Duplicate entries in Library Mode (video)

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
cesarvog Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

One of my series show duplicate entries for each episode in Library Mode.
How can I get rid of duplicates?

Thanks for your help.

Cheers,
Cesar/Brazil
find quote
KidKiwi Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 800
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I had the same thing recently using nfo files - which surprised me. It only did it with one show (even though I was messing with others).

I ended up turning on "Stack duplicate shows" in the gui and that hid them - although they are still present as doubles in the dB. JM made a comment in another thread about the possibility of a funky multi-path. As I recently upgraded to Beta1 from a version almost a year old (and still used my original dB) I'm sure there could be issues. I plan to rebuild the dB from scratch once the final release is in.

Hope this helps.

ZOTAC IONITX-D-E Intel Atom N330 Dual Core 1.6 GHz NVIDIA ION with LIVE on SSD
find quote
cesarvog Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks for your suggestion. I tried playing with several options and eventually found an option to clean database and that took care of the duplicates.

Best regards
find quote
Ixzat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Sorry to hijack this thread, but since i´m having the same problem i thought it would a bad idea to start another one.

I have downloaded my database file to my computer and looking through it i found that one of my tv shows that is duplicated in xbmc is in fact on 2 seperate records in the database file in the Views/tvshowview table with different paths. How can i remove one of them? The show is True blood.

[Image: sqliteproblem1.png]
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 25,689
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 169
Post: #5
1. Go through the episodes table and the link tables that link to tvshows, and update those that link to tvshow id 21 to tvshow id 17. eg:

update tvshowlinkepisode set idShow=17 where idShow=21

2. Once done, remove the row from the tvshow table:

delete from tvshowlinkepisode where idShow=21

3. Remove the entry you've blanked out from the path table.

Cheers,
Jonathan

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
KidKiwi Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 800
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I made a post about this issue above. I recently found out the duplicate was caused by a number in the file name (since updated in the SVN).

See here

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...ght=number

ZOTAC IONITX-D-E Intel Atom N330 Dual Core 1.6 GHz NVIDIA ION with LIVE on SSD
find quote
Ixzat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
jmarshall Wrote:1. Go through the episodes table and the link tables that link to tvshows, and update those that link to tvshow id 21 to tvshow id 17. eg:

update tvshowlinkepisode set idShow=17 where idShow=21

2. Once done, remove the row from the tvshow table:

delete from tvshowlinkepisode where idShow=21

3. Remove the entry you've blanked out from the path table.

Cheers,
Jonathan

Just wanted to say thank you, i havent had time to fix this untill now, but nowi´m more than satisfied. Thank you for the quick answer!
find quote
bbos Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Wink   
Post: #8
I had duplicates from importing exported libraries. I removed them with:

prefs / Video / Clean Library ...
find quote
bouligny Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Just a note of warning, I had the same duplicate issue and the clean library tool worked great to rid my library of duplicate entries, but I did lose all my watched show information. Less of a problem than the duplicates, though. You can't have everything...
find quote
natethegreat14 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
(2011-08-27 01:25)bouligny Wrote:  Just a note of warning, I had the same duplicate issue and the clean library tool worked great to rid my library of duplicate entries, but I did lose all my watched show information. Less of a problem than the duplicates, though. You can't have everything...

I would much rather have duplicates than lose my watched episodes.
find quote