Help! How do I get my movies to show up?
Hi,

I have installed XBMC on my Apple TV - but I have no idea how to use it. I have tried looking at the online manual but that thing is just as confusing as hell! None of it makes any sense to me!

All I want to do is watch some movies.

I have an iMac and it has some movies in the following directory: Macintosh HD/Users/byron/Movies. How do I link to this directory on my iMac so that my movies show up in XBMC under Videos.

Thanks in advance.
too bad if it does not make sense.
we don't spoon feed around here, at least not on my watch.
Thanks for that - most illuminating!

I have looked at 'Macintosh (Apple Mac OS X) Sharing Alternatives' in the OLM but I don't know what SMB, UPnP, XBMS or iTunes (DAPP) are; which to use; or how to set them up.

That's why i posted the question if the first place - because I am feeling totally overwhelmed.

I am a grumpy bastard photographer not a grumpy bastard developer!
see, now you're actually asking a question, not just whining.

we do not support osx shares, there may be some support on the ATV system level, but there i cannot help you. you need to use windows shares from osx to set them up directly in xbmc. this is what is known as SMB shares.
spiff Wrote:see, now you're actually asking a question, not just whining.

we do not support osx shares, there may be some support on the ATV system level, but there i cannot help you. you need to use windows shares from osx to set them up directly in xbmc. this is what is known as SMB shares.

Ok - so let me get this straight, as i am completely new to this. You can install XBMC on your Apple TV (as I have done) but you cant access any of the media that is on your Mac (as it is not possible to stream media from a Mac to the Apple TV and have it played by XBMC). So i might be missing the point here - but what is the point in installing XBMC on my Apple TVHuh

More confused than ever!