMC autostarts every time.
find quote
Kryspy Offline
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
FoolsRun,

That's how I have it set up now. Thanks. I was just curious if there was a way to save some CPU overhead and not load a GDM but still invoke it via a VNC connection if need be.

Kryspy
find quote
frostwork Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
i currently use a full black "openbox" as wm and
"slim" to autologin my mediauser
(i know a loginmanager isn't required, but slim is somewhat lightweight
and i like it as it is).
with devilspie also working in openbox i also can launch apps from
xbmc without any problems.
find quote
Kryspy Offline
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
frostwork ,

Care to expand on that ?

Kryspy
find quote
pike Offline
Project Manager
Posts: 4,835
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 29
Location: Sweden
Post: #41
how do you keep the system uptodate (like the updatemanager does auto in Gnome) with this method ?

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
frostwork Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
Kryspy,

no i don't care.
first of all i use gentoo for this, not ubuntu. i hope this is no problem.

The light-weight windowmanager i use is called openbox and can be found here:
http://icculus.org/openbox/
in order to get a black background i changed
BG to "#000000" in
$HOME/.config/openbox/autostart.sh
( you could also change this in /etc/xdg/openbox/autostart.sh)

The tiny loginmanager "slim" can be found here:
http://slim.berlios.de
I use version 1.3.1
You can set autologin for a user in the configfile /etc/slim.conf

To launch applications from within xbmc i use Leo2's great Launcher plugin
which you can find here:
http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-launcher/

as I had some issues with launching many applications in fullscreenmode,
as xbmc doesn't free input controls, and the app therefore launches
windowed (at least i think that this is related)
i also installed "devilspie-0.22"
(http://www.burtonini.com/blog/computers/devilspie).
how i set this up to work is explained here:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=242...tcount=165

openbox can be internally (means without using devilspie) configured
to launch every single (or just some selected) in fullscreen and
without window-decorations, but this doesn't work for apps launched in xbmc
(or at least i haven't found out how).
find quote
sexus6 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #43
I follow this howto, step by step, but something is wrong for me.

When ubuntu finalize start process, there is a text terminal screen login, that says:

xbmc login: (Automatic login).

I can't type any letter, and session doesn't seems to start, and xbmc doesn't start.

But, If I use CONTROL+ALT+2, to open another terminal session, the login let me to type user and pass. I use my user and pass, and then, from this 2ยบ session, x mode starts and then xbmc.

What's the problem here?

(Sorry for my poor english).
find quote
frostwork Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
sexus6,
if you mean with howto my above list, then you might have not configured
slim correctly.
check if you have set in /etc/slim.conf (or wherever it is under ubuntu)
sessions openbox
the script uses, as you can see in the login_cmd at the beginning,
exec /bin/bash -login /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc
and /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc
checks either $HOME/.xinitrc or the systemdefault /etc/X11/chooser.sh
then etc/X11/chooser.sh searches in
/etc/conf.d/basic or /etc/rc.conf
so you might have set
XSESSION="openbox"
in one of them.

again, i have no idea how different this is between gentoo and ubuntu.
so if this is too confusing, i'm sorry that i posted in a ubuntu thread.
find quote
cejstrup Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #45
pike Wrote:how do you keep the system uptodate (like the updatemanager does auto in Gnome) with this method ?

Just make a cron job with the commands :

apt-get update && apt-get upgrade Cool
find quote
Post Reply