[LINUX] HOW-TO configure Soundgraph iMON VFD/IR Receiver (used by many HTPC chassis)

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
dirtylion Offline
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
maybe someone who use xbmc live with antec case and rm200 remote can explain how he get lirc working pls...
find quote
NismoC32 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
dirtylion Wrote:i always get the msg
cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@lirc.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/lirc login
cvs [login aborted]: cannot get working directory: No such file or directory

someone can help me pls

Same problem here.
Using XBMC Live installed to HDD

UPDATE
Figured it out, you have to make sure you are in the home folder "/home/xbmc"
(This post was last modified: 2009-01-17 23:28 by NismoC32.)
find quote
mvdaat Offline
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
Today I bought a logitech harmony 895 and I'm very happy with it. but now comes the part to get xbmc working.
I'm using the Antec Micro Fusion 350 as enclosure with Soundgraph iMON IR/LCD.
Standard it comes with a tiny remote named veris rm100 (with the settings on the first page only back and enter are working)
So now I want my logitech to be configured as a MCE remote but i'm not exactly sure how to do this.

Anyone with a logitech remote managed to fix this?
find quote
NismoC32 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
dirtylion Wrote:maybe someone who use xbmc live with antec case and rm200 remote can explain how he get lirc working pls...

That would be sweet !

I have tried for two days now without any success.
So if anyone could help it would be much appreciated.

Thanks.
find quote
realn Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
Hello everybody,

I have an Antec Fusion Remote. Following this great tutorial, I got the remote working - well I got only to the point I could see some code by using the irw.
BUT - the LCD seems decided to not work. Or to be more precise lcdproc seems decided to not work. I manage to display the clock, to erase it and to completely turn off the LCD by using those perl commands. Apart from that, nothing works.
I tested lcdd&lcdproc in many ways - it seems that the communication between the client & the server is OK - I tested using the ncurses driver, I have the information passed to the server which afterwards passes it in the ncurses window. I cannot understand why it doesn't work using imon driver - it even tells me that it's using the /dev/lcd0 device for writing - nothing at all is displayed on the LCD.
Please help me, please, I am get dizzy.
Thanks a lot to everybody who might have a suggestion.
find quote
realn Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #36
I have messages through "dmesg" which show smth like this:
/var/lib/dkms/lirc/0.8.3~pre1/build/drivers/lirc_imon/lirc_imon.c: lcd_write: invalid payload size: 32 (expecting 8)

Please help, many thanks !
find quote
NismoC32 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
Hi realn.
I have to ask do you use XBMC Live, or did you install XBMC into a preinstalled Ubuntu ?
find quote
realn Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
Hi, thanks for the support. I have it on a preinstalled Ubuntu. Anyway, please help me if you have any suggestions. Thanks a lot !
find quote
wroopy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
philippeb06 Wrote:Hello and thank you for your great help!

However, I'd like to add some comments as you solution did not work "out of the box" for me.

I am using an Antec Fusion Remote Black with a RM200 VERIS remote and add some problems getting the two lircd working together.

I ran two irrecord, the first one on /dev/lirc0 putting configuration on /etc/lirc/remote1.conf about the pad and the numbers on remote and the second one on /dev/lirc1 putting configuration on /etc/lirc/remote2.conf about the other keys.

Code:
sudo irrecord /etc/lirc/remote1.conf -d /dev/lirc0 --disable-namespace
sudo irrecord /etc/lirc/remote2.conf -d /dev/lirc1 --disable-namespace

Once this done, I ran the following commands:

Code:
sudo /usr/local/sbin/lircd --driver=default --device=/dev/lirc0 --pidfile=/var/run/lirc0.pid  --listen=8765 /etc/lirc/remote1.conf
sudo /usr/local/sbin/lircd --driver=default --device=/dev/lirc1 --pidfile=/var/run/lirc1.pid --connect localhost:8765 --output=/dev/lircd /etc/lirc/remote2.conf

This is now working and the irw mixes the two parts of the remote.

Hope it will help

Philippe

philippe: Could you please provide the conf-files you've recorded with irrecord? I can record on /dev/lirc0 but on /dev/lirc1 is always busy (even though I thought that I've made sure no process is using it).

