Ubuntu 8.10 +780G ATI HD3200 screen messed up

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
mavgink Offline
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
soder Wrote:I person in this tread http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?p=2...post239330 also helped me with my underscan. Havnt tryied it though..

/Söder

that's the command I used.... but I gave up... guess I used windows for too long... Linux doesnt feel right for me... so. I'm installed vista and XBMC again and I'm gonna wait until the windows version of boxee is released...
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,316
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #17
hotzenpl0tz Wrote:Pretty sure the script also works with 720p - if you change the resolution accordingly.
About the 100% issue: no idea, I changed primary PCs recently and haven't gotten around setting up the old one in my living room for htpc purposes yet. The tearing issues with the ATI card drove me crazy and led me to install XP on a second partition for the time being (hopefully this all will be solved end of this year with the xorg advancements and ati driver advancements). Maybe I'll get the chance to play around this weekend.

This happens when I use your script.

Try to Set positionX adjust of monitor tmds2i value : 0 failed.
It may not supported by monitor or the value beyond the range.
Try to Set positionY adjust of monitor tmds2i value : 0 failed.
It may not supported by monitor or the value beyond the range.
Try to Set sizeX adjust of monitor tmds2i value : 1280 failed.
It may not supported by monitor or the value beyond the range.
Try to Set sizeY adjust of monitor tmds2i value : 720 failed.
It may not supported by monitor or the value beyond the range.

/Söder
find quote
Clumsy Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 641
Joined: Feb 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Strange, works for me - maybe you need the DPMS option on xorg.conf ?

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "SEC"
ModelName "4241"
Option "DPMS"
EndSection
find quote
ikus060 Offline
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
Possible that it's not related, but I have a ThinkPad T43 (with a X300 Radeon mobility). I get a similar result when I activate the VGA output. I digg a bit and I figure out that changin my screen resolution solve the problem. (e.g. change it to 1024x768 and than change it again to the resolution you want).

I hope that it's help you.

The problem wasn't related to XBMC.
find quote
indy5 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Have others been experiencing this problem of garbled graphics in full screen mode? At this point in time, is the only workaround/solution, to go back to Ubuntu 8.04 and use the Catalyst 8.9 drivers? It seems it's only a problem with Catalyst 8.10, whether you are using Hardy or Intrepid.
find quote
Andrewishy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
Hi
I'm having the same issue
when i go to full screen its just a mess, using latest ubuntu 8.10 and ATI graphics driver (this fixes the bad video playback)
pressing \ i can switch between full screen (not working) and window'ed (working fine)
can someone please explain what is actually happening?
Thanks
find quote
kowalski Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Russia
Post: #22
2ALL: Shall I repeat my previous post? Or you need more detailed explanation?
find quote
Andrewishy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
the
Option "DesktopSetup" "vertical"
did not solve my problem, still cannot get full screen to work
find quote
kowalski Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Russia
Post: #24
Andrewishy: Strange. It works for me. Perhaps we should compare our configuration files and check your Xorg logs?
2ALL: When you're modifying Xorg.conf, don't forget to check out /etc/ati/amdpcsdb file.
Settings specified in that file take precedence over Xorg.conf ones. Seems that nobody here knows about it.
find quote
Andrewishy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
thanks
I'm using 2 monitors, as my tv is the other side of the room and although its a 42" LG 1080p connected via HDMI i cannot read all the text so i have a 19" LCD plugged in to the VGA of the PC at the back of the room.
The resolution is set to 1920x1080 (full screen on the TV and the LCD moves around it (all this was automatically setup using the hardware drivers in ubuntu

The following is my amdpcsdb file

AMDPCSDBV1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/MCIL]
PXACAutoSwitch=V0
PXDCAutoSwitch=V0
CVRULE_CUSTOMIZEDMODESENABLED=V1
DALLinuxSupport=V1
DALNonStandardModesBCD=R14001050000000601792134400000060180014400000006018561392​00000060160012000000006012800768000000601440090000000060128009600000006016801050​00000060
DALRULE_ADDNATIVEMODESTOMODETABLE=V1
DALRULE_ALLOWMONITORRANGELIMITMODESCRT=V0
DALRULE_DYNAMICMODESUPPORT=V1
DALRULE_GetLCDFakeEDID=V1
DALRULE_GetTVFakeEDID=V1
DALRULE_NOFORCEBOOT=V1
DALRULE_POWERPLAYDISREGARDDISPLAY=V1
DALRULE_RESTRICTDISPLAYSBASEDONPANELRES=V0
GCORULE_FlickerWA=V1
GCORULE_LCDValidatePixelClkOnly=V1
GXOM5XDisableLaneSwitch=V1
R6LCD_RETURNALLBIOSMODES=V1
TVEnableOverscan=V1
UvdEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-791E-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7941-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-796E-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9610-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9611-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9614-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7124-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7105-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-710f-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-712e-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-712f-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-710e-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7125-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7104-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-940b-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-940a-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-940f-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9447-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7152-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7172-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7173-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-7153-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-71d2-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-71f2-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-71fa-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-71da-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-728c-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-72ac-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-95cc-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-958d-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-958c-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9511-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-949c-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-949f-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-949e-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9444-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9446-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9456-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-71bb-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-719b-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-95cd-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-95ce-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-95cf-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-3151-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9452-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/2ID-1002-9519-0/DDX]
MultiviewEnabled=V1
MultiviewHeterogeneous=V1
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/DDX]
OGLFMTA2R10G10B10Enable=V0
EnableRandR12=SFALSE
MultiviewXineramaNo3D=V1
Capabilities=S0x00000800
EnableMonitor=Scrt1,lvds,tv,tmds1,crt2,tmds2,cv,tmds2i
DesktopSetup=Svertical
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/DDX/RECENTMODE/SCREEN00]
Width=V1920
Height=V1080
Refresh=V60
[AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/BUSID-1:5:0-0/MCIL]
DAL_ACEspectReady=V0
DALLastSelected=V3
DALLastConnected=V3
DALLastTypes=V129
DALObjectData0=R0100000001000000000000000100000001000000000000000100000001000000​00000000010000000100000000000000010000000200000000000000010000000200000000000000​03000000020000000100000003000000020000000100000001000000010000000000000001000000​01000000000000000100000001000000000000000000000000000000000000000100000002000000​00000000000000000000000000000000010000000200000000000000020000000000000001000000​
DALSelectObjectData0=R0100000001000000000000000100000001000000000000000100000001​00000000000000010000000100000000000000010000000200000000000000010000000200000000​00000003000000020000000100000003000000020000000100000001000000010000000000000001​00000001000000000000000100000001000000000000000000000000000000000000000100000002​00000000000000000000000000000000000000010000000200000000000000020000000000000001​000000
DALCurrentObjectData=R010000000200000000000000020000000000000001000000
DALR6 CRT_MaxModeInfo=R0000000040060000B0040000000000003C000000
DALR6 DFPI 2_MaxModeInfo=R0000000080070000B0040000000000003C000000
DAL_CRTColorTemperatureSourceAC3A0000=R0200000064190000
DAL_DFP2ColorTemperatureSource6D1E75CF=R0000000064190000


