Ubuntu 8.10 +780G ATI HD3200 screen messed up

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,316
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #31
kowalski Wrote:indy5:
"Just for the hell of it, I launched xbmc with "sudo xbmc" instead of "xbmc""
Perhaps by running XBMC as root you're skipping all the settings saved in your ordinary user's home folder (/home/(youruser)/.xbmc). Please report if you can achieve the same result by removing /home/(youruser)/.xbmc folder and running XBMC non-root (but don't forget to back it up; or better just rename it to any other name instead of removing). I'm @work now, so I can't test it by myself.

Now I tried running with sudo xbmc, and I got my sources in my /home/username/.xbmc
so I guess sudo xbmc doesnt skip that dir?

/Söder
find quote
kowalski Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Russia
Post: #32
soder Wrote:But will not xbmc be runned in a NON 720p then? And then not correct ratio? And therefore unnecessary scales?
No, XBMC still runs @720p. There are no scaling; the screen area below line 720 (that is, from 720 to 1440) just remains invisible. Aspect ratio is correct.
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,316
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #33
kowalski Wrote:No, XBMC still runs @720p. There are no scaling; the screen area below line 720 (that is, from 720 to 1440) just remains invisible. Aspect ratio is correct.

OK, I still dont really understand what that Vertical does, but you mean thats all I have to do?

/Söder
find quote
kowalski Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Russia
Post: #34
soder Wrote:OK, I still dont really understand what that Vertical does,

Nor do I understand why it works at all )

soder Wrote:but you mean thats all I have to do?

Not quite sure, but why not to try?
You may also need to use "Option "EnableMonitor" "nocrt1,tmds2i".
And (as always) check /etc/ati/amdpcsdb Smile
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,316
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #35
kowalski Wrote:Nor do I understand why it works at all )



Not quite sure, but why not to try?
You may also need to use "Option "EnableMonitor" "nocrt1,tmds2i".
And (as always) check /etc/ati/amdpcsdb Smile

Hmm, but, what shall I check /etc/ati/amdpcsdb for?

Will try this tonight.

/Söder
find quote
kowalski Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Russia
Post: #36
soder Wrote:Hmm, but, what shall I check /etc/ati/amdpcsdb for?

You have to check that Xorg.conf settings mentioned above aren't overridden by the similarly named keys in amdpcsdb file.
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,316
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #37
kowalski Wrote:You have to check that Xorg.conf settings mentioned above aren't overridden by the similarly named keys in amdpcsdb file.

This is my xorg.conf

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
        Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load  "glx"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
        Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option      "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        Option      "EnableMonitor" "crt1,lvds,tv,tmds1,crt2,tmds2,cv,tmds2i"
        BusID       "PCI:1:5:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
        Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
        Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
        EndSubSection
EndSection

And this is my amdpcsdb file

Code:
AMDPCSDBV1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/MCIL]
PXACAutoSwitch=V0
PXDCAutoSwitch=V0
CVRULE_CUSTOMIZEDMODESENABLED=V1
DALLinuxSupport=V1
DALNonStandardModesBCD=R14001050000000601792134400000060180014400000006018561392​00000060160012000000006012800768000000601440090000000060128009600000006016801050​00000060
DALRULE_ADDNATIVEMODESTOMODETABLE=V1
DALRULE_ALLOWMONITORRANGELIMITMODESCRT=V0
DALRULE_DYNAMICMODESUPPORT=V1
DALRULE_GetLCDFakeEDID=V1
DALRULE_GetTVFakeEDID=V1
DALRULE_NOFORCEBOOT=V1
DALRULE_POWERPLAYDISREGARDDISPLAY=V1
DALRULE_RESTRICTDISPLAYSBASEDONPANELRES=V0
GCORULE_FlickerWA=V1
GCORULE_LCDValidatePixelClkOnly=V1
GXOM5XDisableLaneSwitch=V1
R6LCD_RETURNALLBIOSMODES=V1
TVEnableOverscan=V1
UvdEnabled=V1
DigitalHDTVDefaultUnderscan=V0
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-791E-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7941-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-796E-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9610-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9611-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9614-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7124-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7105-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-710f-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-712e-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-712f-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-710e-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7125-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7104-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-940b-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-940a-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-940f-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9447-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7152-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7172-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7173-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7153-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-71d2-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-71f2-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-71fa-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-71da-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-728c-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-72ac-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-95cc-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-958d-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-958c-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9511-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-949c-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-949f-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-949e-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9444-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9446-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9456-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-71bb-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-719b-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-95cd-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-95ce-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-95cf-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-3151-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9452-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9519-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/DDX]
OGLFMTA2R10G10B10Enable=V0
EnableRandR12=SFALSE
MultiviewXineramaNo3D=V1
EnableMonitor=Scrt1,lvds,tv,tmds1,crt2,tmds2,cv,tmds2i
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/DDX/RECENTMODE/SCREEN00]
Width=V1280
Height=V720
Refresh=V60
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/BUSID-1:5:0-0/MCIL]
DAL_ACEspectReady=V0
DALLastSelected=V2
DALLastConnected=V2
DALLastTypes=V129
DALObjectData0=R0100000001000000000000000100000001000000000000000100000001000000​00000000010000000100000000000000010000000200000000000000010000000200000000000000​03000000020000000100000003000000020000000100000001000000010000000000000001000000​01000000000000000100000001000000000000000000000000000000000000000100000002000000​00000000000000000000000000000000010000000200000000000000020000000000000001000000​
DALSelectObjectData0=R0100000001000000000000000100000001000000000000000100000001​00000000000000010000000100000000000000010000000200000000000000010000000200000000​00000003000000020000000100000003000000020000000100000001000000010000000000000001​00000001000000000000000100000001000000000000000000000000000000000000000100000002​00000000000000000000000000000000000000010000000200000000000000020000000000000001​000000
DALCurrentObjectData=R010000000200000000000000000000000000000000000000
DALR6 DFPI 2_MaxModeInfo=R000000008007000038040000000000003C000000
DAL_DFP2ColorTemperatureSourceA934A081=R0000000064190000
AsicOnLowPower=V0
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/BUSID-1:5:0-0/DDX]
Centermode=Son
GammaCorrectionI=S0x06419064
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/BUSID-1:5:0-0/LibXUtil/Display1]
Map=V128
Enable=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/BUSID-1:5:0-0/LDC]
LinkedAllSliders=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/LibXUtil/Display1]
Map=V128
Enable=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/LDC]
LastViewedPage=SDisplay Manager
LastSelectedDevice=S296:38416:4098:53248:5208|1
HelpDisabled=V0
DP_MSG_FLAG=V0

