Jittery Video?

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
MonkeyRoach Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
I have this same problem,I have a tv that has vga and it get 60hz.i notice the jerking in xbmc but i also notice it in other players.
find quote
amerrykan Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #32
Maybe not the same thing, but I get jittery playback (obscene video stuttering) the longer my machine is running. A reboot resolves it. In fact, I don't even need to have XBMC running the whole time -- just the fact that the machine is on for a day or so will cause XBMC's playback to stutter.

I can exit XBMC when it is behaving like this, and play the same video with MPC or other players with no problem.

I'm installing Beta 2 right now -- what information can I collect to submit a useful bug?
find quote
ashlar Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,110
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 27
Post: #33
mdaria510 Wrote:24fps a bit trickier but there a *very* standard way to do this which has been in place for decades.
For people that might not know this, to display 24 fps material on 60Hz screens, even frames are displayed twice, odd frames are displayed three times. (12x2)+(12x3)=60.
find quote
sensei73 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
I tried XBMC on my Mac Intel, No judders at all even a 60Hz back in Windows same movie, same scene and lot of judders.
find quote
ashlar Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,110
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 27
Post: #35
sensei73 Wrote:I tried XBMC on my Mac Intel, No judders at all even a 60Hz back in Windows same movie, same scene and lot of judders.
Can anyone try the Live or full blown Linux version? I tried Live but the custom refresh rates do not get recognized by XBMC and I would rather avoid going the Linux way just for this.
find quote
daveUK Offline
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #36
I have XBMC on three windows set ups and can confirm this is a problem on one of my set ups.

1. DVI -> HDMI on a 720p LCD - not noticed any jitter (5000+ X2 AMD)

2. VGA on a 22 inch monitor - not noticed any jitter (4200+ X2 AMD)

3. TV-Out to component on a 720p LCD, quite noticeable jitter (1.8 Celeron Laptop Intel 965M gfx)
find quote
ashlar Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,110
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 27
Post: #37
daveUK Wrote:I have XBMC on three windows set ups and can confirm this is a problem on one of my set ups.

1. DVI -> HDMI on a 720p LCD - not noticed any jitter (5000+ X2 AMD)

2. VGA on a 22 inch monitor - not noticed any jitter (4200+ X2 AMD)

3. TV-Out to component on a 720p LCD, quite noticeable jitter (1.8 Celeron Laptop Intel 965M gfx)
You failed to mention refresh rates and fps of material played.
find quote
daveUK Offline
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
ashlar Wrote:You failed to mention refresh rates and fps of material played.

sorry, on the laptop the refresh rate is 60hz the videos concerned are 23.976fps. This happens on standard def xvids and 720p mkvs. The now playing info button doesn't report any dropped frames.
find quote
tslayer Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,557
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 12
Post: #39
Can folks try the recompiled ffmpeg libs that WiSo just built:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=38726

42.7% of all statistics are made up on the spot

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Andydigital Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
The new files are worse for me, its dropping frames like there is no tomorrow, something like 5+ a second, this is an SD 25fps mpeg recorded from digital TV in the UK.

I also noticed that even with the original beta 2 files even footage that was 25fps from UK digital television was not playing back smoothly even with the refresh rate at 50hz Sad

XP SP3, Q6700@3.2Ghz, 4Gb Ram, ATI HD4870.
(This post was last modified: 2008-10-09 19:29 by Andydigital.)
find quote
tslayer Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,557
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 12
Post: #41
I suggest you possibly provide a sample for WiSo to look at.

42.7% of all statistics are made up on the spot

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Andydigital Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
It plays back perfectly fine on the XBOX. It's just an Mpeg 2.
find quote
tslayer Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,557
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 12
Post: #43
That does not help. Provide a sample.

And you barely provided any details. Check your upscaling options. Debug log?

Anything relevant.

42.7% of all statistics are made up on the spot

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Andydigital Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
Actually the Mpeg was broken, after running it through VideoReDo to fix the stream it played normally and appears to be smoother, sorry to confuse things No
find quote
tslayer Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,557
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 12
Post: #45
Glad to hear it Smile

42.7% of all statistics are made up on the spot

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Post Reply