Home Automation Control GUI interface in XBMC with API - Dimming the Lights and such?
Lightbulb 
I've been reading through the XBMC home automation threads, and see that there have been some really interesting ideas. My desired feature is less ambitious than others. I would like my lights (which could either been insteon or z-wave) to dim when I start playing a movie and to fade back up when I stop. It would be fantastic if one of the guys on the developer team had time for this, but I've also been browsing through Trac and I see that this project has a lot of other (and much more pressing) needs.

I'm a developer. I love Java and ruby. I've done professional web development (although that's not likely helpful here other than the mindset) and I'd like to work on this. I just need a push in the right direction.

I see that XBMC has an HTML api and a broadcast service. Would it be wise for me to utilize those services? This doesn't seem to be a Python script, because I don't want to have to launch a script to turn down the lights. It also doesn't seem to be a plugin. I'm leery of diving head first into the source code of a huge project in a language I can (with work and google) decipher, but not necessarily understand.

I'm looking to develop under Linux (where I'm most comfortable), but I have a machine dedicated to each of the other major operating systems.

Any pushes in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.
Hi! I have a patch sitting that will enable our builtin EventServer to broadcast stuff (mainly usable for truly plug n play remotes) and it will feature Broadcasting of playback start, stop, pause and anything usefull really.
Currently were in a feature freeze so in atlantis+1 (or svn in a month or so) Ill add it.

From what I know you should be able to use the webserver for this aswell but the EventServer will probably make it easier for you programming wise (EventServer is a UDP server so less overhead/parsing than with http and TCP/IP)