/Andreas
find quote
NismoC32 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
Everything goes fine until I run this in the howto:
Code:
sudo dpkg-reconfigure lirc-modules-source

Quote:bmc@htpc:~/lirc$ sudo dpkg-reconfigure lirc-modules-source
Removing all DKMS Modules
Done.
Adding Module to DKMS build system
Doing initial module build

Error! Build of lirc_imon.ko failed for: 2.6.24-23-generic (i686)
Consult the make.log in the build directory
/var/lib/dkms/lirc/0.8.3~pre1/build/ for more information.
Installing initial module

Error! Could not locate lirc_atiusb.ko for module lirc in the DKMS tree.
You must run a dkms build for kernel 2.6.24-23-generic (i686) first.
Done.
xbmc@htpc:~/lirc$

Can anyone shed some light on what's causing this.
find quote
todderod Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #41
I have got my "Antec Fusion Remote" case working atleast somewhat together with the RM200 remote that came with it (ubuntu 8.10 and cvs lirc as suggested here).

It seems to me that remote commands are recieved on /dev/lirc0 and the volume knob on the case is on /dev/lirc1, both of them are working at the same time when using irw, except for one detail: Only about half of the buttons on the remote seems to be working. All buttons that work begins with either 0x01 or 0x02, and those that do not work begin with 0x2 (These 0x2 buttons does not register at all in irw/mode2 --raw)

Anyone got any idea what could be causing this behaviour?

snippets from the remote conf:

Code:
begin remote

  name   rm200d1.conf
  bits                  64
  eps                   30
  aeps                 100

  one              0     0
  zero             0     0
  gap               139998
  ignore_mask 0x0000000000000301
  min_repeat             1
  toggle_bit             0

      begin codes
          KEY_EXIT                 0x2881d5b700000201 # AppExit FAILS
          KEY_POWER                0x289115b700000201 # Power FAILS
          MouseKeyboard            0x299115b700000201 # Mouse/Keyboard FAILS
          KEY_1                    0x0200001e00000201 # 1 WORKS
          KEY_2                    0x0200001f00000201 # 2 WORKS
          KEY_UP                   0x0100800000000201 # Pad Up WORKS
          KEY_DOWN                 0x01007f0000000201 # Pad Down WORKS
      end codes

end remote
find quote
Temar Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 8
Post: #42
NismoC32 Wrote:
Code:
sudo dpkg-reconfigure lirc-modules-source

Can anyone shed some light on what's causing this.

Quote:Error! Could not locate lirc_atiusb.ko for module lirc in the DKMS tree.
You must run a dkms build for kernel 2.6.24-23-generic (i686) first.
Done.

The lirc_atiusb module failed to build (probably because the old atiusb code is incompatible with the new lirc_dev code). I had the same problem and cleaned up all the devices I don't need.

I could send you my cleaned up code but I patched it for my 045e:0039 device. Which device do you have?
find quote
Temar Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 8
Post: #43
todderod Wrote:Anyone got any idea what could be causing this behaviour?

Something went wrong when recording your buttons. Your button codes look kind of strange. My lirc configs look like this:

lirc_imon.0.conf
Code:
begin remote

  name  IMON_RM200
  bits           32
  eps            30
  aeps          100

  one             0     0
  zero            0     0
  post_data_bits  32
  post_data      0x0
  gap          200000
  toggle_bit      0

      begin codes
          KNOB_LEFT                0x01000080
          KNOB_RIGHT               0x0100007F
          KNOB_UP                  0x01008000
          KNOB_DOWN                0x01007F00
          BACKSPACE                0x0200002A
          SELECT                   0x0200002C
          LMENU                    0x02800000
          RMENU                    0x02000065
          LMOUSE                   0x01010000
          RMOUSE                   0x01000000
          ESCAPE                   0x02000029
          ENTER                    0x02000028
          NUM_0                    0x02000027
          NUM_1                    0x0200001E
          NUM_2                    0x0200001F
          NUM_3                    0x02000020
          NUM_4                    0x02000021
          NUM_5                    0x02000022
          NUM_6                    0x02000023
          NUM_7                    0x02000024
          NUM_8                    0x02000025
          NUM_9                    0x02000026
          NUM_STAR                 0x02200025
          NUM_HASH                 0x02200020
      end codes