Shall the name be exact the same, or what shall I look for?

/Söder
find quote
kowalski Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Russia
Post: #38
soder Wrote:Shall the name be exact the same, or what shall I look for?

Code:
(... skipped ...)

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
        Driver      "fglrx"
[b]#  comment out:
#      Option      "EnableMonitor" "crt1,lvds,tv,tmds1,crt2,tmds2,cv,tmds2i"
#  add:
        Option      "EnableMonitor" "nocrt1,tmds2i"
        Option      "DisplaySetup" "vertical"
[/b]        BusID       "PCI:1:5:0"
EndSection

(... skipped ...)

And this is corresponding amdpcsdb file fragment

Code:
(... skipped ...)

[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/DDX]
OGLFMTA2R10G10B10Enable=V0
EnableRandR12=SFALSE
MultiviewXineramaNo3D=V1
[b]
EnableMonitor=Snocrt1,tmds2i
DisplaySetup=Svertical
[/b]
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/DDX/RECENTMODE/SCREEN00]
Width=V1280
Height=V720
Refresh=V60
(... skipped ...)
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,316
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #39
kowalski Wrote:
Code:
(... skipped ...)

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
        Driver      "fglrx"
[b]#  comment out:
#      Option      "EnableMonitor" "crt1,lvds,tv,tmds1,crt2,tmds2,cv,tmds2i"
#  add:
        Option      "EnableMonitor" "nocrt1,tmds2i"
        Option      "DisplaySetup" "vertical"
[/b]        BusID       "PCI:1:5:0"
EndSection

(... skipped ...)

And this is corresponding amdpcsdb file fragment

Code:
(... skipped ...)

[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/DDX]
OGLFMTA2R10G10B10Enable=V0
EnableRandR12=SFALSE
MultiviewXineramaNo3D=V1
[b]
EnableMonitor=Snocrt1,tmds2i
DisplaySetup=Svertical
[/b]
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/DDX/RECENTMODE/SCREEN00]
Width=V1280
Height=V720
Refresh=V60
(... skipped ...)

So I shall disable the line

Option "EnableMonitor" "crt1,lvds,tv,tmds1,crt2,tmds2,cv,tmds2i"

add these lines
Option "EnableMonitor" "nocrt1,tmds2i"
Option "DisplaySetup" "vertical"

and in the ati-file I shall add what you wrote?

/Söder
find quote
kowalski Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Russia
Post: #40
Yeah.
"and in the ati-file I shall add what you wrote?"
add OR replace.
(This post was last modified: 2008-11-05 22:57 by kowalski.)
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,316
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #41
kowalski Wrote:Yeah.
"and in the ati-file I shall add what you wrote?"
add OR replace.

I now use that options, and I can still not use full screen when starting with 1. the icon 2. ./xbox.bin 3. xbmc
Only "sudu xbmc" works

/Söder
find quote
indy5 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
It does seem that running sudo xbmc causes some other issues, like not being able to use the ~/.xbmc/userdata folder. This has a big impact on Keymap.xml and Lircmap.xml.

Does anyone have any idea what the connection may be to the screen corruption in full screen mode to running as root vs running with a normal user account?
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,316
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #43
indy5 Wrote:It does seem that running sudo xbmc causes some other issues, like not being able to use the ~/.xbmc/userdata folder. This has a big impact on Keymap.xml and Lircmap.xml.

Does anyone have any idea what the connection may be to the screen corruption in full screen mode to running as root vs running with a normal user account?

But I have all my skins in~/.xbmc/skin, and my sources and advancedsettings in ~/.xbmc/userdata, and I have no problem having other scripts and I have access to all my sources.

/Söder
find quote
indy5 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
I just completely ripped out my self-compiled installation and installed from the Intrepid PPA. It seems that my userdata folder is now /usr/share/xbmc. This is where my skins were installed, etc. Regardless, I still get the messed up full screen display.
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,316
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #45
I now runned "top" and this is what I saw
:

5811 htpc 20 0 28976 4596 3532 S 1 0.3 0:15.00 pulseaudio


Ive read here, that this is something I shall disable?

I also disable the compiz-thing I believe...

And one more thing.
Now, running with sudo or what, I believe my xbmc is more slow? Ive installed the same way, same skin, same backdrops, same computer. Only its Ubuntu 8.10, and running on DVI-HDMI instead of VGA and Ubuntu 8.04 with ATI 8.9.

And I also believe I got tearings now, something I didnt have when using settings always on in ATI control settings in Ubuntu 8.04 ATI 8.9. Now I also have the always on in ATI controll setting...

/Söder
/Söder
(This post was last modified: 2008-11-06 11:16 by soder.)
find quote
Post Reply