the following ismy xorg.conf


# xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# Note that some configuration settings that could be done previously
# in this file, now are automatically configured by the server and settings
# here are ignored.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
# sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "aticonfig Layout"
Screen 0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option "DPMS" "true"
Option "VideoOverlay" "on"
Option "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver "fglrx"
Option "Capabilities" "0x00000800"
Option "EnableMonitor" "crt1,lvds,tv,tmds1,crt2,tmds2,cv,tmds2i"
Option "DesktopSetup" "vertical"
BusID "PCI:1:5:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
Device "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection


Hope this helps
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,316
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #26
kowalski Wrote:Andrewishy: Strange. It works for me. Perhaps we should compare our configuration files and check your Xorg logs?
2ALL: When you're modifying Xorg.conf, don't forget to check out /etc/ati/amdpcsdb file.
Settings specified in that file take precedence over Xorg.conf ones. Seems that nobody here knows about it.

Thanks for this info. =)
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?p=2...post240473

Got huge problems to get a screen when I finaly find a solution for my underscan...

/Söder
find quote
indy5 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
Ok, so explain this one to me. Just for the hell of it, I launched xbmc with "sudo xbmc" instead of "xbmc" and I now get full screen 720p without the garbage. I just rebuild the machine with Intrepid, using restricted drivers, no changes to xorg.conf or amdpcsdb.

This is also on a svn build 16104.
find quote
kowalski Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Russia
Post: #28
indy5:
"Just for the hell of it, I launched xbmc with "sudo xbmc" instead of "xbmc""
Perhaps by running XBMC as root you're skipping all the settings saved in your ordinary user's home folder (/home/(youruser)/.xbmc). Please report if you can achieve the same result by removing /home/(youruser)/.xbmc folder and running XMBC non-root (but don't forget to back it up; or better just rename it to any other name instead of removing). I'm @work now, so I can't test it by myself.

Andrewishy:
I'm using 32" 780p panel and 19" CRT monitor (my panel doesn't support non-HDMI resolutions over HDMI, so I have to use it to see the console; monitor will be removed in final configuration). But I've configured my Xorg.conf to switch monitor off during X session and to use HDMI as primary (and only) output:
Code:
Option "EnableMonitor" "nocrt1,tmds2i"
With DesktopSetup set to "vertical" it gives virtual resolution of 1280x1440 instead of 1280x720 on HDMI output (check Xorg logs) and removes fullscreen garbage (don't know why). I'll post my config files here when I get home.

2ALL: Be sure to exit Xorg before making any changes to /etc/ati/amdpcsdb, because fglrx overwrites this file when Xorg exits.
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,316
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #29
indy5 Wrote:Ok, so explain this one to me. Just for the hell of it, I launched xbmc with "sudo xbmc" instead of "xbmc" and I now get full screen 720p without the garbage. I just rebuild the machine with Intrepid, using restricted drivers, no changes to xorg.conf or amdpcsdb.

This is also on a svn build 16104.

Just tried this, and it was the same for me. Installed xbmc following this guide: http://www.xbmc.nu/index.php?option=com_...&Itemid=40

Code:
htpc@htpc-desktop:~$ xbmc
++ WARN: could not retrieve file info for `image.nrg': No such file or directory
++ WARN: can't open nrg image file image.nrg for reading
CRITSEC[0x8bc1e24]: Trying to enter destroyed section.
CRITSEC[0x8bc1e24]: Trying to leave destroyed section.
htpc@htpc-desktop:~$ sudo xbmc
[sudo] password for htpc:
Error org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.gnome.ScreenSaver was not provided by any .service files
++ WARN: could not retrieve file info for `image.nrg': No such file or directory
++ WARN: can't open nrg image file image.nrg for reading
CRITSEC[0x8bc1e24]: Trying to enter destroyed section.
CRITSEC[0x8bc1e24]: Trying to leave destroyed section.
Segmentation fault (core dumped)
htpc@htpc-desktop:~$

/Söder
find quote
soder Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,316
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #30
Quote:With DesktopSetup set to "vertical" it gives virtual resolution of 1280x1440 instead of 1280x720 on HDMI output (check Xorg logs) and removes fullscreen garbage (don't know why). I'll post my config files here when I get home.

But will not xbmc be runned in a NON 720p then? And then not correct ratio? And therefore unnecessary scales?

/Söder
find quote
Post Reply