end remote

lirc_imon.1.conf
Code:
begin remote

  name  IMON_RM200
  bits           64
  eps            30
  aeps          100

  one             0     0
  zero            0     0
  gap          195989
  min_repeat      2
  toggle_bit      0

      begin codes
          APP_EXIT                 0x288195B700000201
          POWER                    0x289115B700000201
          RECORD                   0x298115B700000201
          PLAY                     0x2A8115B700000201
          EJECT                    0x29B195B700000201
          FAST_REW                 0x2A8195B700000201
          PAUSE                    0x2A9115B700000201
          FAST_FWD                 0x2B8115B700000201
          SKIP_PREV                0x2B9115B700000201
          STOP                     0x2B9715B700000201
          SKIP_NEXT                0x298195B700000201
          MOUSE_KEYB               0x299115B700000201
          APP_LAUNCH               0x29B715B700000201
          GO                       0x2AB195B700000201
          DISC                     0x299395B700000201
          TASKSW                   0x2A9395B700000201
          MUTE                     0x2B9595B700000201
          VOL_UP                   0x28A395B700000201
          VOL_DOWN                 0x28A595B700000201
          CHAN_UP                  0x289395B700000201
          CHAN_DOWN                0x288795B700000201
          TIMER                    0x2B8395B700000201
          VIDEOS                   0x2B8515B700000201
          MUSIC                    0x299195B700000201
          PICTURES                 0x2BA115B700000201
          TV                       0x28A515B700000201
          BOOKMARK                 0x288515B700000201
          THUMBNAIL                0x2AB715B700000201
          ZOOM                     0x29A595B700000201
          FULLSCREEN               0x2AA395B700000201
          DVD                      0x29A395B700000201
          MENU                     0x2BA395B700000201
          SUBTITLES                0x298595B700000201
          AUDIO                    0x2B8595B700000201
      end codes

end remote
find quote
NismoC32 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
Temar Wrote:The lirc_atiusb module failed to build (probably because the old atiusb code is incompatible with the new lirc_dev code). I had the same problem and cleaned up all the devices I don't need.

I could send you my cleaned up code but I patched it for my 045e:0039 device. Which device do you have?

Hey thanks for the reply, I have this device 15c2:0038. It came with my Silverstone CW02 case.

After starting from scratch again I managed to get the "irw" to detect all my buttuns except the knob button witch is only detected like this, no mater where on the knob i press:

0100800000000000 00 knop lircd0.conf
0100800000000000 01 knop lircd0.conf
0100800000000000 02 knop lircd0.conf
0100800000000000 03 knop lircd0.conf
0100800000000000 04 knop lircd0.conf

I have no idea why. UPDATE look at next post.



What did you do to assign the different config files to right device so it is there when you reboot?
Now I have enter this command everytime I reboot:
Quote:/usr/local/sbin/lircd --driver=default --device=/dev/lirc0 --pidfile=/var/run/lirc0.pid --listen=8765 /etc/lirc_imon.0.conf
/usr/local/sbin/lircd --driver=default --device=/dev/lirc1 --pidfile=/var/run/lirc1.pid --connect localhost:8765 --output=/dev/lircd /etc/lirc_imon.1.conf
The other problem is that XBMC doesn't pick up on any buttons. (Any chance you can post your Lircmap.xml file?)
And neater does the display, but using the pearl
Code:
perl -e 'print pack "H*", "80000000091e0088"' > /dev/lcd0
works fine

PS: Are you sure your device is 045e:0039 ? My search on this number it comes up as Microsoft Intellimouse
(This post was last modified: 2009-01-25 00:41 by NismoC32.)
find quote
NismoC32 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #45
Gues what Temar.

I copied your lirc_imon conf files and wouldn't you know the knob button works
Well it looks like the knob is a bit sensitive I can't get under four recording in a row by just touching it in irw
Is there a setting for fixing this ?

The only thing missing now is to get XBMC to bother with them.
Where does XBMC look for the Lircmap.xml file ?
I have it in /home/xbmc/.xbmc/userdata/
But doesn't work.
Have I forgot to install somthing, do you need the xbmc-event packages ?
I have only installed xbmc package
Quote:sudo apt-get install xbmc
(This post was last modified: 2009-01-25 00:45 by NismoC32.)
find quote
Post Reply